Posting your rating...
Gold of Mauritius Dark rum

Gold of Mauritius Dark

Mauritius | Dark

Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum is produced from molasses which is aged for 3 months in port wine barrels before being filtered, followed by another 8-12 months.

The Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum molasses is supplied by Grays Distillery, a wine, sprits and liqueur producer founded in 1935 in Mauritius that makes 6 million litres of alcohol each year.

7.0/10
133 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
1
4
3
7
20
42
34
16
3

Rate Gold of Mauritius Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

133 Gold of Mauritius Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert Macků from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Grounded dark rum with tones of wood, smoke and caramel. Comfortable aroma, but very sweet with smooth aftertaste. It suits me.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by woot from France with 1 rating

Give me a headhache, too alcohol taste very very bad choice. I will not drink another glass of this rum..

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Muy Rico from Germany with 4 ratings

This Rum is amazing, at first I hesitated a bit because of some weird reviews but my decision to finally buy it was perfect.

At first the design of the Bottle is unique and will stand out even compared to more expensive ones. Now to the nose when you smell it directly after you poured it in, you will get much alcohol but after you Waite like 5 mins it completely disappears and notes of toffee and vanilla appear.
The taste is quite similar to the nose but with more fruitiness and complexity to it.
I like to drink it with a cigar but sipping it pure is a lot of fun as well.
For the price of 35 € I can highly recommend trying it!

Small black

Posted 12 months ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Britská odpověď na francouzské Arcanum Extraroma. Buď na Mauritiu roste něco, co jinde ne, nebo nakupují přísady od stejné místní chemičky, ale každopádně určitou příbuznost unikátní chuti, kterou jsem v žádných jiných rumech necítil, v tom nacházím. Zbytek je ale podstatně nudnější než u Extraroma, byť také zcela originální. Mdlá, ale velmi příjemná (jen bohužel zcela monolitní) chuť, které tomu všemu dominuje, se nepodobá ničemu, co znám. Když jsem byl malý a četl jsem verneovky, tak jsem si tak nějak představoval chlebovník (který jsem ale dodnes nejedl, takže nevím). Relativně nejblíž k tomu možná maji Mochi plněné Taro pastou (takové žužlavé japonské cukroví). Jinak je to dost lihovité (jak vůně, tak chuť); zejména prvních pár panáků z čerstvě načaté láhve.
Prodává se v úplně stejném skle, jako Relicario, jen místo šroubovací dřevěné zátky má Gold of Mauritius dřevěné kolečko nalepené na plastový špunt.

Po dopití flašky jsem hodnocení ještě o bod zvýšil - prostě mi to fakt chutná. Po dopití další jsem ho zvedl na plný počet - má huba je z toho naprosto nadšená, tak k čertu s nějakými pokusy o objektivitu!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 330 ratings

Interesting rum. I'm not expected smoke here. I couldn't find any information, what barrels were used. The smoke could only come from a finish in Islay casks. I know some natural rums with this finish, but this solera rum was a new experience for me.

I tasted this one three times and I still don't like it. I can't enjoy the smoke with this strong sweetness. It tastes like you are eating a pineapple from an ashtray.
If you like it, go for it.

Smell (not intensive): first some solvent (disappers after 10min), pineapple, apple, citrus, some toffee, ash/smoke, wood, oatmeal cookies
Taste: Very intensive smoke (cigarette ash - you palet get used to it after some sips), sweetness, pineapple, apple and then some bitterness/wood.
Finish: Spicy and middlelong finish (warm burn), also sweet
Aftertaste: cigarette ash

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 2/5
Value (35€): 1.5/5

If you think this is a good rum, read some more reviews:
http://thefatrumpirate.com/gold-of-mauritius-dark-rum
"From what I gather the ageing process is around 12 to 15 months – so this is not a particularly long aged rum. Caramel colouring is added to give consistency to each batch and it is felt by Frederic that the rum gets 80% of its profile from the Port Cask ageing. "

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Oliver from Germany with 13 ratings

Quite dispappointing, I don't like it. It has an unpleasant, pugent smell (maybe that is what is called nutmeg by other reviewers) which is also present when drinking. You get much better rum for the price.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Finch from Germany with 16 ratings

Now this one got me. With the taste of roasted peanuts and some fruits this is special. Not quite what you expect but this is some extraordinary stuff for that young age and price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by b from Germany with 1 rating

this one evens the first steps into the georgeous world of rum.
almonds, cinemon and carribean dreams! affordable top shelf!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

A force de vouloir s'adapter au marché, on fini par vendre son âme...beaucoup de sucrosite, des arômes de caramel, banane trop mûre...forcément plaisant pour le plus grand nombre, mais d'autre produit dans cette gamme offre une autre palette aromatique plus agréable...

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 315 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Mauricius
Aroma: Hmmm...zvláštní vůně, částečně mi připomíná rumy od Arcane. Ale vyznění je tu víc čokoládovokaramelové (to je ta hutnější část vůně), ale je tu i míza a možná i Bari mandle, k tomu třtinová šťáva (tyhle tóny jsou tou svěžejší částí). (85 b)
Chuť: V chuti nasládlost, med, Bari mandle, čokoláda, hutná kakaovost, dokonce v dochuti trochu připálená, ale nic negativního, jen to má takový zajímavý šmrnc na konci. Líbí se mi že je hutný, olejnatý na jazyku. (87 b)
Body: 86
Shrnutí: Ochutnán ve slepém testu, dostal jsem vzorek od kamaráda. Myslel jsem si při ochutnávce, že je to "domácí blend" rumu Arcane s nějakým hutnějším čokoládovým rumem, nakonec se z toho ukázal Gold of Mauritius, což je rum stejné země původu, jako Arcane. Láhev by se mi líbila, zaujal.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by luciekal from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Sweet and delicious, great balance cost per value
Enjoyed with Adus and Kaja after lockdown :)