Posting your rating...
Gold of Mauritius Dark rum

Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum is produced from molasses which is aged for 3 months in port wine barrels before being filtered, followed by another 8-12 months.

The Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum molasses is supplied by Grays Distillery, a wine, sprits and liqueur producer founded in 1935 in Mauritius that makes 6 million litres of alcohol each year.

Rate Gold of Mauritius Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


116 Gold of Mauritius Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Quite sweet, but sort of agressive...Hard to describe...A bit of Alcool burn.
It has a very distinctive taste, sort of like the Don Papa but in it's own way. Not very much what most people are looking for when they buy Aged Rum...
Not my taste...

Posted about 2 years ago by Oliver from Germany with 11 ratings

Quite dispappointing, I don't like it. It has an unpleasant, pugent smell (maybe that is what is called nutmeg by other reviewers) which is also present when drinking. You get much better rum for the price.

Posted over 3 years ago by Finch from Germany with 16 ratings

Now this one got me. With the taste of roasted peanuts and some fruits this is special. Not quite what you expect but this is some extraordinary stuff for that young age and price.

Posted over 3 years ago by b from Germany with 1 rating

this one evens the first steps into the georgeous world of rum.
almonds, cinemon and carribean dreams! affordable top shelf!

Posted over 3 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

A force de vouloir s'adapter au marché, on fini par vendre son âme...beaucoup de sucrosite, des arômes de caramel, banane trop mûre...forcément plaisant pour le plus grand nombre, mais d'autre produit dans cette gamme offre une autre palette aromatique plus agréable...

Posted 11 days ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

I find this one quite similar to the 5-year old solera. Good stuff but it's brother wins the rating with a 0,5 points. This sticks at a 7

Posted 14 days ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Britská odpověď na francouzské Arcanum Extraroma. Buď na Mauritiu roste něco, co jinde ne, nebo nakupují přísady od stejné místní chemičky, ale každopádně určitá příbuznost unikátní chuti, kterou jsem v žádných jiných rumech necítil, v tom je. Zbytek je ale daleko nudnější než u Extraroma, byť také vcelku originální. Mdlá, leč příjemná (byť bohužel zcela monolitní) chuť, které tomu všemu dominuje, se nepodobá ničemu, co znám. Když jsem byl malý a četl jsem verneovky, tak jsem si tak nějak představoval chlebovník (který jsem ale dodnes nejedl, takže nevím). Relativně nejblíž k tomu možná maji Mochi plněné Taro pastou (takové žužlavé japonské cukroví). Jinak je to dost lihovité (jak vůně, tak chuť).
Hlavní problém goldu ovšem představuje geld. Sice jsem rád, že jsem to ochutnal, jelikož nic podobného jsem opravdu dosud nepil, ale podruhé za cenu kolem tisícovky už ani omylem! Narozdíl třeba od zhruba stejně drahého, skvělého Relicaria Superior, které se ostatně prodává v úplně stejném sklu, jen místo šroubovací dřevěné zátky má Gold of Mauritius dřevěné kolečko nalepené na plastový špunt.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Très bon rhum de dégustation à découvrir. Des saveurs que je n'ai pas goûter dans beaucoup de rhum.

Posted about 2 months ago by Belec from Belgium with 23 ratings

La couleur sombre de ce Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum dissimule de précieux arômes, qu’il ne tiendra qu’à vous de découvrir lors d’une dégustation.

Ainsi vous reconnaîtrez, au nez, des parfums de vanille Bourbon, de café et d’élégantes senteurs boisées. La bouche, quant à elle, est suave et offre des saveurs de noix grillées, et de charmantes notes florales et de fruits rouges. La finale, légère, est tout aussi convaincante.

Un rhum qui porte en lui toute la douceur de vivre de son île d’origine, et qui saura vous la communiquer en l’espace de quelques gorgées !

Posted 2 months ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

This bottle opens up with a very characteristic nose consisting of slightly earthy portwine, honney, almond splits, butter, vanilla pudding and refined sugar.
As the aroma indicates, the taste is also very, very sweet, firstly with notes reminding me of pineapple and red berries, then evolving into more earthy notes of burnt tobacco leaves (think ashtray) and perhaps a bit of wood.
The finish is somewhat buttery but dissapears very quickly. This feels like drinking a ton of additives.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Ok .

Posted 4 months ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Op zich oké, maar ben niet gecharmeerd van het rokerige smaak

Posted 4 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

I'm not sure but the smoke could come from a finish in Laphroaig casks. I tasted this one three times and I still don't like it.
It tastes like you are eating a pineapple from an ashtray. If you like it, go for it.

Smell (not intensive): first some solvent (disappers after 10min), pineapple, citrus, some toffee, some ash/smoke, some alcohol, oatmeal cookies
Taste: Very intensive smoke (cigarette ash - you palet get used to it after some sips), sweetness, pineapple and then some bitterness/wood.
Finish: Spicy and middle middlelong finish (warm burn)
Aftertaste: cigarette ash

Very interesting rum, exceptional. I don't like the smoke, but if you can enjoy it, it's good.

Sweetness: 3/5
Fruit: 1.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 2.5/5

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 220 ratings

Nasládlý ve vůni i v chutí, cítit je perníkové koření, kdo rád sladké, doporučuji

Posted 5 months ago by Soson75 from Slovakia with 5 ratings

Tasted it after a 7y Havana and surely there is a difference but still not the wow effect. Smokey cigars aroma, smooth taste, reminds me of a Scottish whiskey I drank some time ago. Sorry for my rookie review, this is what I think. Expected a bit more reading the ratings.

Posted 6 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

I found this rum to be solid but unspectacular. It doesn't taste bad or anything, it just doesn't have that much character. I find this one to taste a bit better on ice rather than neat. I have to say though, that the box and bottle for this are excellent!

Posted 6 months ago by Jijanek from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

If you happen to meet this rum, it’s no fast love but give it a time. Very unusual taste from the first sip but then grows in your mouth just like the milf you met on that very special evening and though very attractive, you weren’t sure if you should continue the kissing. But you should because if you don’t you will miss out. Great choice for passionate evenings with your or someone else’s woman ;-)

Posted 6 months ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

Got a sample of this when I drove down to Spain from Sweden and made a few stops during the drive to buy some rum.
The nose isn’t very pleasant. In mouth it’s first quite dry (maybe from the port barrels) and then very fruity. The afterburn is quite long and fruity.
As a summary not bad at all, but I think it’s not gonna find a way to my rum bar.
Picture: The sample at my balcony in Spain.

Posted 6 months ago by Luka from Croatia with 16 ratings

Smell is a little bit akward, candy like, oh but the taste is awsome.

First you feel almond, then caramel and at the end marzipan and it takes about 30 seconds for all the tastes to get through.

Very strong and long lasting body, I love it.

Posted 6 months ago by DejviSs from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Very nice rum, with dark color and chocolate tones in taste.In my opinion, at least.

Posted 6 months ago by DebiQue from Slovakia with 32 ratings

For me it is a good choice to try little different than my favourites. i purchased second bottle.

Posted 6 months ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Velmi chutny rum, chut ma po bananich a silne ovocnu. Velmi prijemne sa pije. Pre mna jeden z najlepsich rumov, co mi velmi chutia.

Posted 6 months ago by TY from Austria with 30 ratings

In der Nase sehr blumig, frisch. Im Geschmack etwas süßlich, eher schwer. Leichter sehr weicher Abgang.

Posted 6 months ago by rkralik89 from Austria with 21 ratings

Super im Geruch, süß und vollmundig. Spezieller Fruchtgeschmack. Smooth. Spitze!

Posted 7 months ago by Ruslan from Ukraine with 12 ratings

Приятный и сильный аромат. Вкус несколько уступает аромату, но все равно вкусненько)