Posting your rating...
Gold of Mauritius Dark rum

Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum is produced from molasses which is aged for 3 months in port wine barrels before being filtered, followed by another 8-12 months.

The Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum molasses is supplied by Grays Distillery, a wine, sprits and liqueur producer founded in 1935 in Mauritius that makes 6 million litres of alcohol each year.

Rate Gold of Mauritius Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


117 Gold of Mauritius Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Vkusná designová fľaša, niektoré drahšie rumy (napr. od Oliver&Oliver) nemajú takú peknú masívnu fľašu. Rum je tmavozlatý, po chvíli v pohári sa rozvinú viaceré vône. Prevažuje ťažšia zemitá aróma, koža, dym, korenie. Po takýchto vnemoch by som skôr čakal ťažší rum, niečo suchšie, opak je ale pravdou. Po prvom ochutnaní cítiť hrozienka, možno vanilku, chuť potom postupne prechádza do ťažšej - dym, koža, dubový sud. Podľa mňa priemerný rum vyššej strednej triedy. Ale určite nie zlý.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Martin K from Slovakia with 17 ratings

Erfüllt meine eher niedrigen Erwartungen. Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis stimmt überhaupt nicht.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

The color is very dark, which is troubling for a 1 year old rum.. but it spent 3 months in porto cask, so I didn't judge it there, I don't enough about aging in porto cask, maybe the coloring is much fasten then with bourbon for instance, so moving on.
Then the smell is something almost medicinal, with a first smell of sweets and then on the end on bananas.
At this point I was almost scared to taste it, but at the end, it was almost a relief, as the medicinal feels like is gone. Very smooth, almost heavy, definitively with added caramel/sugar, more like Ron.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Pleasant character, little bit of smoke, cinnamon and spices, not too sweet. Aftertaste is very smooth, harshness just enough.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jesper Hansen from Denmark with 62 ratings

Dufter dejligt, og smager af brændte nødder. Måtte sande det ikke var min smag, kunne næsten ikke drikke den.

Posted about 3 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

Wooden taste, dry. Definitely not going to buy another bottle.

Posted about 3 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

Den overrasker positivt. Drikkevenlig og lige til...

Posted about 3 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

plná vůně, takový dospělý rum, exotické vůně, skořice. Plní chutí a vůní

Posted about 3 years ago by Melda from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Velmi zajímavý rum. Hodně jsem se na tenhle rum těšil a musím říci ze mě nezklamal. Výrazná chuť kávy a kakaa.

Posted about 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Ein gut ausgewogener Rum mit einer wunderschönen kräftigen Mahagonifarbe,
sehr speziell für sein zartes Alter.
In der Nase sehr dezente Noten von Früchten, dunkler Schokolade, Nüssen ....
Im Gaumen kommen dann noch eine leichte Süsse, Vanille, Karamell und Gewürze dazu.
Danach ein harmonischer Abgang der nachklingt.
Ein etwas anderer Rum.

A well-balanced rum with a beautiful rich mahogany color,
very special for his young age.
Very subtle hints of fruit, dark chocolate, nuts in the nose.
In the palate, a light sweetness, vanilla, caramel and spices are added.
Then a harmonious finish.
A slightly different rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Michel from Belgium with 79 ratings

Un rhum vraiment très intéressant par rapport à ce que j'ai l'habitude de goûter! Assez doux! À essayer!

Posted over 3 years ago by Ced-le-pingouin from Belgium with 15 ratings

Au début, le nez me plaisait, très doux, avec des arômes de cacahuètes (?). Mais après l'avoir vraiment goûté, je pense qu'il est un peu artificiel, et sans doute trop sucré. Cela lui donne une certaine "lourdeur". Peut-être devrais-je l'utiliser plus dans des cocktails, que le boire seul.

Posted over 3 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Loved the taste of hazelnuts at rumfest last year but regretted it the next day when I opened it and the flavor seemed a bit off.

Fun to put in a warm drink.

Posted over 3 years ago by ChrisCalculus from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Nice rum, sweet and full of flavour. Beats the ron zacapa imho.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Too young for me, nice color, too sweet, good aftertaste but it's to flat.

Posted over 3 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Kaffee, Schokolade, etwas Banane, nicht zu süß. Langer Nachhall.

Posted over 3 years ago by Thomas Bucco from Switzerland with 8 ratings

Ein sehr guter ausgewogener Rum. In der Nase erinnert er extrem an getrocknete Bananen.
Interessant, kein süsser Mainstream.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Adam Bartos from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Color and aroma fake due to massive amout of caramel used. I doubt if this product if even from Mauritius. On bottles it says somethink about Spain. Solera 5 from them is total scam. No relevant info to be found and no answers ever from them.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tomas from Slovakia with 38 ratings

my friend brought bottle of this nice rum. it comes in nice bottle. at first sip I didn't liked it so much(it taste a bit heavy for me) but after I gave it second try it comes out as nice rum to sip

Posted almost 4 years ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 42 ratings

Very intresting taste. taste: wood, burn leather, chocolate. Litle bit heavy rum for me. This is not my taste...

Posted almost 4 years ago by IKEDA JUNICHI from Japan with 19 ratings

Nose: Brown sugar, banana
Taste: Sweet sugar, oak
Clear, banana, sugar, not cacao, coffee
Like Ron zacapa, but clear and banana taste

Posted almost 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Mauricius
Aroma: Hmmm...zvláštní vůně, částečně mi připomíná rumy od Arcane. Ale vyznění je tu víc čokoládovokaramelové (to je ta hutnější část vůně), ale je tu i míza a možná i Bari mandle, k tomu třtinová šťáva (tyhle tóny jsou tou svěžejší částí). (85 b)
Chuť: V chuti nasládlost, med, Bari mandle, čokoláda, hutná kakaovost, dokonce v dochuti trochu připálená, ale nic negativního, jen to má takový zajímavý šmrnc na konci. Líbí se mi že je hutný, olejnatý na jazyku. (87 b)
Body: 86
Shrnutí: Ochutnán ve slepém testu, dostal jsem vzorek od kamaráda. Myslel jsem si při ochutnávce, že je to "domácí blend" rumu Arcane s nějakým hutnějším čokoládovým rumem, nakonec se z toho ukázal Gold of Mauritius, což je rum stejné země původu, jako Arcane. Láhev by se mi líbila, zaujal.

Posted about 4 years ago by Felix from Austria with 13 ratings

This rum has a strong taste of peanut / walnut. I really like it on the rocks. Great flavour and leaves a nice aftertaste.

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Quite sweet, but sort of agressive...Hard to describe...A bit of Alcool burn.
It has a very distinctive taste, sort of like the Don Papa but in it's own way. Not very much what most people are looking for when they buy Aged Rum...
Not my taste...