Posting your rating...
Gold of Mauritius Dark rum

Gold of Mauritius Dark

Mauritius | Dark

Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum is produced from molasses which is aged for 3 months in port wine barrels before being filtered, followed by another 8-12 months.

The Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum molasses is supplied by Grays Distillery, a wine, sprits and liqueur producer founded in 1935 in Mauritius that makes 6 million litres of alcohol each year.

7.0/10(130 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
3
7
20
40
34
16
3

Rate Gold of Mauritius Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

130 Gold of Mauritius Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cyruz from Denmark with 21 ratings

not much to say about it

weird nose and weird taste

Small superstar

Posted 9 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 114 ratings

Nose: fruity, maybe banana, but rather shy and thin
Palate: nice, pretty soft, silky and slightly smoky. With hints of port wine. Untypical and rather sweet.
Sugar: 30 g/l
Mauritius offers also other interresting rums, even pretty nice agricoles (Chamarel for example)
7,8

Small 20191023 181007

Posted 10 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 78 ratings

I find this one quite similar to the 5-year old solera. Good stuff but it's brother wins the rating with a 0,5 points. This sticks at a 7

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 162 ratings

Très bon rhum de dégustation à découvrir. Des saveurs que je n'ai pas goûter dans beaucoup de rhum.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Belec from Belgium with 23 ratings

La couleur sombre de ce Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum dissimule de précieux arômes, qu’il ne tiendra qu’à vous de découvrir lors d’une dégustation.

Ainsi vous reconnaîtrez, au nez, des parfums de vanille Bourbon, de café et d’élégantes senteurs boisées. La bouche, quant à elle, est suave et offre des saveurs de noix grillées, et de charmantes notes florales et de fruits rouges. La finale, légère, est tout aussi convaincante.

Un rhum qui porte en lui toute la douceur de vivre de son île d’origine, et qui saura vous la communiquer en l’espace de quelques gorgées !

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

This bottle opens up with a very characteristic nose consisting of slightly earthy portwine, honney, almond splits, butter, vanilla pudding and refined sugar.
As the aroma indicates, the taste is also very, very sweet, firstly with notes reminding me of pineapple and red berries, then evolving into more earthy notes of burnt tobacco leaves (think ashtray) and perhaps a bit of wood.
The finish is somewhat buttery but dissapears very quickly. This feels like drinking a ton of additives.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Ok .

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mirjamvdbg from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Op zich oké, maar ben niet gecharmeerd van het rokerige smaak

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 336 ratings

Nasládlý ve vůni i v chutí, cítit je perníkové koření, kdo rád sladké, doporučuji

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Soson75 from Slovakia with 5 ratings

Tasted it after a 7y Havana and surely there is a difference but still not the wow effect. Smokey cigars aroma, smooth taste, reminds me of a Scottish whiskey I drank some time ago. Sorry for my rookie review, this is what I think. Expected a bit more reading the ratings.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

I found this rum to be solid but unspectacular. It doesn't taste bad or anything, it just doesn't have that much character. I find this one to taste a bit better on ice rather than neat although where this rum truly shines is with Ginger beer/ale! I have to say though, that the box and bottle for this are excellent!