Posting your rating...
Gold of Mauritius Dark rum

Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum is produced from molasses which is aged for 3 months in port wine barrels before being filtered, followed by another 8-12 months.

The Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum molasses is supplied by Grays Distillery, a wine, sprits and liqueur producer founded in 1935 in Mauritius that makes 6 million litres of alcohol each year.

Rate Gold of Mauritius Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


116 Gold of Mauritius Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Quite sweet, but sort of agressive...Hard to describe...A bit of Alcool burn.
It has a very distinctive taste, sort of like the Don Papa but in it's own way. Not very much what most people are looking for when they buy Aged Rum...
Not my taste...

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tibob from France with 25 ratings

Top, raffiné, bonne longueur sans amertume . Sucré, vanillé. Doux.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rei from Germany with 98 ratings

First smell was dominated by alcoholic notes that soon gave way to notes of caramel, peanut and some distant wood. These notes did also dominate the palate with some added (minor) spiciness. The medium size finish was quite sweet and – interestingly - did reveal some smoke at the end. Despite the flavour notes I experienced this rum as quite soft and not as a full bodied or very complex rum which translates into my rating. So if you are looking for something not too complex this might be interesting for you.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Mauritius, my favorite island for rums. You will never get burned when choosing rum from this island. GoM has very unique flavour. Dark rum, smooth, cherry on tongue, great smell, maybe little bit too sweat, almost like liquer.

Posted almost 2 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 172 ratings

Tuto láhev mám/měl jsem doma delší dobu s velkým očekáváním.
Ovocná a jemná vůně po cherry a citrusovém ovoci.
Ovocná chuť s mandlemi - velmi mi připomíná Blue Mauritius
Na konci lehké zahřátí
Skvélý rum

Posted about 2 years ago by Dominik Siderek from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Got this Great rum in "Bar ktery neexistuje" in Brno. I really liked its original smoked aftertaste.

Posted about 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

I was waiting for it almost a year. I want to drink it...but always i bought something else...and finally I've got it. Was worth to wait for it :) Sweet, but not to sweet, rich of taste, great colour and nice aroma.

Posted about 2 years ago by Michal from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Příjemná jemná chuť, hodně aromatický. Krásná tmavá barva. Hezky se pije.

Posted about 2 years ago by Duke1982 from Austria with 4 ratings

Very balanced mixture of Mauritius brands. Perfect colour

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Rhum aux arômes de vanille et érable, belle rondeur se développement au contact de l'air. À l'ouverture de la bouteille, le rhum manquait de délicatesse

Posted over 2 years ago by JoeVs from Portugal with 11 ratings

It’s well balanced, with some uncommon flavors but still interesting.
It starts like nutmeg or port wine, then smoked wood but it doesn’t finish as well. The after taste is to sweet.

Posted over 2 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

Nice choice but I like rather the version of Solera 5Y.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Gold of Mauritius Dark rum. Bottle looks nice, but nothing to write home about. Color is nice and deep, but very suspicious for a 1y old rum. Initial smell test is pure nutmeg, very interesting and unique for sure. The taste test reveals a nutmeg explosion in your mouth, very interesting indeed! Gold of Mauritius Dark and Blue Mauritius Gold most certainly are the exact same rums, just in a different bottle.

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert Macků from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Grounded dark rum with tones of wood, smoke and caramel. Comfortable aroma, but very sweet with smooth aftertaste. It suits me.

Posted over 2 years ago by Steen Færgemand from Denmark with 2 ratings

Sweet, dark powder sugar and dark syrup. Nectar , Honey and Alkohol in the end. Pleasent😊

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

This has quite some complexity and presents an unusual variety of layers. I tasted a lot of fruit in it - banana, orange, maybe mango. I don't know how they achieve that - it's quite mysterious, but who can resist a mystery? It sits nicely on the tongue and has a lovely aftertaste. It also has a bit bit of spice, chocolate, smoke and nuttyness too. It also has a boubon-like quality, but not as pleasantly as some rums (especially Mount Gay). In addition, it's a beautiful colour in a good looking bottle....may have to get a bottle in the future and get to know it better :) Then maybe I can begin to answer the question "what's going on here, what is the secret of Mauritian Gold?"

Posted over 2 years ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 75 ratings

meget uraffineret rom. Jeg syntes ikke den er pengene vær

Posted over 2 years ago by Mr.Cow from Czech Republic with 27 ratings

Moc dobrý africký rum. Příjemně ostrý s krásnou barvou i vůní. Mezi tmavými rumy je v horních patrech mého žebříčku. Krásná láhev je předurčena k vánočním i narozeninovým dárkům. Za mě super.

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

toto verim ze mnohym chuti ale mne moc nie. velmi sladke, taky tupy rum z ktoreho citite iba sladkost ktora vsetko zastrie a uz nic viac. urcite mu dam este v buducnosti sancu ale nateraz mi fakt stacilo. mam rad aj sladke rumy ale toto je moc aj na mna a to vypijem aj don papa 6,3/10

Posted over 2 years ago by drobz from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Asi momentálně můj nejoblíbenější rum.
Sladký, ovocný s kouřovými tóny.

Posted over 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 96 ratings

Spicy aroma, touch of smoke, balance between harshness and sweetness.

Posted over 2 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

Another bottle Rum from Mauritius. And a good one.
In the nose caramel, wood, nuts. In the mouth little pepper, nuts, toffee.
And long lasting. A nice one for a good price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Maybe a little too sweet but a fairly complex sweetness that gives dark fruity flavours. Not as smooth as most rums I'd rate an 8/10 but a very enjoyable rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Il est vraiment particulier, un goût prononcé de fumé. Je n ai jamais bu un rhume qui si rapproche. Je l aime beaucoup.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Vkusná designová fľaša, niektoré drahšie rumy (napr. od Oliver&Oliver) nemajú takú peknú masívnu fľašu. Rum je tmavozlatý, po chvíli v pohári sa rozvinú viaceré vône. Prevažuje ťažšia zemitá aróma, koža, dym, korenie. Po takýchto vnemoch by som skôr čakal ťažší rum, niečo suchšie, opak je ale pravdou. Po prvom ochutnaní cítiť hrozienka, možno vanilku, chuť potom postupne prechádza do ťažšej - dym, koža, dubový sud. Podľa mňa priemerný rum vyššej strednej triedy. Ale určite nie zlý.