Posting your rating...
Gold of Mauritius Dark rum

Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum is produced from molasses which is aged for 3 months in port wine barrels before being filtered, followed by another 8-12 months.

The Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum molasses is supplied by Grays Distillery, a wine, sprits and liqueur producer founded in 1935 in Mauritius that makes 6 million litres of alcohol each year.

Rate Gold of Mauritius Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


117 Gold of Mauritius Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

Quite sweet, but sort of agressive...Hard to describe...A bit of Alcool burn.
It has a very distinctive taste, sort of like the Don Papa but in it's own way. Not very much what most people are looking for when they buy Aged Rum...
Not my taste...

Posted 7 months ago by Ruslan from Ukraine with 12 ratings

Приятный и сильный аромат. Вкус несколько уступает аромату, но все равно вкусненько)

Posted 7 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Duft af bær og nødder. Lidt banan når den har siddet i glasset. Tænker meget på Hubba Bubba. Meget smag af træ og lidt brændte popcorn. Som at tage en skefuld træflisen. Lidt sødme til sidst. Ligner ikke så mange andre rom, men træsmagen betyder, det ikke er en toprom. (5. December 2018 i MacY)

Posted 9 months ago by Janne68 from Sweden with 13 ratings

av denna rom, räknade med varma mjuka toner i både doft och smak, blev en liten surprise. Till en början ganska pikant stark doft som efter hand rundandes av till en mer mild sötare doft.
Smaken var till en början eldig, men även där efterhand blev rundare och mer söt men inte för mycket. Nästan lite portvinskänsla, denna passar nog också bra i nån drink. Spännande rom som jag tror växer till sig när man väl avsmakat den lite till. Men just nu 7 i betyg, säker på att den kommer klättra lite till.

Posted 10 months ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Můj druhý rum z Maritiu (první byl Canaoak). Opět palec výrazně nahoru. Příjemná vůně,vyvážená chuť. Působí na mě jako mix anglické a francouzské rumové školy.

Posted 10 months ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 36 ratings

Det här är en väldigt intressant rom som jag skulle vilja ge 7,5 i betyg. Den är lite nötig i smaken och så dyker det upp banan, choklad och fudge. Roligt med en rom som bryter mönstret lite för hur en rom 'ska' smaka.

Posted 12 months ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...für den Preis. Grundsätzlich weiss man aber leider nicht wirklich wie alt der Inhalt ist, wie dieser hergestellt wurde etc. Auf Mauritius ist der Rum zumindest unbekannt und gemäss Aufdruck auf der Flasche wird er in Grossbritannien abgefüllt. Der Tropfen an sich ist jedoch sehr lecker und hat noch eine ganz kleine Rauchnote mit drin was mir persönlich sehr gut gefällt.

Posted 12 months ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

Solid rum for its age. Lots of different flavours and nice taste.

Posted 12 months ago by Nielf from Denmark with 119 ratings

Smagt til romhattens romfestival 2019. Den får en 2'er. Fy for satan.

Posted about 1 year ago by aTroublemaker064 from Canada with 3 ratings

Classic color of dark rum, Cute domination of freshly cut burned oak on smell and on taste, Typical male rum, because when you taste it you want to grow up long lumber jack barb, then to cut some trees in ta coast and build your own boat to explore the ocean... I would like to give 7.5 or even 7.9, but not 8

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

Sweet and dark. And also there is some strong wood, harb or spice flavor.
It is difficult to drink a glass of this in a amall cognac glass.

Posted about 1 year ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Kdyby se z tohodle rumu vynechala sladka dochut, tak bych si mozna tipnul, ze piju whisky.
Kuze, dubovy sud. Pro me celkove prijemne piti.

Posted about 1 year ago by Cyruz from Denmark with 21 ratings

not much to say about it

weird nose and weird taste

Posted over 1 year ago by Wittehengel from Netherlands with 6 ratings

Very smooth and sweet and easy to drink over ice. Totally recommend it

Posted over 1 year ago by Ondřej Výška from Czech Republic with 39 ratings

I když nese název Dark, tak barva není úplně dark jako třeba Zacapa, spíše medově zlatá. Voní asi jako vlašské ořechy a med. K dýmce bude určitě výbornej

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

Sweet tones, fruits, unique flavor, didn't get used to it yet

Posted over 1 year ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Tesil jsem se, ale asi az moc.
Za me nevyvazene. Orechy. Cokolada. Kuze.
Uz bych ho nekoupil.

Posted over 1 year ago by 8E7 from Belgium with 13 ratings

I received this rum as a gift and I did not know of it prior. So I guess it's safe to say I had no real expectations. I must say it did not disappoint. I like the fruity smell and the taste of the wooden barrels. 7/10

Posted over 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Vona za vanilkou, opalenym sudom, melasou velmi podobna s Blue Mauritius Gold. Rum je sladky a jemny, oproti mojmu oblubenemu "modremu kolegovi" z Mauricia je ale v chuti u tohto Gold rumu nieco co mi vadi.

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 256 ratings

Nice aroma with caramel, spice and vanila tones.
Warm and smooth taste, sweet but not too much. Average aftertaste with wooden tones.

Posted over 1 year ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Darker colour, smell with baked nuts, oak wood, chocolate. Taste fine, smooth, wit tropical fruits touch, chocolate, cinnamon, special one an nice. Like it.

Posted over 1 year ago by Sebikus from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Dobrý, těžký rum, s dřevěným koncem. Není tak moc sladký. Musí se mu dojí na chuť. Pro mě vhodný k večernímu popíjení.

Posted over 1 year ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Gold of Mauritius dark je veľmi zaujímavý počin, ktorý zaujme chuťou a luxusným vzhľadom.

Fľaša: hranatý dizajn evokujúci luxusné pitie a produkt. Dizajnu nie je čo vytknúť. v jednosuchosti je krása. Po dizajnovej stránke max. spokojnosť.

Vôňa: príjemná vôña vanilky, klinčekov a hlavne sviežosti po citrusových plodoch. Taktiež je cítiť trocha kože a hrozienok.

Chuť: na začiatku je cítiť miernu ostrsoť, ktorú hneď prebíja svieža chuť citrusov, trocha mango, pomaranč možno limetka. chuť primerané sladka, trocha suchšia. zaujímavé. Záver je primerané dlhý, nevtieravý.

Farba: hnedá, mierne zlatistá

Záver: určite odporúčam pre ľudí, ktprým prekážaujú sladké rumy....musím povedať, že som týmto rumom prekvapený, určite odporúčam.

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Actually, this stuff is suprisingly drinkable, it has a bit of pungent smell, but nowhere near the Dzama, a bit of sedimentation too, otherwise I tasted "chocolate" which is my thing.

Posted almost 2 years ago by christoph kalb from Austria with 6 ratings

ungwöhnlich gute Konzentration von Süsse und Frucht.