Posting your rating...
Old J Spiced rum

Old J Spiced

United Kingdom | Spiced

Old J Spiced rum is made from British Virgin Islands pot stilled rum that is blended with spices, vanilla and lime. The Old J rum company was founded in honor of Admiral Edward Vernon, who in 1740 enforced a reduction in the strength of the British Navy’s rum ration and suggested using limes and sugar to make the drink more enjoyable.

6.5/10 (42 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
3
9
5
9
7
3

Rate Old J Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 Old J Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Great taste for a spiced rum. Prefer this to a captain Morgan's spiced for cocktails. Enjoyed at rum fest

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Daniel Woods from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Easily one of my favourite rums! Smooth & strong vanilla cut through with an undertone of lime! Easy drinking over ice of with cola!

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

I absolutely love this. For me it’s Utopia in a bottle, because it’s so deliciously sweet. Some may argue too sweet, but not for me. I say the sweeter the better! Because of the vanilla, the smell of this rum alone is worth the £18 that I paid for it. And at only 35% VOL, neat with ice, this rum glides down the throat with silky smoothness and more importantly, without the burning sensation that sometimes follows with other rums. For me however, I love this rum even more with Coca-Cola as a mixer, because then the vanilla flavouring, intensifies, making this rum even more of a sugary delight.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Tried neat at rum festival, vanilla tasting, prob mix with coke the next time.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Stuart Sadler from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Very strong Vanilla Smell and Taste. I love Vanilla so all good with me

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Pyeman from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Superb, beautiful vanilla and lime notes, only problem, it’s too easy to drink

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

I enjoyed, even though it is not your regular rum taste. Very sweet and with some lime tones. It is also quite light so could be more pleasant for some who need an entry level drink.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Okay, reading all the hype about the ol' Sailor Jerry, the saint patron of spiced rums, I finally wanted to taste what the hype's all about, so I picked up a bottle to round up the sum while buying a larger batch of real alcohol.

Instantly, I am hit with a full dose of buyer's regret. The bottle and the liquid inside looks inoffensive enough, a shade of orange and a nice etiquette (different than on the picture here, though, similar to the ones on gold and silver).

However here the good things end. The smell of some distant vanilla, with something citrusy, weak and unconvincing. The taste - oh my, the taste is like a liquid candy, vanilla and citrus, and something I can't put a finger on, with a slight hint of alcohol, but it's so thin and weak and watery, and... in a hurry to go. No finish to speak of, no real spices (compared to Four Square Spiced rum, this is just so much worse).

Hello, where is the rum? Why is my rum gone? It's certainly not in the bottle, how does it even qualify - oh it doesn't, it's only 35% ABV! Well, blimey, I did not know the old man Vernon, but I bet my tricorne against two ounces of gunpowder that this hooch would get you keelhauled, if you served it to the crew.

Sigh, yeah, cocktails, but now when the virus hit, who am I gonna serve them to? Threw it into a glass of coke, the result was a ruined glass of coke. Some bloke recommended tonic, so maybe... Not expecting much, though.

Stay away, buy real rums, like Appleton 12 for only slightly more than this liquid disaster!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Dj Gee Funk from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

This rum is another smoothie! With coke, neat, or can of ting! In my top 10 rums.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by FellOnBlkDays from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

An absolutely perfect replacement if you were a fan of the pre-2009 Sailor Jerry. Huge hit of vanilla and as such really sweet so best with a cola tonic instead of the off the shelf full sugar stuff.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by J12kef from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Vanilla perfection! If you like a sweet, vanilla drink then this is the perfect drink for you, very smooth and goes especially well with coke. Not so good with ginger ale.
I will always have a bottle of this on my shelf!