Posting your rating...
Old J Spiced rum

Old J Spiced

United Kingdom | Spiced

Old J Spiced rum is made from British Virgin Islands pot stilled rum that is blended with spices, vanilla and lime. The Old J rum company was founded in honor of Admiral Edward Vernon, who in 1740 enforced a reduction in the strength of the British Navy’s rum ration and suggested using limes and sugar to make the drink more enjoyable.

6.5/10
44 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
3
10
5
10
6
4

Rate Old J Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

44 Old J Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

Mainly vanilla and some spices (which I can't really distinguish). Overall target market is the Rum is Fun which they are doing very well in.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Daniel Woods from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Easily one of my favourite rums! Smooth & strong vanilla cut through with an undertone of lime! Easy drinking over ice of with cola!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 28 ratings

I absolutely love this. For me it’s Utopia in a bottle, because it’s so deliciously sweet. Some may argue too sweet, but not for me. I say the sweeter the better! Because of the vanilla, the smell of this rum alone is worth the £18 that I paid for it. And at only 35% VOL, neat with ice, this rum glides down the throat with silky smoothness and more importantly, without the burning sensation that sometimes follows with other rums. For me however, I love this rum even more with Coca-Cola as a mixer, because then the vanilla flavouring, intensifies, making this rum even more of a sugary delight.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Dedspurs from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Tried neat at rum festival, vanilla tasting, prob mix with coke the next time.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Stuart Sadler from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Very strong Vanilla Smell and Taste. I love Vanilla so all good with me

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Pyeman from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Superb, beautiful vanilla and lime notes, only problem, it’s too easy to drink

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by JenSpreadsheet from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

Still very fond of this - good mixing rum when you don’t want to drink the expensive stuff

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Masquette from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Delicious over ice, on its own or with a cola mixer

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by John Herring from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

Had it neat, nice smooth drink. Also good with ginger beer.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

I enjoyed, even though it is not your regular rum taste. Very sweet and with some lime tones. It is also quite light so could be more pleasant for some who need an entry level drink.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Okay, reading all the hype about the ol' Sailor Jerry, the saint patron of spiced rums, I finally wanted to taste what the hype's all about, so I picked up a bottle to round up the sum while buying a larger batch of real alcohol.

Instantly, I am hit with a full dose of buyer's regret. The bottle and the liquid inside looks inoffensive enough, a shade of orange and a nice etiquette (different than on the picture here, though, similar to the ones on gold and silver).

However here the good things end. The smell of some distant vanilla, with something citrusy, weak and unconvincing. The taste - oh my, the taste is like a liquid candy, vanilla and citrus, and something I can't put a finger on, with a slight hint of alcohol, but it's so thin and weak and watery, and... in a hurry to go. No finish to speak of, no real spices (compared to Four Square Spiced rum, this is just so much worse).

Hello, where is the rum? Why is my rum gone? It's certainly not in the bottle, how does it even qualify - oh it doesn't, it's only 35% ABV! Well, blimey, I did not know the old man Vernon, but I bet my tricorne against two ounces of gunpowder that this hooch would get you keelhauled, if you served it to the crew.

Sigh, yeah, cocktails, but now when the virus hit, who am I gonna serve them to? Threw it into a glass of coke, the result was a ruined glass of coke. Some bloke recommended tonic, so maybe... Not expecting much, though.

Stay away, buy real rums, like Appleton 12 for only slightly more than this liquid disaster!