Posting your rating...
Old J Spiced rum

Old J Spiced

United Kingdom | Spiced

6.9/10 (41 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
3
9
5
9
6
3

Rate Old J Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


41 Old J Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

6353cdbc9da02f382a546bd60744e517.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Plusy jsou rozuhodně tyto:
- Jemná citrusová chuť
- Vůně po vanilce

Minus:
Cena
Klasický šroubovací uzávěr bez korku - zasloužil by si lepší láhev i uzávěr.
Po přečtení recenzí se mi nechtělo věřit, že je opravdu jako starý Sailor, ale po čase mi to nedalo a rum jsem koupil. Nepoznám v chuti rozdíl, i když to bylo už před 7-mi lety, co jsem ho pil naposledy. Přítelkyně je z něho nadšená, takže mohu pouze doporučit.

921a9a07888569d28165c5f1b2067476.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Tab44 from Australia with 19 ratings

Great mixing rum not that great straight up.
Nice in a dark and stormy

Dab2524f655035ffbf3fd221ede3076b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by ConRumTaster from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Strong, smooth and sweet. Almost perfect rum. Very comparable to Bumbu, has a slight stronger taste but that comes with a bigger punch.

546d00f6d0f72886a77987090c1d8801.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by mitch26491 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Tastes like Christmas in a bottle, wonderful when mixed. But you can't have too much before it gets sickly

F7fefae1b2c2661343b49d72e95dc5ef.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jeff from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Lovely vanilla and lime aftertaste with added spice
Perfect with ginger beer or Coke

2c103e821d2f3d1f8f8d20bcd1cb0e4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Cardiff Rum Festival spicy ginger finished golden spiced rum. Decent

A1fe2aa8ab593703e4f33edb37c79fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Fat melted vanilla ice cream with a layer of thick bols cacao brown and baileys. Whiff of raisin with loads of brown sugar and peppery raw spirits. (16/25)

P- Lime peel, cola candy, creamy, sweet with the head-hammering grumpy vanilla all the way. (15/25)

F- Short-medium, coat of spirit, vanilla, chocolate milk, and caramel. Reminded me the discontinued Vanilla Coke on early of this century. (14/25)

Balance- Simple and straight forward, vanilla, chocolate and lime, off notes of acetone, raw, destined for the mixing. (15/25)

Weighted Rate:- 60pt

— at The Rum Bar KL.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Bit like lambs spiced and red leg. Not for me, not great even with coke.

80a692b9a9a8f62c2e3aff6ade5311cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by John from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Heavily marketed as am original sailer jerry recipie but way too cloying and overdone on the vanilla not for me.

033bcee20b6b058cb5be71854cf6e100.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

This is drinkable but a little lacking compared to some.

Obviously there are those here who don't like spiced rum. Let's take them out of the equation because they're not going to give much, if anything, a mark greater than 5.

As spiced rums go, this is ok, as vanilla-spiced rums go it's good. I'd say it was less spicey than Sailor Jerry, but much heavier on the vanilla. It's also sweeter and slightly more watery than SJ. I'd put them about on a par. If you really like vanilla rum, then there's two that are much better - St Aubin's vanilla rum is basically a good rum with a rum taste with the addition of a decent hit of vanilla (but it's much pricier) . It's lovely - maybe a bit like Plantation Pineapple is to rum with pineapple, but St A's is smoother and with less kick. Rolling Calf takes what Old J does and ups it - smoother, more kick, about the same vanilla but a bit more lime and spice.

If you like this, I think it's very unlikely that you would not like those two as well. If you hate this, you won't like Rolling Calf, but you still may well like St Aubin Rhum Agricole Vanilla.

Aaac32394d53d7786f86f99e582c63b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Great taste for a spiced rum. Prefer this to a captain Morgan's spiced for cocktails. Enjoyed at rum fest