Posting your rating...
Juan Santos 9-Year rum

Juan Santos 9-Year

Colombia | Aged

6.3/10
16 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
5
2

Rate Juan Santos 9-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

16 Juan Santos 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 499db3ee 69bc 4781 b78a 99298352733a

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jagsroy from Canada with 184 ratings

In spite of the so-so reviews on "Rumratings", I thought I would give Juan Santos 9 yr Reserva Especial Rum a try and I was pleasantly surprised with this Columbian rum simply because I prefer dry rums with no or a minimal amount of added sugar.

My first observation was the darker almost reddish colour of this rum which I find appealing. On the nose I detected very little aroma other than a faint smell of caramel. In the mouth this rum felt crisp and seemed to come alive with hints of spices and caramel. Those who enjoy whiskey or dry rums are more apt to enjoy this rum, if you prefer sweet rums, this rum is not for you.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 50 ratings

Nice rum that goes well with your favorite mix. Reminds more of a whiskey than rum but still smooth and enjoyable.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 66 ratings

Sec, mais doux, avec une longue finale. Épices et relent de tabac. Différent d'autres colombiens, qui sont parfois plus sucrés (par. ex. le Dictador 10 ans, dans un autre style).

Dry, but sweet, with a long finish. Spices and tobacco relish. Different from other Colombians, who are sometimes sweeter (for example the 10 year Dictador, in another style).

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Regan from Canada with 75 ratings

It’s a good mixing rum but for the price i would steer rum drinkers to an different bottle , oaky, boozey bite
Good enough for mixing

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Philip from Canada with 23 ratings

A someone smoke, leathery, dry rum. At the nose, a hint of coconut and banana. Not impressive for my taste. Lacks the sweetness of rum. More like a bourbon.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2741 ratings

Juan Santos 9 year old is aged in Kentucky Bourbon barrels and the Bourbon flavors have overtaken the delicate rum flavors a long time ago. If you like dry rums or Kentucky Bourbons, then you will really like this, but don't assume to get an amazing aged rum with this bottle. The most surprising fact is that the 9 year old Juan Santos doesn't have any burn at all, so it's very smooth, but clearly leans much more towards Bourbon than aged rum category.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by John Smith from Canada with 38 ratings

Easy Rum. Not strong at all. Sweet and good taste.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

Dejlig rom - og meget sødligt når det tages i betragtning at der ikke er tilsat sukker

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

I wouldn't drink this neat. And it does not have enough distinction, that I would buy it to be used in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

puedes acompañar de cola y hielo para apasiguar el fuerte alcohol