Posting your rating...
Juan Santos 9-Year rum

Rate Juan Santos 9-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


15 Juan Santos 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

In spite of the so-so reviews on "Rumratings", I thought I would give Juan Santos 9 yr Reserva Especial Rum a try and I was pleasantly surprised with this Columbian rum simply because I prefer dry rums with no or a minimal amount of added sugar.

My first observation was the darker almost reddish colour of this rum which I find appealing. On the nose I detected very little aroma other than a faint smell of caramel. In the mouth this rum felt crisp and seemed to come alive with hints of spices and caramel. Those who enjoy whiskey or dry rums are more apt to enjoy this rum, if you prefer sweet rums, this rum is not for you.

Posted over 2 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

Sec, mais doux, avec une longue finale. Épices et relent de tabac. Différent d'autres colombiens, qui sont parfois plus sucrés (par. ex. le Dictador 10 ans, dans un autre style).

Dry, but sweet, with a long finish. Spices and tobacco relish. Different from other Colombians, who are sometimes sweeter (for example the 10 year Dictador, in another style).

Posted over 2 years ago by Regan from Canada with 69 ratings

It’s a good mixing rum but for the price i would steer rum drinkers to an different bottle , oaky, boozey bite
Good enough for mixing

Posted over 2 years ago by Philip from Canada with 22 ratings

A someone smoke, leathery, dry rum. At the nose, a hint of coconut and banana. Not impressive for my taste. Lacks the sweetness of rum. More like a bourbon.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Juan Santos 9 year old is aged in Kentucky Bourbon barrels and the Bourbon flavors have overtaken the delicate rum flavors a long time ago. If you like dry rums or Kentucky Bourbons, then you will really like this, but don't assume to get an amazing aged rum with this bottle. The most surprising fact is that the 9 year old Juan Santos doesn't have any burn at all, so it's very smooth, but clearly leans much more towards Bourbon than aged rum category.

Posted almost 3 years ago by John Smith from Canada with 37 ratings

Easy Rum. Not strong at all. Sweet and good taste.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

Dejlig rom - og meget sødligt når det tages i betragtning at der ikke er tilsat sukker

Posted about 3 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

I wouldn't drink this neat. And it does not have enough distinction, that I would buy it to be used in cocktails.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 133 ratings

puedes acompañar de cola y hielo para apasiguar el fuerte alcohol

Posted over 3 years ago by JU04 from France with 45 ratings

Rien d'exceptionnel.
Légères saveurs de chêne mais le goût d'alcool l'emporte sur tout le reste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

Smooth starter with a sting at the finish. A bit of caramel. Not a sipper but very good with Sprite.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Un rhum colombian qui goûte le caramel, bourbon et le chêne et ressemble a ceux jamaicain. Je ne suis pas décu.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Juan Santos 9-Year er bare ikke mig smager mest af sprit.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

En udemærket rom. Den bliver dog ikke en af gengangerne i min romsamling. God lang eftersmag

Posted over 4 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

This has some potential, but the balance is a bit off for it to really be anything.
Its too sharp on the edges.
Notes of vanilla, caramel, nuts, and some malt-ish aftertaste?




#