Posting your rating...
Bundaberg Original UP rum

Bundaberg Original UP

Australia | Gold

Bundaberg Original UP Rum is the flagship product of the Bundaberg Distilling company of Australia, which first crafted their original rum in 1888. This rum is double-distilled and aged for two years.

The Original UP Bundaberg rum brand is still sold in its traditional “Brick” bottle that goes by a variety names including Liquid Gold, Bundy, The Square Bear and Cane Champagne.

3.4/10 (76 ratings)
Serious improvement needed

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
14
21
14
9
5
4
3
2
1
3

Rate Bundaberg Original UP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


76 Bundaberg Original UP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

568a44d3718593077e172895a5abe5cf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

Harsh on the nose, harsh on the throat. If you can get past the sensation of swallowing sand you can find a possible hint of caramal.
This is the not hot Cougar of rum.

2742a5fa383f6db3c69fd6fc75bce4b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 198 ratings

Well it started off ok then this taste filled my mouth.. How do i describe it ? Sort of a cross between Moonshine and tart marmalade , horrible. My brain urged me to swallow it but i couldn't , i just spate it out ! The taste stayed in my mouth for ages even drinking a glass of water didn't shift it ! Did not want to waste a decent Ginger Beer with it ironically also made by Bundaberg.
The only reason i upped my score from -1 to 2 is i might get to visit their Distillery in the near future.

D97b471b4f3d8d1568f5467075fa6ccb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Anthony from Australia with 1 rating

We are Australian and we love our Vegemite and our Bundaberg Rum. We don't really mind if the world doesn't agree or not, it means more for us!
Huzzah

2dd949a05255868100178b98c4f50aee.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

I would't run my car on this god forsaken swill. This is a domestic dispute aching to happen. Save yourself the family court drama and buy anything and I mean absolutely anything else instead.

45577f22701a2b1cf08680aa50edb4bf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

Great if you are on a budget night out and like molasses and coke and fancy a punch up later

1f90d430c746468250cee9bc58c26c56.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Jason Hanna from Australia with 1 rating

Its Australia's national drink whether we like it or not!
When you ask for a Rum & Coke then this is what is expected, what dis you think a bunch of convicts would have come up with, an Anejo?

96f709eeb37a82c82ae465d048c2ec57.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 7 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

It's not often one finds a rum that is almost undrinkable, maybe the australians have a different taste to the rest of the world....this is one to avoid, but they do have a lot of t'shirts!

294e3fe91ce5e1e615a2b94c73ce26ac.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

If you like the taste of news paper this rum is for you

2a6e206ea8029f2e08e56101c107573e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I tasted this rum as a result of both curiosity and a friend's recommendation that I had to experience it. We both knew I was in for a shock. Sweet Mother of God! Why anyone would call this rum is entirely beyond me. The nose is more akin to turpentine or some kind of industrial cleaner then it is to any spirit I have tasted, and that is saying something because I have tasted some really horrendous stuff. I cannot in good conscience recommend this rum even for a mixer there isn't enough lime and Coca Cola in the world to mask the monstrosity contained in that bottle.

Bf5246ae5f7c57b9daf9c697a5e49f83.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Discovered this when travelling through Bundaberg itself in Australia. Really tasty, with coke or Bundaberg ginger beer as a 'Dark & Stormy'

03a4e5068d271526101a45553a24dc73.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Edward Martens from Canada with 30 ratings

I always sample a new rum neat. A mistake for this rum. While it has a nice colour, I could only think that someone had replaced the rum with some form of tequila. Its possible that a really strong fruit mix will make this palatable. Bundaberg Original UP has a home in my cabinet now as a benchmark for what the bottom of the rating scale is.