Posting your rating...
Bundaberg Original UP rum

Bundaberg Original UP Rum is the flagship product of the Bundaberg Distilling company of Australia, which first crafted their original rum in 1888. This rum is double-distilled and aged for two years.

The Original UP Bundaberg rum brand is still sold in its traditional “Brick” bottle that goes by a variety names including Liquid Gold, Bundy, The Square Bear and Cane Champagne.

Rate Bundaberg Original UP

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


73 Bundaberg Original UP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Well it started off ok then this taste filled my mouth.. How do i describe it ? Sort of a cross between Moonshine and tart marmalade , horrible. My brain urged me to swallow it but i couldn't , i just spate it out ! The taste stayed in my mouth for ages even drinking a glass of water didn't shift it ! Did not want to waste a decent Ginger Beer with it ironically also made by Bundaberg.
The only reason i upped my score from -1 to 2 is i might get to visit their Distillery in the near future.

Posted over 4 years ago by Anthony from Australia with 1 rating

We are Australian and we love our Vegemite and our Bundaberg Rum. We don't really mind if the world doesn't agree or not, it means more for us!
Huzzah

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tommy from Australia with 15 ratings

I would't run my car on this god forsaken swill. This is a domestic dispute aching to happen. Save yourself the family court drama and buy anything and I mean absolutely anything else instead.

Posted about 6 years ago by Ben Mitchell from Australia with 18 ratings

Great if you are on a budget night out and like molasses and coke and fancy a punch up later

Posted over 6 years ago by Jason Hanna from Australia with 1 rating

Its Australia's national drink whether we like it or not!
When you ask for a Rum & Coke then this is what is expected, what dis you think a bunch of convicts would have come up with, an Anejo?

Posted over 6 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

It's not often one finds a rum that is almost undrinkable, maybe the australians have a different taste to the rest of the world....this is one to avoid, but they do have a lot of t'shirts!

Posted over 7 years ago by muppet from United States with 49 ratings

If you like the taste of news paper this rum is for you

Posted about 3 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I tasted this rum as a result of both curiosity and a friend's recommendation that I had to experience it. We both knew I was in for a shock. Sweet Mother of God! Why anyone would call this rum is entirely beyond me. The nose is more akin to turpentine or some kind of industrial cleaner then it is to any spirit I have tasted, and that is saying something because I have tasted some really horrendous stuff. I cannot in good conscience recommend this rum even for a mixer there isn't enough lime and Coca Cola in the world to mask the monstrosity contained in that bottle.

Posted over 3 years ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Discovered this when travelling through Bundaberg itself in Australia. Really tasty, with coke or Bundaberg ginger beer as a 'Dark & Stormy'

Posted over 3 years ago by Edward Martens from Canada with 30 ratings

I always sample a new rum neat. A mistake for this rum. While it has a nice colour, I could only think that someone had replaced the rum with some form of tequila. Its possible that a really strong fruit mix will make this palatable. Bundaberg Original UP has a home in my cabinet now as a benchmark for what the bottom of the rating scale is.

Posted about 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I prefer to drink rum straight up, but best not to with this fella. Rum in name only.

Posted over 5 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Being from Australia I wasn't expecting much but I was still disappointed.

Posted over 5 years ago by Tom from Australia with 1 rating

I love rum and I am proud to be australian. Many Australians are proud of bundaberg rum. I disagree with them on this bundaberg rum. So bundaberg has a near monopoly on being an australian rum. Sad.

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Atrocious. Tastes like cheap whiskey. Vile

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Posted 11 months ago by Mr_s888 from Australia with 6 ratings

If I could rate 0/10 I would. An overly harsh taste that insights an instant gag reflex. As a local there is nothing worse than someone being debilitatingly drunk on this drink. Very common for those who enjoy this drink to also enjoy ending the night in a scuffle. Avoid at all costs.

Posted over 1 year ago by René from Netherlands with 31 ratings

My first Bundy rum. The original. Need I say more. Brings back memories of Oz. Drink it neat as well as mixed, both as pleasant as the other. Not to everyone’s taste tho, I have discovered.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy9 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Australia's national drink. Tastes a bit dirty at first but once you get a taste for it, it's amazing. Also available in perfectly mixed Bundaberg & Cola cans.

Posted over 1 year ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

"The Original". 37.0% ABV (one of those oddly and unnecessarily specific values...). Faintest nose of any rum I’ve tried. The flavor isn’t bad, but it’s also not really there. And there’s enough ethanol in the nose and dry heat in the mouth (capped off with a super short finish) that I doubt it would be pleasurable at a higher proof. So, I really can’t recommend this to anyone, even for cocktails (and fortunately, this can’t legally be sold as “rum” in the US). It’s inoffensive, but I just see no reason to go back to it.

5-

Posted over 2 years ago by deniz from Australia with 1 rating

Only ever tried captain morgan and coke before so I was expecting a nice vanilla coke flavor. Ordered a rum and coke and forget to specify which rum and she put this in it. I was like I guess I could try it. Got back to my table and had my first sip and it had some strong taste I did not find pleasant. Couldn't work out what the taste was but it was familiar. It did get a bit better as the alcohol mixed in. I would never get it again.

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from United States with 25 ratings

Drowned in coke it's drinkable, barely but do not ever attempt to sip this stuff! It's like turpentine, good gag drink when your buddy tells you to get him 'anything' from the bar

Posted over 3 years ago by Fraser Galloway from Australia with 1 rating

It is a taste thing. Rum without body is just another ethanol spirit. This is THE rum to drink with coke and never any other cola. If yo drink it with water is 1 star, With milk or coke 5 star.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ivan from Canada with 1 rating

Worst rum I ever tried, unbelievable it is bottled and sold to anyone. I got it as a gift from a friend and tried it and just can't believe how bad it is

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason from Australia with 3 ratings

So this rum is an Aussie icon with a lot of history. I grew up on a sugar cane farm and in the cutting season fresh cut paddocks have an amazing smell. The same rich sugary molasses aroma can be found in Bundaberg UP. Best mixed with Coca-Cola as it's rough on the palate. The cane sugar after taste is what i love and will go back for, personally it's a nostalgic thing for me. As far as a refined and complex go, except to pay more.

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Australia with 1 rating

Good work guys, lol. What you are rating here is Bundaberg Rum Original 100 Proof, not UP. UP is that backbone of Bundaberg Rum and has been produced at Bundaberg for the last 127 years, with 2 fires, wars, depressions and droughts and still going strong. There are worse rums out there (Holey Dollar) and Bundy does have some exceptional rums (MDC Blenders Edition 2015) winning Double Gold in New York recently. Do yourselves a favour and try MDC Small batch and MDC Small Batch Vintage.




#