Posting your rating...
Angostura 5-Year rum

Rate Angostura 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


44 Angostura 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Plne souhlasim s hodnocenim, co psal HunterRomario. Vune i chut prijemna. Dub a med s prijemnym dokoncenim. Radeji bych ale tenhle kousek oxhutnal v sudove sile, protoze opravdu pusobi lehce naradene.

Posted over 2 years ago by deniz adams from United States with 9 ratings

5 or 6 i was not sure about it. It is not a bad rum but it is defi etely not on the must have side for me.

If i catch it on a good sale i will buy again but above $20 i've tried better rums.

Nose: oakiness and alcohol smell is very noticable.
Taste: i know it will sound weird but it is a dry rum but it is sweeter than expected with honey caramel flavors.
Tried both sipping and mixing same confusing results. Did not get best out of it.
But you may like it

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Picked it up for $15. Nose is molasses, caramel, vanilla, and spice. Apart from an initial alcohol bite, it is relatively smooth with some nice dry notes of wood and caramel with some spice. Vanilla teases too with an elusive sweetness. Actually not bad on its own, probably not bad with ice, though will most likely be mixed.

Posted about 4 years ago by Karolis from Lithuania with 19 ratings

You would expect to fell more pleasant rum for a rum made to be consumed on it's own. Sadly this rum lets you down and in the after taste you can only fell strong alcohol with caramel found. On the rocks or cola only in my opinion.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This rum has a beautiful bright amber color. It has an interesting odor. A bit alcohol-heavy that stings the nose a little.

Tasting it reveals the oak in which it is aged (between 5 and 8 years from what I've read online) and a little sweetness with vanilla and caramel with a drier finish. This will tingle your tongue a bit. Leaves a bit of a lengthy burn in the throat.

A very versatile mixing rum. Has too much of an edge to it to be a good sipping rum. Overall a good rum and very useable in mixed drinks.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Trinidad a Tobago
Aroma: Vůně je o hodně řidší než jsem zvyklý u Angostury 1919 a 1824, ale je poznat, že jde o Angosturu, trocha včelích pláství a medicíny tu je, ale hlavně tu jsou znát citrusy. Je to takové odlehčené, nenáročné, zředěné. (82 b)
Chuť: V chuti platí to samé, co ve vůni. Hlavní poznávací znaky značky zůstaly zachovány, ale jsou naředěné. Dřevo, plástve, medovost. Pěkná je dochuť, ta je i přes naředění dlouhá, celkem plná. (82 b)
Body: 82
Shrnutí: Je to levnější, lehčí verze Angostury, za sebe doporučuji připlatit a jít do Angostury 1919, když už

Posted 6 days ago by akvarats from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Consider this option if you are planning an island trip.

Posted 26 days ago by klaasfrans from Netherlands with 11 ratings

Bought it, mixed it up, nothing special and a lot better for sale in same price class.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Bon rhum à découvrir sur glace ou avec accompagnement, du coke ou du 7up. Surprenant pour le rapports qualité/prix.

Posted 3 months ago by gordzilla from Poland with 2 ratings

I really like it especially in regards to its price. Solid 6!

Posted 3 months ago by Napoon from Germany with 15 ratings

...wenn man ihn mag.

Ich mag ihn zum Glück und würde Neugierigen empfehlen mit dem günstigen 5 jährigen den Angostura Test zu machen.

Er ist trocken,alkoholisch und hat den typischen Geschmack der Marke Angostura.
Wem dieser zusagt darf sich dann mit den älteren Abfüllungen noch oben testen...
Hier schleicht sich aber dann leider Zuckerzusatz ein, der dem jungen 5jährigen (zum Glück für mich) fehlt.

Posted 4 months ago by Inshore from Poland with 51 ratings

somebody want to try create rum which is no sweet, wit flavour like a whiskey, but still rum. effect is a industrial taste with long alcohol finish, ok you will taste a fruit a bit, but still it is some kind of experiment. Do not recommend for beginners.

Posted 8 months ago by Echo from Ukraine with 11 ratings

Definitely nice rum for the price. I got the third bottle. Reminds me Appleton Estate 12 years, but simplified.

Posted 12 months ago by William Carr from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Great amber colour with a smooth mellow taste and small hint of molasses. Great rum for use with mixers or water.

Posted about 1 year ago by ElPato from Norway with 23 ratings

Nose of vanilla, hint of oak and passion fruit. The palate strikes with a bit of funk, young barrel and slightly grassy fruitiness. A bit stinging, short finish, but as a mixer it has enough character. Try it in a Knickerbocker or any flavourful cocktail that adds some complexity, such as a fix or a punch.
Edit: I added one rating bottle. Rums with character are too often dismissed by people who seems to want only sugary, caramel flavoured products, and it strikes me how much character the Angostura 5 adds to a cocktail. You’d believe you actually used a slightly pungent Jamaican rum, although esters in this basic Trinidad expression are less fruity and more on the grassy side. Considering value for money and how good a mixer this is, a 7 is well deserved.

Posted over 1 year ago by PacificSpice from United States with 16 ratings

I found that this rum left me wanting something with a more complex flavor profile. It's smooth and mixes nicely. It's not offensive in any way and is something that I believe even non-rum drinkers would enjoy. It has a mild smokey Carmel flavor which the aroma doesn't tip you off to. Overall I feel like I need to try other rums from this brand to see if they can give me something more fulfilling.

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Pretendng to be like something between rum and Irish whiskey, but whats the point, better buy some irish whiskey or some better rum that you will find without doubt

Final verdict: I will not buy it again

Posted over 1 year ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

03.12.2018
64/100

For me I can tell this Rum is good alternative for Dominican Matusalem 7y or 10y

Nose:
Much heavy alcohol. Give a little bit time to this Rum, let them take a breath. Take a look on color, structure. Shake it in your glas and give him last 20 seconds...
Now it’s much better. Alcohol aroma is much lower. Now I can find caramel and some tropical citrus.
Palate: dry. Woody. Oak.
I guess whiskey lovers will like this rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Before I started writing reviews here, I tried the Angostura 7 Year and absolutely hated it. This family of rums is so different from the more commonly marketed brands that one can easily be put off by trying one of these first. Now that I have an appreciation for their 1919 and 1824 with their very unique taste, it was time to give the 7-Year another try. The store was out of that one, so I gave this 5-Year a try for only $21.

It is pale yellowish gold and exudes infancy. The same unique aroma of it's older brothers is apparent, but that is where the similarities end. It is a pretty smooth and dry rum, but it would be better suited to being served with ginger ale as I recommended for their 1919. So this one is too young and the 1824 is too rich and costly, which means that their 1919 is the best value for sipping. I just had to find out for myself.

As an after note, mixing one part Angostura 5 Year with two parts ginger ale and served over lots of ice cubes in a tall glass makes for one very refreshing and unique tropical drink. If it were only $6 cheaper, I could also recommend it as a good bargain buy. I will still buy this one again specifically to make the drink just described. It's THAT good! But don't drink it neat or on the rocks!

If you want a mixer rum that hides itself in the cocktail, this one is not it. It renders itself obvious that Angostura is in the unmistakable mix.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

Still the old version with 40% vol, heard that the latest release of this are being bottled at 37.5%...global warming with higher angel share...? Doubt so.

N- Sticky cola caramel with vanilla and nice pleasant milky chocolate. Like the tobacco smokes and grassy notes in the middle with good citrus zest at the back. (19/25)

P- Stark-y oak with dominant charred notes that works well with the grassy spicy juice, with herb bitters underlay. (19/25)

F- Short, dry with little burn but derives with an oak-y kick, and again, it complement well with the young fruit tartness. Can sip to this as the sweetness are well restrained. (18/25)

Balanced:- Oak presents in a good manner, remains "pure and clean" with more substance compared to the 3YO. (19/25)

Weighted Rate:- 75pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ryan from Canada with 21 ratings

I had said that the plantiation had faint citrus, carmel and a white pepper flavour. This is missing the white pepper "spike" and the citrus is less faint but not at all overwhelming. Smoother with less complexity.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Se boit bien, bon rhum pour le prix. Sans grande particularité mais aussi sans grand default.

Posted over 2 years ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

Λαστιχιά .... κυριολεκτικά και μεταφορικά (μυρίζει σα λάστιχο) ..... μια πιο light εκδοχή , του ήδη μέτριου 1919 ..... Επιεικής η βαθμολογία , σε σχέση με τα ρούμια που έχω βαθμολογήσει !!!!!! Πολλά καλλίτερα ρούμια σε αυτήν την κατηγορία !!!!!!!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Just awful from the smell to the mess of a taste to the terrible afterburn. Stay away from this rat poison.