Posting your rating...
Angostura 5-Year rum

Angostura 5-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Gold

6.1/10 (47 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
9
13
14
5
1

Rate Angostura 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


47 Angostura 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

25f6bf9e901fc0c462ab5dffa7011128.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Plne souhlasim s hodnocenim, co psal HunterRomario. Vune i chut prijemna. Dub a med s prijemnym dokoncenim. Radeji bych ale tenhle kousek oxhutnal v sudove sile, protoze opravdu pusobi lehce naradene.

1a20074c740122ea80480a2cf7df580a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by deniz adams from United States with 9 ratings

5 or 6 i was not sure about it. It is not a bad rum but it is defi etely not on the must have side for me.

If i catch it on a good sale i will buy again but above $20 i've tried better rums.

Nose: oakiness and alcohol smell is very noticable.
Taste: i know it will sound weird but it is a dry rum but it is sweeter than expected with honey caramel flavors.
Tried both sipping and mixing same confusing results. Did not get best out of it.
But you may like it

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 84 ratings

Picked it up for $15. Nose is molasses, caramel, vanilla, and spice. Apart from an initial alcohol bite, it is relatively smooth with some nice dry notes of wood and caramel with some spice. Vanilla teases too with an elusive sweetness. Actually not bad on its own, probably not bad with ice, though will most likely be mixed.

66db90a60690245af5816e4bc6e8e19f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Karolis from Lithuania with 19 ratings

You would expect to fell more pleasant rum for a rum made to be consumed on it's own. Sadly this rum lets you down and in the after taste you can only fell strong alcohol with caramel found. On the rocks or cola only in my opinion.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This rum has a beautiful bright amber color. It has an interesting odor. A bit alcohol-heavy that stings the nose a little.

Tasting it reveals the oak in which it is aged (between 5 and 8 years from what I've read online) and a little sweetness with vanilla and caramel with a drier finish. This will tingle your tongue a bit. Leaves a bit of a lengthy burn in the throat.

A very versatile mixing rum. Has too much of an edge to it to be a good sipping rum. Overall a good rum and very useable in mixed drinks.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Trinidad a Tobago
Aroma: Vůně je o hodně řidší než jsem zvyklý u Angostury 1919 a 1824, ale je poznat, že jde o Angosturu, trocha včelích pláství a medicíny tu je, ale hlavně tu jsou znát citrusy. Je to takové odlehčené, nenáročné, zředěné. (82 b)
Chuť: V chuti platí to samé, co ve vůni. Hlavní poznávací znaky značky zůstaly zachovány, ale jsou naředěné. Dřevo, plástve, medovost. Pěkná je dochuť, ta je i přes naředění dlouhá, celkem plná. (82 b)
Body: 82
Shrnutí: Je to levnější, lehčí verze Angostury, za sebe doporučuji připlatit a jít do Angostury 1919, když už

D299ea4a023b9e1b42ca1dd76b683f72.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 days ago by jrobj from United States with 7 ratings

was great mixed with Coke. Smell is alcohol heavy, but tastes very sweet

9535f3aed56b571d41f7d1e3800950b8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 24 days ago by Mons from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

I’m a relative novice as it relates to tasting. But to me it smelt a bit rough/ alcohol, some vanilla / clove notes. Tasted a bit as smelt, plus butter caramel afterwards. Not refined, per other comments. Better mixed in my opinion.

8012f3f03c0499f4989763954d3369b2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Florin from Romania with 11 ratings

Partea care îl trage puțin în jos e că nu i suficient de echilibrat. Se simte tăria in miros dar mai ales in gust. Gust puternic de vanilie , ceva caramel și ceva aroma de lemn. Destul de corpolent . Își face banii. 6

724a88dfb2c2a47499ad76440f49b083.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by akvarats from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Consider this option if you are planning an island trip.