Posting your rating...
Angostura 5-Year rum

Angostura 5-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Gold

6.1/10 (52 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
16
15
5
1

Rate Angostura 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


52 Angostura 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Bought this rum to be used as a mixer, but found it quite enjoyable on the rocks too. However when adding some coke it resulted in one of the best rum & cokes I've ever tried. Would have given it a 7.5 if possible, but went for a 7 as I try to only give 8s or higher for real sipping rums.
Nice, smooth & easy going.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Rotem oren from Israel with 7 ratings

This is a fine rum for his price, I'd say he is more of a cocktail rum than a sipper, but I'm growing in to it.
Nose is really boozy.
Tast is reafreshing, sweet and sharp whit nuty and vanilla flaveors.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jandy from Czech Republic with 52 ratings

Plne souhlasim s hodnocenim, co psal HunterRomario. Vune i chut prijemna. Dub a med s prijemnym dokoncenim. Radeji bych ale tenhle kousek oxhutnal v sudove sile, protoze opravdu pusobi lehce naradene.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by deniz adams from United States with 9 ratings

5 or 6 i was not sure about it. It is not a bad rum but it is defi etely not on the must have side for me.

If i catch it on a good sale i will buy again but above $20 i've tried better rums.

Nose: oakiness and alcohol smell is very noticable.
Taste: i know it will sound weird but it is a dry rum but it is sweeter than expected with honey caramel flavors.
Tried both sipping and mixing same confusing results. Did not get best out of it.
But you may like it

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Picked it up for $15. Nose is molasses, caramel, vanilla, and spice. Apart from an initial alcohol bite, it is relatively smooth with some nice dry notes of wood and caramel with some spice. Vanilla teases too with an elusive sweetness. Actually not bad on its own, probably not bad with ice, though will most likely be mixed.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Karolis from Lithuania with 19 ratings

You would expect to fell more pleasant rum for a rum made to be consumed on it's own. Sadly this rum lets you down and in the after taste you can only fell strong alcohol with caramel found. On the rocks or cola only in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

This rum has a beautiful bright amber color. It has an interesting odor. A bit alcohol-heavy that stings the nose a little.

Tasting it reveals the oak in which it is aged (between 5 and 8 years from what I've read online) and a little sweetness with vanilla and caramel with a drier finish. This will tingle your tongue a bit. Leaves a bit of a lengthy burn in the throat.

A very versatile mixing rum. Has too much of an edge to it to be a good sipping rum. Overall a good rum and very useable in mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Trinidad a Tobago
Aroma: Vůně je o hodně řidší než jsem zvyklý u Angostury 1919 a 1824, ale je poznat, že jde o Angosturu, trocha včelích pláství a medicíny tu je, ale hlavně tu jsou znát citrusy. Je to takové odlehčené, nenáročné, zředěné. (82 b)
Chuť: V chuti platí to samé, co ve vůni. Hlavní poznávací znaky značky zůstaly zachovány, ale jsou naředěné. Dřevo, plástve, medovost. Pěkná je dochuť, ta je i přes naředění dlouhá, celkem plná. (82 b)
Body: 82
Shrnutí: Je to levnější, lehčí verze Angostury, za sebe doporučuji připlatit a jít do Angostury 1919, když už

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 69 ratings

Younger brother of other rums in Angostura lineuo, not so refined as 7y of course, but the taste profile is similar, can be sipped alright, but lacks depth, it is quite light. Good for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by wagner89 from Romania with 6 ratings

It's a decemt and enjoyable rum in and of itself, but I did find it to work perfectly with a coke and lime twist, so it's a solid 7 in my book - I wouldn't be sad if nothing else was available one night.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Andrewofcalgary from Canada with 52 ratings

Light, hits you with pineapple and berry. Finishes like sweet salt water taffy. Middle of the road but more interesting flavour than most in this price range.