Posting your rating...
Presidente 23-Year rum

Presidente 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.0/10 (112 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
23
47
29
6

Rate Presidente 23-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


112 Presidente 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Wonderfully smooth. Notes of raisins and vanilla. Faint notes of oak and pepper. A very subtle complexity. Good sipping rum for sure. I do not like the "alcohol bite" of rum to dominate but I do like a little bite. This has almost none. The finish is very short. As I taste more and more fine rums some things are becoming clear as trends emerge., Not a big fan of Solera aging. Also, as a rule I do not prefer Dominican rum. Don't get me wrong there are definite exceptions to this but this is another good but not great Dominican rum. It may have been crafted in the Cuban style but you cannot taste it. This is Dominican through and through.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2651 ratings

Well over 1,000 aged dark rums enjoyed and Presidente Marti 23 year from Oliver & Oliver is on my Top 10 list after 15 years of rum tastings. It is superb, so smooth you can't imagine, no burn at all and contains plenty of exciting flavors. If you haven't tried yet this Dominican Republic produced but Cuban inspired 23 year Rum, I will guarantee it will set a brand new benchmark for your personal rum list.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 9
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 13
20/100 Palate test 19
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 92

F91eb13d62cec23af5c2e3979b7001a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Martin Tousek from Czech Republic with 21 ratings

In my opinion the best rum of the Dominican Republic. It complies with all the standards of true Caribbean rum. Well balanced taste, beautiful colour and what I like most about its appearance is the viscosity - I love watching the rum as it trickles on the wall of my glass. Definitely a must-try rum. 95%

6d7cc760bc07e515fae63271338f0b14.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Marco from Netherlands with 45 ratings

After trying the 15 and 19 year it was time for the 23! Just a little better everytime you go more old. All three are very nice and not too much difference price-wise. You can't go wrong with either one. Allthough the 23 is the smoothest. Produced by Oliver&Oliver so prepare for a sweeter rum.

Cea8eb58212461a9e253be6473ee529b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Mads from Denmark with 6 ratings

Perfect balance between rich body and dim fresh fruity notes

0a7e82ae63c7b63590c0c18f9515a3ba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Mr.Cow from Czech Republic with 27 ratings

Je to fajn rum, ale pro mou hudu je moc nakouřený. Cítil jsem to takové nauzené jako z udírny a nešlo mi to moc do krku. Jak říkám, rum je to dobrý,ale raději sáhnu po 19Y.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I wasn't expecting to like this as much as I did given its score of only 7.9 (as of this review). I generally rate rums about a point below their consensus rating. But I think this is better than its consensus rating!

It's a little on the sweeter side, but that's one reason I like it. Somewhat simple rather than complex, and a bit syrupy, but very tasty. Smells and tastes of molasses, caramel, marzipan, honey, and oak. Easy to drink straight. A solid "9" in my opinion.

78595b1d321c1aae75a440cdf8815b60.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Steve Maskell from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

I thought I would try this rumas it was on offer, and decided to read the reviews. A nice rum to either drink neat or over ice, that is fairly sweet when sipping. A slightly oaky aroma. Smooth as it goes down without too much burn. I would recommend this and buy it again.

4a6d572670506e4ca48124d5df150161.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Marek H. from Slovakia with 42 ratings

First I thought that it would be some imitation of Diplomatico :)
I didn’t have confidence in this rum, but opposite is true.
Very nice aroma…honey, coffee, wood, little bit fruity.. very nice taste
Perfect rum for sipping, also for rum beginners

A4e6a98214e7c693453d1f76ba542f8b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Vesslan 5 from Sweden with 37 ratings

ahh,så god…


07cd014d917dd09a8565d0abb027e4b6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 19 days ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 24 ratings

Der Presidente Solera 23Years ist ein Blend aus der Dominikanischen Republik. Er wird von Oliver und Oliver abgefüllt welche sehr viele populäre Abfüllungen wie z.B. den Unique XO oder den Quohrum anbieten. Der Presidente ist mit 35-40Euro einer der günstigere Rums vom O&O. Er hat, wie alle Rums dieses Abfüllers, einen hohen Zuckergehalt von 47g/l.

Der Presidente ist in der Nase durchaus vielversprechend mit einer leicht fruchtigen Süße. Am Gaumen kommt es dann ähnlich wie bei dem Botucal Reserva Exclusiva zu der Erkenntnis das der Zucker aus dem Rum einen Einheitsbrei macht. Insgesamt fand ich das der Zucker etwas besser eingebunden ist als bei dem Botucal. Der Presidente hat angenehme Noten von Karamel. Holznoten zeigen das irgendwo in dem Solera sich auch 23 Jahre alter Rum versteckt. Der Alkohol ist präsent wird durch den Zucker aber in Schacht gehalten. Der Abgang ist kurz und bitter mit leichten Holznoten.

Insgesamt fand ich den Presidente angenehmer als den Botucal da er keinen Film im Mund hinterlässt und die Süße homogener wirkt. Trotzdem ist der hohe Zuckeranteil ärgerlich. Holz Noten lassen erahnen was der Rum mit einer anständigen Lagerung evtl. zu bieten hat. Allgemein ist der Presidente ein guter Standard Rum welchen ich aber nicht großartig weiter empfehlen würde, aber auch nicht als Fehlkauf beschreiben kann.

The Presidente Solera 23Years is a blend from the Dominican Republic. It is bottled by Oliver and Oliver, who offer a lot of popular bottlings such as the Unique XO or the Quohrum. With 35-40Euro, the Presidente is one of the cheaper rums of the O&O. Like all Rums of O&O it has a high sugar content of 47g/l.

The Presidente is quite promising in the nose with a slightly fruity sweetness. On the palate, similar to the botucal, the realization that the sugar from the rum makes a single porridge. I found that the sugar is a little better integrated than with the botucal. The Presidente has pleasant notes of caramel. Wood notes show that somewhere in the Solera also 23-year-old rum is hidden. The alcohol is present by the sugar but kept in shaft. The finish is short and bitter with light wood notes.

Overall, I found the Presidente more pleasant than the Botucal because it leaves no film in the mouth and the sweetness seems more homogeneous. Nevertheless, the high sugar content is annoying. Wood notes give an idea of what the rum with a decent storage might have to offer. In general, the Presidente is a good standard rum, which I would not recommend, but also can not describe as a mis-purchase.