Posting your rating...
El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year rum

El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year

Mexico | Aged

5.3/10 (99 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
9
12
20
31
15
2
1
2

Rate El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


99 El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by jbmonin from France with 14 ratings

Un peu intriguant par son histoire, sa bouteille et sa couleur, il se révèle plein d'alcool au nez, assez intéressant au palais mais sans aucune longueur. Une bouteille bien chère pour le contenu qu'elle propose...

Ffffff

Posted 23 days ago by Panchieri from Belgium with 18 ratings

OK I'm not a big fan of this rum but objectively, it's not a bad rum... The taste of alcohol is way too present for me but the honey and plum taste is quite good. Another point for the bottle which is really pretty (and the main reason why I bought it). But at 30€, it's a bit overpriced...

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Toni (PREMIUM) from Germany with 3 ratings

I spontaneosly purchased this rum for about 23EUR in my local store because i was curious and it looked nice and seemed to have an interesting story behind it. What can I say, should have picked the +10EUR diplomatico standing next to it. And sign up to this site... Now this is my first review here. Save your money for better stuff. You will not enjoy sipping this one. It has an okay nose but the taste is terrible. I have to diminish this one with coke... Would also give the rest away for free.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by kbill from Romania with 23 ratings

A bit too much alcohol, but a nice entry. Price wise is wrongly placed.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Alkin from Latvia with 43 ratings

Quite harsh, no aftertaste, maybe good with some coke.

Small img 20190805 wa0000

Posted 4 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 77 ratings

Pour un 12 ans on profite bien du côté caramélisé et du bois. A déguster entre amis

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Hefron from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Rum se zajímavou chutí, zprvu zklamání, poté jsem mu přišel na chuť. Lehce kávové tóny, ne moc sladký.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 35 ratings

If you sample around like I do, you should give this one a try. It is a bit smokey like whisky but rum-like with rounded edges. Low sweetness, rather complex. Not your rum to introduce newcomers to the segment.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

Typical spanish style rum. Not a ordinary rum. You can find common flavors of burned sugar and some fruits. Quite a dark taste.
The nose is not bad, quite complex with some more flavors.
The initial and middle taste are the same and too simple for me, there is almost no change. It was a little bit boring. The finish starts with some spice and bitternotes.
It reminds me a little bit of Remidy spiced rum, it's like a natural version of but with another finish.

Smell: caramell, burned sugar, dry fruits, apricot, some nuts (hazelnut), oak, spices (cloves), earth
Taste initial/middle: caramel, burned sugar, apricot
Finish: spice, burned sugar, cocoa/dark chocolate with wood, spices (cloves)

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 2/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 2.5 (Nose was 3)
Intensity: 3/5
Value (23€): 2/5

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Jacek Bogucki from Poland with 9 ratings

..because it definitely does not taste like any Rum I tried or have, and truly feels like some mix-up (mishap?). it is definitely in bottom 3 *ever*. (out of 100+), other ones being French Mangoustan's and Hungarian Portorico. (I don't even count Polish "Golden Rum", obviously).

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 148 ratings

Pas vraiment un rhum de dégustation, à boire avec du coke ou du 7up. Belle histoire, belle bouteille, peux-être que dans le temps c'était le meilleur rhum au monde mais pas aujourd'hui.