Posting your rating...
El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year rum

Rate El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


92 El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Found the El Ron Prohibido 12 year old Solera aged rum from a local grocery store in Mexico last week and had my doubts when I bought the bottle. This is easily the cheapest 12 year Solera aged rum at 214 MXN which equates to roughly $12. It has a harsh alcohol smell to it,but the taste is not so offputting. Mixes well with Coke, goes as a neat sipper in distress. Wood flavor is very strong. Some burn, but not bad.

Posted over 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

The Rum used to be served to sailors in Mexico, but they all got so hammered that the captains made it illegal to serve! 'El prohibido' the forbidden RUM.
The taste is interesting, but nothing to my liking at all. Not very well balanced and simply too 'much'.

Posted over 3 years ago by vojt466 from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Barva - sytě vínově červená
Vůně - na první "pohled" klasická rumová, karamel, toffiffee, koření
Chuť - melasa, hnědý cukr, hodně kořeněné, karamel, místy probleskuje tmavé sušené ovoce (rozinky, fíky). S postupujícím časem koření začíná zcela dominovat a přidává se i trocha soli - bohužel to pomalu, ale jistě ubíjí veškeré ostatní chutě
Dozvuk - velmi kořeněné
Hodnocení - koření ve finále zabíjí veškeré ostatní chuťové složky, což je škoda

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Fruity first nose which turn into a walnut smell after 10min. Warm in mouth, nice on the tip of the tongue. Bend towards a sweet port wine, not a very good one. Short tail, candied fruits. Nuts again. Not really good.

Posted over 5 years ago by TwanB from Netherlands with 16 ratings

Taste is not fine... Maybe for use in a cake or raisins, not for drinking.

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Die 12 Jahre Solera täuschen gewaltig. Schmeckt als hätte er einfach noch Zeit gebraucht.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

The rum aged in red wind barrels doesn't taste bad. But it's odd...and in the end it's a combination that is fun to taste but it's not suitable to sip the entire nicht.

Posted over 4 years ago by DrNovelo from Mexico with 27 ratings

Un rum mexicano, con receta cubana, cuentan una historia de cómo el rey Felipe V lo prohibió.
Su presentación es una muy elegante botella.
De sabor único ya que es un "Habanero" de sabor suave y dulce.
Me encantó!

Posted about 5 years ago by protozor from Belgium with 26 ratings

OK I'm not a big fan of this rum but objectively, it's not a bad rum... The taste of alcohol is way too present for me but the honey and plum taste is quite good. Another point for the bottle which is really pretty (and the main reason why I bought it). But at 30€, it's a bit overpriced...

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Var til Rom og Whisky messen, og smagte denne Rom. Jeg måtte opgive at drikke den færdig, den smagte simpelthen forfærdeligt.

Posted 15 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

If you sample around like I do, you should give this one a try. It is a bit smokey like whisky but rum-like with rounded edges. Low sweetness, rather complex. Not your rum to introduce newcomers to the segment.

Posted 23 days ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

This one has a character of dark chocolate with pepper.
I would describe it as a dark taste. Not a ordinary rum. According to the ratings, I think the most people could have misunderstood it. I like the burned suggar with dry fruits. The additional aromas of chocolate and pepper are not bad in this combination.

Smell: caramell, burned sugar, dry fruits, some nuts, oak
Taste: caramel, cocoa/dark chocolate, vanilla, wet barrel
Finish: spice, bitterness in the sweetness (like chocolate), pepper

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruits: 2/5
Mildness: 3/5

Posted about 2 months ago by Jacek Bogucki from Poland with 8 ratings

..because it definitely does not taste like any Rum I tried or have, and truly feels like some mix-up (mishap?). it is definitely in bottom 3 *ever*. (out of 100+), other ones being French Mangoustan's and Hungarian Portorico. (I don't even count Polish "Golden Rum", obviously).

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Pas vraiment un rhum de dégustation, à boire avec du coke ou du 7up. Belle histoire, belle bouteille, peux-être que dans le temps c'était le meilleur rhum au monde mais pas aujourd'hui.

Posted 2 months ago by Miguel from Germany with 11 ratings

Pur war der irgendwie gar nix. Übelst der starke Eigengeschmack, war einfach nicht meins.
Mit Cola geht der schon klar. Bei dem Preis sollte man eh nicht zuviel erwarten. Ich fand ihn auf jeden Fall besser als das Kraken Gelump.

Posted 2 months ago by Philinarium from Russian Federation with 22 ratings

Очень приятный аромат: ягоды, карамель и бочка. Вкус - поначалу сладкий, фруктово-карамельный, затем - терпкий. Спиртяга присутствует, но не резкая - мягкая и согревающая. Послевкусие довольно долгое, приятное, с травянистыми оттенками. Ром немного более резкий, чем 15-летняя версия, но всё равно очень хорош и сбалансирован.

Aroma is very nice: berries, caramel and oak. Taste is sweet at first, fruits and burnt sugar, and then becomes harsher. Spirit is present, but not very rough, rather soft and warming. Aftertaste is pretty long, pleasant, with herby notes. This rum is a little harsher than 15-yo version, but still very good and well-balanced.

Posted 3 months ago by Root-theory from Poland with 45 ratings

Zapach: Wyraźna czekolada, kakao, trochę starego wina, rodzynki, prażone orzechy, wyraźna beczka. Całość jest wyraźna, przyjemna lecz równocześnie niezbyt skomplikowana

Smak: Wyraźne nuty kakao, czekolady oraz suszone owoce, delikatna słodycz, wyraźna beczka oraz palony karmel. Całość pozostawia wyraźny alkoholowy posmak w przełyku. Po dodaniu lodu pojawiają się nuty tytoniowe które również w drinku z colą pozostają wyczuwalne

Hmm... Trudno jest mi ten rum ocenić - z jednej strony jest ładna, solidna oraz zakorkowana butelka, dobra historia, ciekawe pochodzenie (trudno o meksykański rum w europie) oraz spora doza czekoladowości i fajne nuty winne. Z drugiej rum nie jest skomplikowany, raczej pozostawia wrażenia alkoholowe a użyty do stworzenia drinków nie pozostawia fajnych wrażeń które uzasadniałyby jego cenę (około 120pln). Mnie ten rum jednak kupuje - pewnie dlatego iż nie jest on oczywisty oraz ma zupełnie innych charakter niż liderzy rynku.

Ocena: 72/100

Posted 6 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Ve vůni příjemný, v chutí je cítit lihovost v kombinací sladkosti, 15 příjemnější

Posted at 2to2 bar 8 months ago by Carterofshadows from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

I love bottle and is little bit sweet and full of taste

Posted 8 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Quite heavy on caramel, herbs, vanilla, sandalwood and spiced milk tea. Roasted red apple with edgy creaminess and some salty tang. Acceptable aroma but appeared subdue and heavy and sluggish. (79/16)

P- Dried fruits, lemon custard, plummy and buttery. More tart fruits that stays with cloudy nuance. (82/17)

F- Short-medium, spices, much like a solera, gingery sweet. (80/17)

B/B- 81/17. Was a solera indeed after a 2nd look on the retro-styled label, common trick for rum labeling, large numeric font with tiny words....

Weighted Rate- 67pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted 10 months ago by Stéphane from Canada with 8 ratings

Bon goût rhum gras et d'une belle couleur a essayer.

Posted 11 months ago by cjames from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Don't associate Mexico with rum but a good job with this one maybe more of a mixer there is a Ron anejo reserva 22 I like the sound of and maybe a better choice.

Posted about 1 year ago by Diogenes the Rumantic from AF with 37 ratings

Un rhum qui manque de complexité et qui fait ressortir des arômes qui font tout sauf naturel.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

It's a strange taste like add the raisins in wine.
But I think it is not as bad as can't drink it.

Posted about 1 year ago by fxb from France with 5 ratings

Rhum fort en bouche. Note prononcée de fruit sec et de caramel avec un soupçon de vanille.