Posting your rating...
El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year rum

Rate El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


92 El Ron Prohibido Habanero 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

With the word "Habanero" on the bottle you get certain expectations. There is a spicy taste to this rum, but nothing like the word suggests.

Nose: Prunes and brown sugar
Taste: It is very sweet with a hint of prunes and suddenly there is a odd spicy taste, that I can´t really describe.
Overall: This was just disappointing. Had high hopes for this one, but it really lacks a clear flavour profile.

Posted about 4 years ago by Tommy from Netherlands with 12 ratings

The smell is decent, even nice I must say.
Then the taste in your moth follows kind of what you just smelled, but not quite. The same things you smelled are there, but not as good, some different stuff is also there, but also not that great. Still, until this point it is not a bad taste you get, but then suddenly it goes numb and there is nothing, just nothing.
What was that? You take another sip and the same patron repeats itself; barely a aftertaste in your mouth (wich always is a hugh factor for my drinking experience).

Because of that it falls down to a less than medium rum.

O, and the bottle; I dislike it very much...

Posted about 4 years ago by Jesper Vejle Krog from Denmark with 66 ratings

The bottle looks really nice, and it has a Story to tell. The rum itself Taste quite good, Notting fancy, sweet with a hint of Oak and Camilla and Perhaps a bit of tobacco.

Posted about 4 years ago by Fab5601 from France with 11 ratings

Un rhum qui m'a intrigué de par sa couleur assez sombre, qui me semblait de ce fait assez sucré en bouche mais après un achat et de ce fait u'e dégustation il n'est pas sucré en goût, il en ressort, de mon point de vue gustatif des notes de chocolat, d'épices et de vanilles... Surprenant en bouche mais aussi par son histoire, ce rhum mexicain mérite le détour mais n'est pas pour moi un incontournable à posséder...

Posted about 4 years ago by Thomas Hartwig from Germany with 13 ratings

Nice one and has for me a slight hint of tequila flavour.

Posted about 4 years ago by michael greenman from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

a nice smooth first taste as you sip, no fierceness on the palate or throat, and a gentle caramel taste, slightly fruity.
the bottle was a factor i admit, so design kudos for that, but for £28 plus there are nicer aged rums out there

Posted over 4 years ago by Jannick from Denmark with 15 ratings

Fin rom, til pengene. Har en god eftersmag uden at blive for sød.

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Schou from Denmark with 21 ratings

Dette er en speciel rom. Længe siden jeg har smagt den, men husker den som god.

Posted over 4 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Color:dark,tawny
Nose:Porto wine,vanilla,
Body:wine,grapes,warming,
Tail:extreme short,very decent

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Mortensen from Denmark with 3 ratings

I'm glad I only tasted this one and didn't bought the bottle. Not much positive to say here, a terrible rum in my book

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

What a surprise ... And a bad one
This is how you see Marketing can be efficient. Bought this one because of its intriguing label.

Powerful fruity and spicy nose. Dominated by fruit cake, candied and dried fruits (orange. Lemon) and walnut. Reminds me of a badly made port wine or Vin de Noix (red wine + walnut + sugar).

Sweet round attack with orange and walnut flavors. Medium high sweetness. Not balanced at all with strong warm alcohol mouth. Very sweet. Not worth it (30 usd)

Posted over 4 years ago by TIE-BONE from Germany with 33 ratings

From Mexico with a good colour but a strong taste of alcohol. After same time in the glass the notes of fruit and chocolate come out. Not my favourite but still a good straight drink.

Posted over 4 years ago by Claus Kaplov from Denmark with 6 ratings

Den duftede dårligt, synes jeg. Smagen var udefinerbar. Sprit. Vin. Hmm... Duft igen. Anderledes nu. Smagen er også anderledes nu, men svær at definere. Jeg må smage mere før jeg kan afgøre om den er noget værd...

Posted over 4 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

El Ron Prohibido 12-Year er bestemt ikke nogen stor rom. Duften er lidt som brændt karamel, i smagen er det igen karamel (dog ikke brændt) der sammen med vanilje er gennemtrængende.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ole Bodenhoff from Denmark with 46 ratings

Denne rom er god. En tydelig duft af rødvin. Lækker sød smag. Og næsten ingen smag af sprit. En klar anbefaling værdig, og til en meget fornuftig pris.

Posted over 4 years ago by Severin from France with 11 ratings

Certainement pas un rhum fait dans les règles de l'art, malgré ça, je trouve le nez agréable et en bouche je le trouve pas mal non plus.
Si on cherche un super rhum, faut y mettre le prix, là pour 30 ou 40€ c'est pas plus mal qu'un autre.

Posted over 4 years ago by Aaron from Belgium with 5 ratings

Saw this bottle at around 30€ in the store and decided to give it a go, not knowing anything about it, except for the fact that it's aged. After the first sip I thought I might as well throw the whole bottle in the sink, tasted absolutely disgusting. However, at 30€, that didn't seem like my best idea ever, so I gave it another chance after 10-15 minutes hoping that it would taste better. It did. And the next few times I had this rum, I actually appreciated it. Not my favourtie by any means, but far less afwul than my first impression.

Posted over 4 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Som samler, måtte jeg bare eje denne rom! Og er en af dem som skal smages også :) Kan godt lide en rom med baggrund som denne her har.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This rum have a very strange and old bottle look and people seeing it would like to feel and touch it. The taste is not that sweet but more dry and bitter!

Posted over 5 years ago by Andreas Woelk from Germany with 65 ratings

Dieser rum ist nicht jedermanns Geschmack.

Das Aroma aud feineren und süßlichen Tönen, die von einem deutlichen Holzbeiklang und der süße von Vanille. Sowie Noten von Kaffee und im Nachklang Dörrobst.

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

Cool bottle. Nice color. But there it stops.. The taste is weak to awfull.. And the finish is close to nothing. But i dont regret buying it.