Posting your rating...
Real McCoy 12-Year rum

Real McCoy 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.4/10 (104 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
11
32
42
14
1

Rate Real McCoy 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


104 Real McCoy 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I love the aroma in the bottle. Has a slight caramel aroma. Nice. Tasting it reveals a smoothness with some spiciness. Also oak flavor (not surprising for a rum aged 12 years). Not overly sweet although there is a bit of it noticeable right before the warmth of the rum takes over. As it fades the caramel and vanilla becomes more apparent. Excellent sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

Another great bottle from the island of real rum.This one get straight to the point and is a little more heavily bodied then you usual Barbadian. My nose fills with notes of leather, oak, coconut and pepper. In the mouth I pick up a dark character with notes of oak, leather, tobacco, orange-peel and spices. Despite the manly character, it's a pleasingly refined rum that's well executed. The taste and color feels influenced by the barrel, but it never goes overboard. Thumbs up.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

At first the name was a bit of a turn-off. I thought it was a cliche marketing trick of using a recognizable name with positive connotations but no relation to the actually product. I was pleased to learn that the name comes from a 1920s prohibition-era rum runner named Bill McCoy, who never watered-down or adulterated the rum he was selling, thus earning a reputation for himself. They called his spirits "the real McCoy." (The phrase pre-dates Bill, and there is a good amount of marketing storytelling here as there is no direct link between him and the current production, but it's nice to know there's a real story all the same.)

This is a great 12-year-old Bajan rum with no added sugar. Along with the other offerings from Foursquare and Mt. Gay, this makes for a fantastic "benchmark" sipping rum, with notes of oak and dry caramel. Took a few minutes to open up, but once it did, it was very nice, indeed. I think it has quite a bit more character than the NAS MGXO, and is a little dryer than RL Seale's Finest. This is probably also the smoothest of the bunch. To me, RM12 competes with Foursquare's cask series, just without the level of nuance/interest those ones offer.

Compared to the already-excellent Real McCoy 5-year, the taste is very similar, making it difficult to justify the extra expense of the 12. The 12-year is slightly smoother, and has a richer nose of brown/demerara sugar. The 12 is clearly a more refined/enjoyable sipping rum, so grab it if it's within your budget, but I was surprised at just how good the 5 was, so feel no regrets about trying that one instead if your budget's tighter (or if you want an exceptional mixer).

8++

I would love to do a side-by-side tasting with this, Doorly's 12-year (finished in ex-Sherry casks) and RL Seale's Finest—the latter two appearing to be significantly better values from the same distillery. But you can't really go wrong with any of these :)

(PS, I don't understand how anyone could rate this less than a 6, but apparently some have very different standards than the site's rating suggestions. [Also, wow, this rum must have excellent distribution in Denmark!] At the time of this review, the rating without these peculiar outliers would be 8.04, rather than 7.58.)

Update: 8+, 8 :)

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by 5691Aa (PREMIUM) from United States with 29 ratings

This is a well made rum. Lovely vanilla aroma. At 1st opening, the bourbon oak on the palate is quite pronounced. By 2nd round it mellows to the pleasant oakey notes you get from a fine Barbados rum. It's only sin is the fact it is distilled at Four Square. The natural thought is to compare to other Four Square rums. While this is a fine rum, it is plain vanilla relative to the others. If made at another distillery I'd give it 2 more stars.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 6 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 83 ratings

Absolutely one of the best out of my 50+ sorts I've tried. Likely the first one from a single barrel.
Easy on nose, smooth, delicious, yota of natural sweetness, long aftertaste, everything is perfect in there.
Everything else - minus 1
;)
The Real McCoy - 10+1

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

I was on the fence about trying this one after reading the reviews, but finally decided to give it a try. If I had to rate it right out of the bottle it would be lower. I inadvertently let this one sit in the glass for 30 minutes while I was distracted. When I got around to trying it I was pleasantly surprised. Not to overbearing or sweet and very smooth. A nice sipper. Tried another glass without the wait and it was good but not quite like the first. Give it a try but let it sit a while.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by jweaks (PREMIUM) from United States with 8 ratings

This really good, smooth rum. Not a mixer, drink it neat or with a cube of ice.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

Traditional Bajan rum. Moderately rich and easy to drink.
It has nice caramel, oak, oily nuts, and coconuts flavor.
Everyone, should get this.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Gun_Collector from United States with 4 ratings

Saw this at my VA ABC Store (don’t get me started on the horror of a State rum liquor monopoly). Fantastic selection for the evening. The color is vibrant. Pleasant aroma. Mild and smooth taste. It is the perfect Friday night companion after a long work week. Kick of the shoes, stoke the fireplace and relax.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 37 ratings

Found this on sale for about $40. The Probitas white was good, and Foursquare is highly rated. It was pretty good, though I prefer some other rums at this price. Nice nose. Tastes alright. Was expecting a bit more.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jesper Frandsen from Denmark with 50 ratings

Lækker Rom uden sukker - god eftersmag af valinile og tobak