Posting your rating...
Real McCoy 12-Year rum

Real McCoy 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.4/10
117 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
12
34
48
16
1

Rate Real McCoy 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

117 Real McCoy 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Ein schöner Rum ohne Zusätze.
Fruchtige Noten im Anklang gut eingebautes rauchiges Holz und eine dezente Süsse.
Dazu die tolle Geschichte vom Captain Bill McCoy.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

Another great bottle from the island of real rum.This one get straight to the point and is a little more heavily bodied then you usual Barbadian. My nose fills with notes of leather, oak, coconut and pepper. In the mouth I pick up a dark character with notes of oak, leather, tobacco, orange-peel and spices. Despite the manly character, it's a pleasingly refined rum that's well executed. The taste and color feels influenced by the barrel, but it never goes overboard. Thumbs up.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

At first the name was a bit of a turn-off. I thought it was a cliche marketing trick of using a recognizable name with positive connotations but no relation to the actually product. I was pleased to learn that the name comes from a 1920s prohibition-era rum runner named Bill McCoy, who never watered-down or adulterated the rum he was selling, thus earning a reputation for himself. They called his spirits "the real McCoy." (The phrase pre-dates Bill, and there is a good amount of marketing storytelling here as there is no direct link between him and the current production, but it's nice to know there's a real story all the same.)

This is a great 12-year-old Bajan rum with no added sugar. Along with the other offerings from Foursquare and Mt. Gay, this makes for a fantastic "benchmark" sipping rum, with notes of oak and dry caramel. Took a few minutes to open up, but once it did, it was very nice, indeed. I think it has quite a bit more character than the NAS MGXO, and is a little dryer than RL Seale's Finest. This is probably also the smoothest of the bunch. To me, RM12 competes with Foursquare's cask series, just without the level of nuance/interest those ones offer.

Compared to the already-excellent Real McCoy 5-year, the taste is very similar, making it difficult to justify the extra expense of the 12. The 12-year is slightly smoother, and has a richer nose of brown/demerara sugar. The 12 is clearly a more refined/enjoyable sipping rum, so grab it if it's within your budget, but I was surprised at just how good the 5 was, so feel no regrets about trying that one instead if your budget's tighter (or if you want an exceptional mixer).

8++

I would love to do a side-by-side tasting with this, Doorly's 12-year (finished in ex-Sherry casks) and RL Seale's Finest—the latter two appearing to be significantly better values from the same distillery. But you can't really go wrong with any of these :)

(PS, I don't understand how anyone could rate this less than a 6, but apparently some have very different standards than the site's rating suggestions. [Also, wow, this rum must have excellent distribution in Denmark!] At the time of this review, the rating without these peculiar outliers would be 8.04, rather than 7.58.)

Update: 8+, 8 :)

Small fb img 1552377483233

Posted 5 months ago by TROY from Canada with 15 ratings

I was really happy with this 12 year McCoy. Brought a smokiness I haven't experienced much. Excellent bottle for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by 5691Aa from United States with 30 ratings

This is a well made rum. Lovely vanilla aroma. At 1st opening, the bourbon oak on the palate is quite pronounced. By 2nd round it mellows to the pleasant oakey notes you get from a fine Barbados rum. It's only sin is the fact it is distilled at Four Square. The natural thought is to compare to other Four Square rums. While this is a fine rum, it is plain vanilla relative to the others. If made at another distillery I'd give it 2 more stars.

Small img 20201027 192004

Posted 12 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 106 ratings

Absolutely one of the best out of my 50+ sorts I've tried. Likely the first one from a single barrel.
Easy on nose, smooth, delicious, yota of natural sweetness, long aftertaste, everything is perfect in there.

The Real McCoy - 10+1+1!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Michael N from United States with 73 ratings

I was on the fence about trying this one after reading the reviews, but finally decided to give it a try. If I had to rate it right out of the bottle it would be lower. I inadvertently let this one sit in the glass for 30 minutes while I was distracted. When I got around to trying it I was pleasantly surprised. Not to overbearing or sweet and very smooth. A nice sipper. Tried another glass without the wait and it was good but not quite like the first. Give it a try but let it sit a while.

Ffffff

Posted 4 days ago by BoD from Canada with 7 ratings

This rum has a very nice flavour, slightly smokey, yet really smooth. Has to be one of my top 5 for sure.

Small rr

Posted 2 months ago by KINhuna from United States with 11 ratings

When I drinks whiskey, I drinks whiskey. When I drink rum, I drink rum. Who slipped me a bourbon.

Sorry. Many pallets I respect enjoy this one. Just not my cup of Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by rhodes from Canada with 17 ratings

Great flavour, picked this up since I couldn't find any Four Square. Good rum with lots of complex flavour.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by mcnamard from United States with 19 ratings

Very smooth taste, without anything that stands out above the rest. True rum flavor, and not particularly aromatic - light vanilla and rum scent. Flavor profile is similar - rum, not overly cloying or sweet, hints of age and vanilla. Eminently sippable.