Posting your rating...
Real McCoy 3-Year rum

Real McCoy 3-Year

Barbados | Light

5.7/10 (21 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
3
5
5
2
1

Rate Real McCoy 3-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


21 Real McCoy 3-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

I've been trying this for several weeks, and I just can't put it up there with my faves. I have to say there are many others of like, or better, tastes that are less expensive. Not much sweetness at all. For a sipper, I'm going to choose something golden or dark. This can mix well, but save a few dollars and choose another. If you want to focus on rums that have no additives, give it try, but even then . . .

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Reading some of these reviews, I really gotta wonder. I get no harsh initial burn, no drain cleaner taste, no hot finish - just a solid white rum with enough flavor (mostly unripe banana and coconut ) to make interesting mixed drinks but which is not unpleasant to sip. Maybe someone let their bottle sit in the sun too long? (Very bad for alcohol).

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

A relatively neutral nose with subtle unripe fruits like pineapple and banana. Perhaps a little hint of coconut in there as well. The palate is light, delicious and refined with a hint of the fruity notes mentioned above. Leans towards the dry side but not in a tannic way. Great refined white, is you need something that doesn't stand out to much in your cocktail. Can be had neat as well.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Djgross144 from United States with 36 ratings

Foursquare has an excellent reputation. Their Probitas I rated higher than this one-which is more expensive and higher proof. Thought I would like this better. Some alcohol burn. Very subtle vanilla flavor. Fine as a mixer, but not a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 65 ratings

No alcohol burn. A great light body. notes of coconut with a light oak after taste. A good clean mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

The rum has a light aroma of fruit and subtle cane. Alcohol is smooth in the nose. The flavor straight up is a bit underwhelming. Nothing bad here just a bit light and one dimensional. Fruity character and warming alcohol. Not hot in my book. Smooth but not a lot of depth to my palate. Nice dry finish.
As a mixer it really does a nice job. Good flavor comes through in more simple cocktails calling for a lightly aged dry rum. I like this or the Flor de Cana 4 extra seco in lighter cocktails like daiquiri, Barbados rum punch, El Presidente and other similar drinks. A bit more character than a light Cuban style rum. A solid rum to have on the shelf and fairly priced.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Soft to the nose and not my idea of a sipper but like the way it mixed. Soft to the tounge but added to both coke and citrus. Have not blended it yet just tried at the bar but will probably add to my bar.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Tikiducks from United States with 54 ratings

This is a lot hotter then the 5 year. There is some sweetness to it. Makes a good daiquiri.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

It's a black and it's not bad, but nothing special. Another mixer for your well.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

Toasted coconut, fresh fruit, crisp clean white with much more flavor than the most popular over-distilled neutral spirits that take up most of the white rum shelf space.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

To be fair, I'm biased. I'm not the biggest fan of white rum.

That said, I take no pleasure whatsoever in drinking this without a mixer. Ting makes it better.