Posting your rating...
Santos Dumont XO rum

Rate Santos Dumont XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


63 Santos Dumont XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by John Marius from Norway with 17 ratings

En meget god rom. Smaker søtt og med mye preg av vanilje. Er ikke noe fan av søtt, men med denne gjør jeg lett et unntak.

Posted over 2 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Krásna fľaša, ktorá vám napovie číslo sudu a fľaškovania. Pre mňa je to veľké prekvapenie, nakoľko som túto značku, taktiež pána na etikete, poriadne nepoznal. Teraz mi je to už jasné, priekopník v lietaní, na ktorého počesť bol tento rum vyrobený a pomenovaný.

Fľaša: pre mňa ide o jednu z najkrajších fliaš (podobná ako A.H. Riise Celebration), aj keď, priznám sa, inklinujem skôr ku "pirátskemu" vzoru fliaš ako má Pyrat Rum XO, resp. Diplomatico. Krásne dotvarovaná zátka fľaše. Čo ma však prekvapilo, priznám sa veľmi nepríjemne, je etiketa, ktorá je len nalepená ale to je detail krásy.

Vôňa: krásna sladká vôňa pripomínajúca mi macerované hrozienka, med a jemne aj vanilku. Nepreráža žiadny lieh, či akákoľvek alkoholová stopa.

Chuť: primerane sladká, trocha exotického ovocia, necítim alkohol, nepáli len jemne pohladí hrdlo. Záver je príjemný stredne trvajúci. Nemám výhrady

Záver: príjemné prekvapenie, už o tejto značke mám dostatok informácií, za mňa je to veľmi kvalitný rum s kvalitným obsahom. Aby som nezabudol, aj balenie, v ktorom sa nachádza fľaša je decentná. Túto fľašu si musím strážiť, pretože sa príjemne míňa.

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

After first smell and taste I simply fell in love. Rich in taste but very smooth and pure. Fantasy, recommendable even for those who are not so into rums.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Príjemne hrejivý rum zlato jantárovej farby. Vo vôni cítiť sladké drievko, vanilku, jemne ovocné tóny. Chuť je stredne sladká, kopírujúca aromatické vnemy. Záver je hladký, dlhší a hrejivý so stopami po orieškoch. Ako celok veľmi nápadne pripomína rumové pralinky...=) Zaujímavý kúsok.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Gut gemachter Rum mit eigenem Charakter.
Düfte von Bananenschale, Leder und Trockenfrüchten.
Sanfter Auftritt im Gaumen mit zarten Holznoten, Karamell und Vanille.
Im Ausklang schwingt die ganze Komposition lange mit.
Für Alle die mal etwas Anderes wollen.

Well done rum with its own character.
Fragrances of banana peel, leather and dried fruit.
Smooth appearance on the palate with delicate wood notes, caramel and vanilla.
In the end, the whole composition resonates for a long time.
For all who want something else.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

Smooth, rich and warm. Overcooked fruits and honey flavour. Very oily and buttery feel in mouth. Something strange in flavour profile make it unique. Mushrooms or human musk, but in good way. Expensive bottle.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Santos Dumont XO ma veľmi príjemne prekvapil. Veľmi hladký,až zamatovy. Cítil som sladkosť sliviek, višní,krásne oblu vyváženú chuť. Dlhší záver umocnený až medovym charakterom. Výborná voľba pre milovníkov sladšich rumov

Posted 6 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

Opened up this rum, tasted it, found it to be strange and overly sweet, googled it, to my horror the name that haunts me in my dreams appeared... A.H. Riise...

Nose: Banana, coconut, perfume, stonefruits and honey
Taste: Some funky notes with fermented fruits and vanilla washed away quickly by a rush of sugar
Overall: This has some promising notes... for a millisecond, then it is completely washed away by a rush of sugar that takes over everything. Not good.

Posted 6 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Sehr Süss
In der Nase viel Frucht
Im Mund schon fast wie ein Kräuterlikör, sehr würzig und süss.
Für mich mit kaum einem Rum den ich kenne vergleichbar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 114 ratings

Det er ligeså sødt som en vis Riise rom (sirup) føj!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed Santos Dumont XO with my buddies while vacationing in Germany. This is very close to Arcane Extraroma from Mauritius. Santos Dumont XO hails from Brazil with a super presentable bottle and a sturdy black box. Color of the rum is mild dark, surpringly light to be frank. Banana and marzipan are the strongest flavors to the nose and palate. Burn is nearly not as bad as on the Arcane Extraroma, hence 2 points more on the score.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Brazilian rum? Well yes. And not too bad, either. Toffee and coffee in the nose. More coffee than toffee. On the tongue, it is the other way round. The finish a bit acid, but that may be due to the fact, that I just opened the bottle. Not too bad, all in all; and I expected worse from brazilian rum. But this definitely is no cachaça...

Posted over 4 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Nose:strong vanilla,cherry, fruity,sweet
Taste:raisin,caramel,cherry, little bit of smoked aroma, orange
Tail:short lasting,alcohol,vanilla,cherry
Bottle:Beautiful,masterpiece, but seems like a copy of Millonario XO

For me this one is too fruity and too sweet, I would compare it to lighter Don Papa.
Rum, with special aroma, which makes it unique!

Posted over 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Brazílie
Aroma: Famózní vůně od prvního přičichnutí ke korku po otevření lahve. Nádherně uhlazená, delikátně harmonická vůně, kde je stále co objevovat. Cedr, med, včelí plástve. Zároveň i větrová, sladká mátovost, sladké dřevo, kokos. Jedna z nejlepších rumových vůní, nemůžu se jí nabažit. (96 b)
Chuť: Chuť je stejně uhlazená, jako vůně. Přišla mi proměnlivá. Sladkost, kořenitost, suchost a větrovost umně smíchané dohromady, nic nevyčnívá, vše ladí. Cítím i závan "bonbónů" z Arcane 12yo. Střední sladkost je vyvážená větrovostí, která ji zmírňuje a odlehčuje. Když budu přísný, s ohledem na domácí druhou přechutnávku v přímém porovnání s Abuelo 12yo a Presidente Marti 19, by mohla být chuť plnější a výraznější. (92 b)
Body: 94
Shrnutí: Na ochutnávce s josém to byla suverénně nejlepší lahev ze všech pěti okoštovaných. Doma se proti Presidente Marti ukázaly drobné "slabiny" v chuti, i s Abuelem pak svedl Brazilec těsný souboj. Jo, tohle mě oslovilo natolik, že jsem koupil celou lahev. Na Brazílii hodně pěkné překvapení, první rum, co jsem z ní ochutnal a hned moc zaujal. Asi stylově nejpodobnější je mu právě srovnávaný Abuelo 12yo, takže hádám, že jeho příznivci by mohli ocenit i Santos Dumont XO.

Posted 22 days ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 33 ratings

Where is the rum in this? Tastes like a designed and fabricated booze made from neutral alcohol full of sugar and what, the latest offerings from SABIC? I hate these kind of products and the way they are put in the market as if you get something very special: it is just a hoax!

After two sips I threw out the rest of the content in my glass as I guess the alcohol is the least dangerous ingredient here. I cannot go lower than a '1' so hence my high rating.

Posted about 2 months ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

Taste 8.2/10. Something like A. H. Riise Non Plus Ultra Very Rare, even you can say this is not rum but tastes really good as a drink. Compared to A. H. Riise Non Plus Ultra is little less sweet & slightly more fruity, little less toffee, pleasant and not dry oak & leave at the end a touch of a tropical taste something like pineapple with an interesting mysterious touch of acid burn but this burn dosent come from alcohol is different... Nice rum & surprise buttery-thick! good quality-aged & sweetness is enough. It is same good with Non Plus Ultra. Even it is so smooth! Has something "strange" in flavour profile like pharmaceutical but in good way... Many happening here!

Posted 3 months ago by Paul from France with 6 ratings

Goûté un soir en rentrant du boulot. C'est super bien passé. J'aime bien.

Posted 5 months ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 65 ratings

The has a nice deep taste profile of ambery honey notes.

Posted 5 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

The rum tastes and smells like caramel. Unfortunately I associated it to cough syrup so I won’t give it a second chance. Too sweet for me.

Posted 5 months ago by Henrik Hansen from Denmark with 56 ratings

This does not tast natural. It tast like the has an unnatural amount of sugar in it.

Posted 6 months ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

if you like sweet rum with caramel, you will not be dissaponted.

Posted 6 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 104 ratings

There are 3 typical styles to distinguish rum: French, English and Spanish. This rum from Brazil matches to none of them, because they use both sugar cane juice and molasses at the same time. Very interesting.
Nose: fruity, some hints of orange maybe
Palate: also pretty fruity and sweet. Warm and long lasting with a nice twist of something sharp, like a hint of chili maybe.

Would like to try some more sips of this one, but it was only a sample 😕 : Cal 2019, day 5.

Posted 6 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

En blanding av kaffe og karamell i lukten og en god og lang ettersmak. God Rom til en billig penge.

Posted 6 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 183 ratings

God duft af lidt banan og kokos. Blød smag og moden frugt, som har en god balance. Eftersmagen forsvinder måske lidt hurtigt, men alt i alt en god oplevelse. Desværre lidt dyr (400 dkr), 250 havde været en pris, der passede. En positiv oplevelse (5. December 2019 i 1423)

Posted 6 months ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This was my first foray in rum from Brazil (no, I'm not counting Cachaca) so I didn't know what to expect. All in I was pleasantly surprised. The nose is very strong of vanilla and coffee. The first taste is all bananas and honey and is definitely sweet. I can't find any information whether sugar was added but my guess is yes since it's so sweet. Still, not a bad sipper if your tastes go more to the sweet side.