Posting your rating...
The Duppy Share Caribbean rum
The Duppy Share Caribbean rum

The Duppy Share Caribbean

Caribbean | Aged

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum is produced using a combination of 3-year Jamaican and 5-year Barbados rums. Both are aged in bourbon barrels and brought to London for bottling.

The name 'Duppy Share' comes from Caribbean folklore where the dark spirit 'duppies' take their share of rum from distilleries, similar to the traditional term 'angel’s share' when rum is lost due to evaporation during the aging process.

6.6/10 (63 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
1
9
16
18
12
1
3

Rate The Duppy Share Caribbean

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


63 The Duppy Share Caribbean ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

E7ac1fab3044bb9853941a494a8ede97.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Often the marketing claims are not backed up with a good product. Exactly the opposite is true here. Flavourful Rums sourced from credible producers makes this a great Rum at a sensible price.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 232 ratings

Funny how some people mistake uncoated real rum as "artificial". No doubt the nose gives of some of the classic Jamaican funk, which is very aromatic, fruity and slightly fermented. Combined with the more subtle, but also fruity and lightly oaky barbadian profile, it all starts to get very interesting. I love the nose. It's bustling with exotic notes of pineapple, banana, mango and peaches. It's slightly sweet with an underlying woody spiciness. The taste delivers with a lightly bodied, elegant and smoothe rum that retains an interesting and very flavourful profile with subtle fruity notes, descretely woody spiciness and a little hint of the fermented Jamaican funk. The Jamaican/barbadian combination works supremly in my book. At this price it's a real steal for a very sippable rum.

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 418 ratings

In the whisky world, the angels take their share of whisky from the casks maturing it. In the Caribbean, it's the mischievous Duppy spirits that travel from island to island, taking their share of rum from the casks. This legend is where the stylish Duppy Share Caribbean Rum takes its name. It's made from a blend of bourbon-barrel-matured 5 year old rum from Barbados and 3 year old rum from Jamaica. A bright, bold and altogether very handsome rum.
Nose: Green banana, cinnamon, slightly oily, caramel.

Palate: Sultana and raisin, followed by vanilla and a hint of brine.

Finish: Lasting brown sugar, ginger and fresh lime.

9354c42e64180c5b4f8d1b44706ebe13.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

This is one of 24 rums "Drinks by the Dram" given to me as a present.

Never heard of this, and honestly the name didn't impress me much. So, "never judge a book"...and all that.

So, on to the review. Light color with a pleasant slightly spicy nose. ( I get that "funk" others have mentioned, but not unpleasant). First sip-big mouth feel, cinammon and other spices, a lot of alcohol burn and finish. I don't love this as a stand alone sipper, but suspect it would be terrific with some tonic as it has tons of body and flavor. Not overly sweet. I'd give it a 6.5 if I could, but will settle on a 7.

1cbdc6301aa8f6d82116f34d4c5f2f22.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 73 ratings

The bottle looks fun, with an enticing story on the label but the contents disappoint. The blend just doesn't work. It smells like rum flavour liqueur and the taste is forgettable. Mix it to enjoy but neat it's nothing special unfortunately.

C5fdd21f48ff736f87ff9dc13207b7e5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

This is not a pleasant drink to drink straight, paid £26 and can not justify the price. Havana club no 7 is £20 and 10 times the drink this is

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2590 ratings

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum has a pretty decent bottle and label design, but what's inside really matters. The 3y portion of the Jamaican funk has not melted into the 5y portion of the Barbados flavors, so you get artificial vanilla and good old genuine glue for your taste buds.

Ce00b06f3bbb8438785e7830f76c513c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

This was bought locally in UK and the bottle promised a lot. Unfortunately nowhere near a sipping run for me (admittedly not sure it's meant to be a sipping rum but was very expensive if it was). As 007 would say... this is "indifferently blended" !! (Ok that was a line about a brandy but you get my point!).

1cc010dfef23126ff5d5093783913f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

It's not great, certainly wouldn't recommend it straight and almost always overpriced due to popularity that seems to be gained with a big marketing budget rather than being a good product.

Ac192dd816a4664a5b0b90951c9cba0c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by James from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

If I'm honest I was drawn to the bottle, but this has turned out to be very pleasent. Smooth enough to drink on it own but enough flavour (just) to have with a mixer (their recommendation is bitter lemon which isn't my usual choice but works well).

45d63590dc5e5630f627e9ef94fecd69.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Red-Rum from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Colour- caramel with light honey flashes
Taste- slightly plastic taste at first and then buttery caramel
Uses- a ok mixer
It's not undrinkable but it just misses something if you want to make a nice cocktail it's fine, if a friend comes round and says oh runs ok but I always have it with coke then give it them, and they will be happy but I wouldn't choose to have it straight.