Posting your rating...
The Duppy Share Caribbean rum

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum is produced using a combination of 3-year Jamaican and 5-year Barbados rums. Both are aged in bourbon barrels and brought to London for bottling.

The name 'Duppy Share' comes from Caribbean folklore where the dark spirit 'duppies' take their share of rum from distilleries, similar to the traditional term 'angel’s share' when rum is lost due to evaporation during the aging process.

Rate The Duppy Share Caribbean

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


61 The Duppy Share Caribbean ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

2nd best rum I've ever tasted, very popular at Rumbq

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Funny how some people mistake uncoated real rum as "artificial". No doubt the nose gives of some of the classic Jamaican funk, which is very aromatic, fruity and slightly fermented. Combined with the more subtle, but also fruity and lightly oaky barbadian profile, it all starts to get very interesting. I love the nose. It's bustling with exotic notes of pineapple, banana, mango and peaches. It's slightly sweet with an underlying woody spiciness. The taste delivers with a lightly bodied, elegant and smoothe rum that retains an interesting and very flavourful profile with subtle fruity notes, descretely woody spiciness and a little hint of the fermented Jamaican funk. The Jamaican/barbadian combination works supremly in my book. At this price it's a real steal for a very sippable rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

In the whisky world, the angels take their share of whisky from the casks maturing it. In the Caribbean, it's the mischievous Duppy spirits that travel from island to island, taking their share of rum from the casks. This legend is where the stylish Duppy Share Caribbean Rum takes its name. It's made from a blend of bourbon-barrel-matured 5 year old rum from Barbados and 3 year old rum from Jamaica. A bright, bold and altogether very handsome rum.
Nose: Green banana, cinnamon, slightly oily, caramel.

Palate: Sultana and raisin, followed by vanilla and a hint of brine.

Finish: Lasting brown sugar, ginger and fresh lime.

Posted about 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

This is one of 24 rums "Drinks by the Dram" given to me as a present.

Never heard of this, and honestly the name didn't impress me much. So, "never judge a book"...and all that.

So, on to the review. Light color with a pleasant slightly spicy nose. ( I get that "funk" others have mentioned, but not unpleasant). First sip-big mouth feel, cinammon and other spices, a lot of alcohol burn and finish. I don't love this as a stand alone sipper, but suspect it would be terrific with some tonic as it has tons of body and flavor. Not overly sweet. I'd give it a 6.5 if I could, but will settle on a 7.

Posted about 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

The bottle looks fun, with an enticing story on the label but the contents disappoint. The blend just doesn't work. It smells like rum flavour liqueur and the taste is forgettable. Mix it to enjoy but neat it's nothing special unfortunately.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

This is not a pleasant drink to drink straight, paid £26 and can not justify the price. Havana club no 7 is £20 and 10 times the drink this is

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum has a pretty decent bottle and label design, but what's inside really matters. The 3y portion of the Jamaican funk has not melted into the 5y portion of the Barbados flavors, so you get artificial vanilla and good old genuine glue for your taste buds.

Posted over 2 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This was bought locally in UK and the bottle promised a lot. Unfortunately nowhere near a sipping run for me (admittedly not sure it's meant to be a sipping rum but was very expensive if it was). As 007 would say... this is "indifferently blended" !! (Ok that was a line about a brandy but you get my point!).

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

It's not great, certainly wouldn't recommend it straight and almost always overpriced due to popularity that seems to be gained with a big marketing budget rather than being a good product.

Posted over 3 years ago by James from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

If I'm honest I was drawn to the bottle, but this has turned out to be very pleasent. Smooth enough to drink on it own but enough flavour (just) to have with a mixer (their recommendation is bitter lemon which isn't my usual choice but works well).

Posted over 3 years ago by Red-Rum from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Colour- caramel with light honey flashes
Taste- slightly plastic taste at first and then buttery caramel
Uses- a ok mixer
It's not undrinkable but it just misses something if you want to make a nice cocktail it's fine, if a friend comes round and says oh runs ok but I always have it with coke then give it them, and they will be happy but I wouldn't choose to have it straight.

Posted 2 months ago by J12kef from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Fruity taste with a woody hint to it, smooth but interestingly very flavour full.

Posted 3 months ago by Mike from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Normal tasting, not sharp, not salty, easy. After 2 glasses it made the inside of my top lip tingle. At home 30 April 2017

Posted 3 months ago by Dave from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Quite nice and not too harsh just really average and okay

Posted 3 months ago by Rumhead202 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Delicious. Finally a great rum with a beautiful bottle. Looks great on my home bar and an amazing gift.

The liquid has a kick but softens nicely - holds up well in cocktails and with ginger. Nothing artificial or sugary which is a bonus.

Posted 4 months ago by The Jacken from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

The best of both. Lovely smooth buttery start to the taste on the front of the tongue, then followed by the kick of the pot still Jamaican. Two of the best distilleries in the world combined for a great rum. Tastes great in a daiquiri, over ice or with ginger beer and lime

Posted 4 months ago by Staggeo from United Kingdom with 1 rating

You're gonna find better rounded aged expressions from accross the Caribbean, but at its killer price and looking and feeling as great as it does, if I had to give one rum to someone which showed how great the category is it would be this one...

Posted 5 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

I tried this rum in a pub as i was quite surprised to see it stocked there as it's normally just the usual Captain Morgans, Kraken etc. The smell of this rum is very nice and the taste is fairly solid but unspectacular. It is a much safer choice than Kraken and tastes a bit better than most Captain Morgan rums too. Not a bad rum but not a massively memorable taste.

Posted 5 months ago by Jeff beales from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Yes the bottle and label is cool and it tastes nice but a bit overpriced and some cheaper rums are better

Posted 6 months ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

I went into this one with low expectations after reading some of the reviews on here. I was presently surprised to find that it's a very pleasant rum, both neat and with Coke. I haven't tried it with Ting or ginger beer yet, but don't anticipate problems.

Starts with a fairly fruity flavour, bananas, mangos and peaches, then ends with a rich brown sugar finish.

Good stuff. Perhaps not the best I've ever had, but in fairness I've had a fair number at this point and it's among my favourites.

Posted 6 months ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Prijemny karibsky rum. Trosku stiplavejsia chut po alkohole, ale nie agresivna.

Posted 7 months ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

This has been on my radar for a while and finally opened the bottle sat on my shelf last night.

Smooth caramel notes without being too strong, and decent mixed in with pepsi. Overall this one will fall into peoples preference and I find that this is a bit middling and has to fight a lot of good contenders at its price point. I managed to get a bottle on the cheap, but not sure I would choose it over some others at the price point.

Still, I would urge people to try it as this is still a very capable rum and isn't too bold to be amiss in a load of cocktails, so this is one to be considered.

Posted 7 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Aroma is nice with vanila and fruit tones.
Taste is weaker and bit burning but nice average long aftertaste.

Posted 7 months ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Smell and taste is light, with hints of wood and vanilla. Finish is lightly sweet and fruity with citruses notes

Posted 8 months ago by Rob from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

If you have guests round and you want to share your passion for rum, sadly if Duppy Share's in your collection it goes to the back of the cupboard. Perhaps that's overly harsh but it's not the greatest sipper; rather harsh and lacking in flavour profile. It works as a mixer and improves with plenty of ice melted in it (but is then thin and watery...). Have had worse rums but have certainly had better too!