Posting your rating...
The Duppy Share Caribbean rum

The Duppy Share Caribbean

Caribbean | Aged

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum is produced using a combination of 3-year Jamaican and 5-year Barbados rums. Both are aged in bourbon barrels and brought to London for bottling.

The name 'Duppy Share' comes from Caribbean folklore where the dark spirit 'duppies' take their share of rum from distilleries, similar to the traditional term 'angel’s share' when rum is lost due to evaporation during the aging process.

6.4/10
92 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
10
28
27
16
1
4

Rate The Duppy Share Caribbean

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

92 The Duppy Share Caribbean ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

this is a pleasant spicy "fruity" rum which is perfect with coke and a slice of lime.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kie humphreys from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

Nice flavour. Just what you expect it to be from a 40% rum. Smooth mostly full flavour and good aromas.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Smith G from United Kingdom with 1 rating

One of my top 3 rums - the use of the Barbadian and Jamaican rums makes this blend particularly versatile. The fire and punch of the Jamaican rum gives it that extra kick needed for ginger-based cocktails, while the Barbadian rum rounds the taste so it doesn't overpower other aromas and tastes. This roundness also makes it very enjoyable neat, or on the rocks. Would recommend this to both those starting out their foray into rum, and those with an already developed palate.

Small img 5797

Posted almost 3 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 223 ratings

Duppy share,
velmi zajímavý rum, který až velmi připomíná whisku.
Nejvíce bych přirovnal k jamesonu. - omlouvám se za až tak subjektivní přirovnání :)
Chuť velmi vyvážená a jemná.
Ale celkový dojem je lehce slabší.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Art from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

I really enjoyed this simply mixed with coke and while this did raise the sweetness of the drink it was very moreish. I tried some on its own and with a touch of ice melting into it, both providing a smooth and warming, if unexciting, experiences.

At £22 for what, for me, is essentially a mixing rum it is a tad expensive but I will be buying it for that express purpose again.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 66 ratings

Very, very mild, no depth of flavour at all, just a generic weak rum taste with very little aroma. It is not a bad rum, but way overpriced for what you get. There are Rums ( e.g. Plantation, Barcelo ), in the same price range that wipe the floor with it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieran from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Pretty new to all this, but so far this is one of my favourite tipples!

Nice mix of spices, delicious on ice or with a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Love the story behind the name. Blend is a bit more jamaica than barbados for my liking and a little bit harsh.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Picked it up in Tesco for about £28. It's ok, works with either ginger beer or coke but there's plenty better out there.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Po marketingovej stránke je The Duppy Share veľmi podarený produkt. Originálna fľaša s peknou etiketou, rum ktorý ma svoj príbeh. Je to zmes 3-ročného jamajského a 5-ročného rumu z Barbadosu, ktorá zrela v sude po bourbone. Po naliatí a chvíľke postátia v pohári, zacítite dubové drevo, pražené mandle, možno nejaké ovocné tóny. Chuť je podľa mňa nevyvážená, na začiatku (hneď po prvom kontakte s jazykom) je dominantná horkosť, ktorá trvá a trvá. Až po chvíľke sa dá urobiť lepšia analýza rumu, lebo tá horkosť na začiatku je skrátka priveľa. Chuťovo veľmi priemerný rum, navyše nedotiahnutý do najlepšieho konca za relatívne veľa peňazí (cca 40€). Neodporúčam piť samotný, iba ak ako súčasť miešaného drinku. Veľká škoda.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 132 ratings

I'd compare this to Doorly's XO in some ways, or maybe Doorly's 5 which I've not ad enough of as yet. They are not a million miles apart anyway. I'd say that this was sweeter than the Doorlys and that it had a more potent smell.

One of those rums, perhaps, that serves very well as a benchmark to bouce other rums off of, since it's good without being any more than that.