Posting your rating...
The Duppy Share Caribbean rum

The Duppy Share Caribbean

Caribbean | Aged

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum is produced using a combination of 3-year Jamaican and 5-year Barbados rums. Both are aged in bourbon barrels and brought to London for bottling.

The name 'Duppy Share' comes from Caribbean folklore where the dark spirit 'duppies' take their share of rum from distilleries, similar to the traditional term 'angel’s share' when rum is lost due to evaporation during the aging process.

6.4/10
82 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
10
23
24
14
1
4

Rate The Duppy Share Caribbean

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

82 The Duppy Share Caribbean ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

It's not great, certainly wouldn't recommend it straight and almost always overpriced due to popularity that seems to be gained with a big marketing budget rather than being a good product.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise. Not only did I have a bottle which I enjoyed but found a duppy share tent at winter wonderland in Hyde park which had created a lovely hot rum punch. I enjoyed best with ginger beer. And it didn't carry too much of a Jamaican kick which meant it was also enjoyable for me over ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

40% ABV. Mmmmm, an aged Jamaican and Bajan blend? Sounds delicious!

The Jamaican immediately delivers with light but unmistakable funk right off. The taste was just a bit too harsh for me to enjoy too much neat, but I imagine this would be stellar as a go-to mixer for cocktails. This plus a cute/clever name and appealing design makes it fairly attractive.

Compare it to Appleton Estate Signature/Reserve (also a pot/column blended rum).

Update 12/17: Very dry nose. Not unlike an agricole vieux. Grassy, briny. Similar palate. Slight hint of funk.

7+

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Simon M from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Decent, grassy, medium-sweet and enjoyable but needs a mixer. Great bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

A blend of 3yo Jamaica and 5yo Barbados. The 5yo Barbados comes from Foursquare, and one of my absolute favourite cheap and cheerful sippers is the 5yo from the Foursquare distillery that is the Doorly's 5yo. As such this blend, is far worse than Doorly's 5yo, Far worse. Yes the 3yo Jamaican gives it notes that are typical from Jamaica, but at 3yo, it is neither that smooth not that sophisticated, not that the Foursquare 5yo is overly sophisticated, but it is smooth and very easy on the palate. The Jamaican does pack a bit more punch flavour wise but it is a punch from young spirits. So all in all, I'll stick to the much easier drinking Doorly's 5yo.

And then there is the other "problem" - the price. Here in the UK, Duppy cost nearly 20% more than the Doorly's 5yo. While I can understand some of the increased costs, how can you justify that price differential when the blend uses a younger rum? Pretty bottles and nice packaging are all well and good, but it is what's inside the bottle that counts.

It's not a bad rum and I am happy enough to drink it straight up (I don't like mixed drinks), but it just doesn't work when you stack it against Doorly's 5yo.

EDIT - now that the bottle has been open for a month and a bit, it seems to have opened up, smoothed off a bit and is more enjoyable, particularly the Jamaican component. Maybe it has caught me in the right mood, but I am enjoying sipping this one tonight. Would I get another bottle, probably yes. Makes a nice change from other rums I have, even if it is expensive for what it is.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Woody Charisma from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

When I pulled out the cork you are hit with a string dusting aroma. Fantastic with ting.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Decent rum, but not outstanding. With coke it tastes like any other dark rum... but awesome bottle

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Shane Hadley from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Very nice Rum to sip in the evening with a nice coffee and cigar

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 37 ratings

If only it had tasted as good as the label looks. Very disappointed with this rum, only slightly better than the Aussie drain cleaner Bundaberg!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Young rums from Barbados and Jamaica have been blended to make this pretty fair juice. It presents with both an initial soft sweetness and a fiery follow-through. Fruit and spice abound. Although it's not a top-tier rum, it's perfectly adequate as a mid-level sipper and mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Glen from United States with 53 ratings

Tried it at RumFest the past couple of years - I must have been a bit deep both times because it's not nearly as good as I remember.

Smells fruity but if left in the glass the aroma gets overwhelmed by the odor of fusel oils.

Decent taste of raisins and other dried fruits.

Won't be reaching for it straight again any time soon. Think I'll try the punch recipe it came with, I think that was pretty good when I tried it last.