Posting your rating...
The Duppy Share Caribbean rum

The Duppy Share Caribbean

Caribbean | Aged

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum is produced using a combination of 3-year Jamaican and 5-year Barbados rums. Both are aged in bourbon barrels and brought to London for bottling.

The name 'Duppy Share' comes from Caribbean folklore where the dark spirit 'duppies' take their share of rum from distilleries, similar to the traditional term 'angel’s share' when rum is lost due to evaporation during the aging process.

6.4/10
86 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
10
25
24
16
1
4

Rate The Duppy Share Caribbean

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

86 The Duppy Share Caribbean ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Mixture 3yo and 5yo rums, bourbon barrels.

Color:caramel
Nose:extraordinary,artificial
Body:artificial,strong alcohol,no-way to drink it straight up
Bottle:pharmacy like,etiquette pop-art
Tail:short,alcohol

It's been a while I drunk such a "bad" rum...I could not finish even the one shot...Too artificial, too alcohol taste.

However I like the bottle and etiquette, reminds me pop-art style.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Love the story behind the name. Blend is a bit more jamaica than barbados for my liking and a little bit harsh.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Chris Brearley from United Kingdom with 26 ratings

Picked it up in Tesco for about £28. It's ok, works with either ginger beer or coke but there's plenty better out there.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Po marketingovej stránke je The Duppy Share veľmi podarený produkt. Originálna fľaša s peknou etiketou, rum ktorý ma svoj príbeh. Je to zmes 3-ročného jamajského a 5-ročného rumu z Barbadosu, ktorá zrela v sude po bourbone. Po naliatí a chvíľke postátia v pohári, zacítite dubové drevo, pražené mandle, možno nejaké ovocné tóny. Chuť je podľa mňa nevyvážená, na začiatku (hneď po prvom kontakte s jazykom) je dominantná horkosť, ktorá trvá a trvá. Až po chvíľke sa dá urobiť lepšia analýza rumu, lebo tá horkosť na začiatku je skrátka priveľa. Chuťovo veľmi priemerný rum, navyše nedotiahnutý do najlepšieho konca za relatívne veľa peňazí (cca 40€). Neodporúčam piť samotný, iba ak ako súčasť miešaného drinku. Veľká škoda.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I'd compare this to Doorly's XO in some ways, or maybe Doorly's 5 which I've not ad enough of as yet. They are not a million miles apart anyway. I'd say that this was sweeter than the Doorlys and that it had a more potent smell.

One of those rums, perhaps, that serves very well as a benchmark to bouce other rums off of, since it's good without being any more than that.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

This was a pleasant surprise. Not only did I have a bottle which I enjoyed but found a duppy share tent at winter wonderland in Hyde park which had created a lovely hot rum punch. I enjoyed best with ginger beer. And it didn't carry too much of a Jamaican kick which meant it was also enjoyable for me over ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

40% ABV. Mmmmm, an aged Jamaican and Bajan blend? Sounds delicious!

The Jamaican immediately delivers with light but unmistakable funk right off. The taste was just a bit too harsh for me to enjoy too much neat, but I imagine this would be stellar as a go-to mixer for cocktails. This plus a cute/clever name and appealing design makes it fairly attractive.

Compare it to Appleton Estate Signature/Reserve (also a pot/column blended rum).

Update 12/17: Very dry nose. Not unlike an agricole vieux. Grassy, briny. Similar palate. Slight hint of funk.

7+

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Simon M from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Decent, grassy, medium-sweet and enjoyable but needs a mixer. Great bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

A blend of 3yo Jamaica and 5yo Barbados. The 5yo Barbados comes from Foursquare, and one of my absolute favourite cheap and cheerful sippers is the 5yo from the Foursquare distillery that is the Doorly's 5yo. As such this blend, is far worse than Doorly's 5yo, Far worse. Yes the 3yo Jamaican gives it notes that are typical from Jamaica, but at 3yo, it is neither that smooth not that sophisticated, not that the Foursquare 5yo is overly sophisticated, but it is smooth and very easy on the palate. The Jamaican does pack a bit more punch flavour wise but it is a punch from young spirits. So all in all, I'll stick to the much easier drinking Doorly's 5yo.

And then there is the other "problem" - the price. Here in the UK, Duppy cost nearly 20% more than the Doorly's 5yo. While I can understand some of the increased costs, how can you justify that price differential when the blend uses a younger rum? Pretty bottles and nice packaging are all well and good, but it is what's inside the bottle that counts.

It's not a bad rum and I am happy enough to drink it straight up (I don't like mixed drinks), but it just doesn't work when you stack it against Doorly's 5yo.

EDIT - now that the bottle has been open for a month and a bit, it seems to have opened up, smoothed off a bit and is more enjoyable, particularly the Jamaican component. Maybe it has caught me in the right mood, but I am enjoying sipping this one tonight. Would I get another bottle, probably yes. Makes a nice change from other rums I have, even if it is expensive for what it is.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Woody Charisma from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

When I pulled out the cork you are hit with a string dusting aroma. Fantastic with ting.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Joseph Doherty from United Kingdom with 25 ratings

Decent rum, but not outstanding. With coke it tastes like any other dark rum... but awesome bottle