Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva rum

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva Rum is crafted from a blend of rums aged up to 8 years in former bourbon and whiskey barrels.

This rum is produced by the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic. Founded in 1888, to this day the company is still run by the Brugal family.

6.3/10
72 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
25
20
9
3
1

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

72 Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small profile 1

Posted over 8 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 112 ratings

Smooth rum, very little harsh bite. Possibly a hint of spice, but in not overly flavorful. Slightly rubbery and little aftertaste. In general, kind of a boring rum.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 5 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

This rum started out well enough with the familiar vanilla, oak, and caramel that I find common in Dominican runs. However once the initial taste passes there’s a distinct taste of what I call swamp water leading to an unpleasant finish. I am not sure that a mixer such as coke would cover it up. Not a sipping rum and a low end mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Felix from Austria with 14 ratings

I don't know why but I wasn't expecting this one to be tasty. I thought it will be a bit harsh and undefined. But after a first sip I was convinced by a solid aroma and mild aftertaste. Not the best in the world but a nice change and great addition to my usual collection. Good find!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 67 ratings

Good dry rum for mixing, little bit harsh for sipping.

Small 20201204 224041

Posted 5 months ago by Eisberg4499 from Germany with 13 ratings

It has a solid rum base but still dry anf smooth !

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

When nothing else available you can count on a Brugal as a decent mixer, or even for a pop or two. Usually I only drink on the out islands where nothing else is available.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by djk373 from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

Nice rum overall, not particularly sweet with a lighter overall taste going towards a smooth oak aroma. Better sipped straight

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by a.stuber67550 from France with 10 ratings

It was a while ago but I keep a memory of an acceptable sweet rum.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by darrenfitzp from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This is a nice Rum but there are better competitors out there at the same price, like it's little brother it has a bit of a punch but maybe lacks a little smoothness you'd expect.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 25 ratings

The flavor of Brugal has some bite but an still be enjoyed Neat if you like some bite, The alcohol lingers when drinking Neat, its an excellent for mixing, make a good Rum a coke or Rum and Coconut water when hydration is needed.