Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo Gran Reserva rum

Brugal Extra Viejo Gran Reserva

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva Rum is crafted from a blend of rums aged up to 8 years in former bourbon and whiskey barrels.

This rum is produced by the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic. Founded in 1888, to this day the company is still run by the Brugal family.

5.9/10
168 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
13
35
52
41
14
4
1

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo Gran Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

168 Brugal Extra Viejo Gran Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by manah from Israel with 15 ratings

It's an interesting and tasty rum. Nice with a cigar.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Perhaps they meant to type "BRUTAL" on the labels and just went with it. If I ever need to chlorophorm someone in a pinch, this might work if it doesn't kill them.

Small profile 1

Posted 9 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 115 ratings

Smooth rum, very little harsh bite. Possibly a hint of spice, but in not overly flavorful. Slightly rubbery and little aftertaste. In general, kind of a boring rum.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by mulorz from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

Nejlepší rum na míchané nápoje! Pít ho samostatný chce ale dost odvahy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jamie hartley from Canada with 29 ratings

Excellent in mixed drinks. Had lots in Dominican.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 9 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 321 ratings

Enjoyed most of the Brugal in the islands when that’s the best we could find. I mix this with fresh coconut water or coke. A bit rough to sip on the rocks.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 10 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

This rum started out well enough with the familiar vanilla, oak, and caramel that I find common in Dominican runs. However once the initial taste passes there’s a distinct taste of what I call swamp water leading to an unpleasant finish. I am not sure that a mixer such as coke would cover it up. Not a sipping rum and a low end mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by DurhamLad from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I went to the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic some years ago and tried many of their rums. I purchased a bottle of this as it was the best rum that I had sampled during the visit. I have kept this bottle for special occasions and recently opened it. I must admit to being underwhelmed with this rum. For the unusually high price, this rum drink (at 37.5% can you class it as rum?) is fighting way above its weight. It's not a bad rum but it is less than average in my opinion.
The aftertaste is harsh when drank neat but ice does tend to improve it a lot. The taste has a smokiness to it that does not linger. A truly forgettable rum that does mix with coke classic very well. When in a bind is just about right for this rum.

Small 24e26e66 c6c7 425d a133 3a533f9d023a

Posted almost 4 years ago by John frederick from United States with 62 ratings

Expected more. Going to DR in 2 weeks waned to sample a local but this is thin not flavor I expected. Will try the better if I can

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Gustavo Soto from Puerto Rico with 14 ratings

A little harsh on the nose with molasses and caramel. It's 37.5% abv...feels and taste that way. Initial taste, swift unwanted volatile compounds with an impact of caramel, citrus peel and oak, finishing in peppery oak spice. I think it would be helpful distilling it one more time before aging and bottle it at 40% abv. Besides that, average aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by jbmonin from France with 14 ratings

Rien de particulier dans cette bouteille. L'alcool prend vraiment le dessus sur un petit côté boisé pourtant pas désagréable. Bien en cocktail.