Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva rum

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva Rum is crafted from a blend of rums aged up to 8 years in former bourbon and whiskey barrels.

This rum is produced by the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic. Founded in 1888, to this day the company is still run by the Brugal family.

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


65 Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

A rum for cocktails. Good with coke and ice........

Posted almost 8 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 138 ratings

Smooth rum, very little harsh bite. Possibly a hint of spice, but in not overly flavorful. Slightly rubbery and little aftertaste. In general, kind of a boring rum.

Posted 9 days ago by darrenfitzp from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is a nice Rum but there are better competitors out there at the same price, like it's little brother it has a bit of a punch but maybe lacks a little smoothness you'd expect.

Posted 23 days ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

The flavor of Brugal has some bite but an still be enjoyed Neat if you like some bite, The alcohol lingers when drinking Neat, its an excellent for mixing, make a good Rum a coke or Rum and Coconut water when hydration is needed.

Posted about 2 months ago by Fco_ignacio from Mexico with 7 ratings

Un gran ron dominicano, Buena relación calidad-precio. En Boca se detectan sabores a chocolate, cuero, vainilla, no es muy dulce, bueno para tomarse solo. Se siente el golpe del alcohol pero no es excesivo.

Posted about 2 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I had this bottle in my collection for 6 or so years. I tried it a few weeks ago and I must say its very very good! It has a lot of oak and baking spices and reminds me of an older demerara rum a bit. I would compare this to El dorado 12 year. I would say this expression is nothing like any other expressions brugal has out there. Far different. Why I'm not really sure but its worth trying if you like el dorado rums.

Posted 3 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

This rum is definitely a sipper. Tried it neat and is not the best option. Sweet and spicy. No balance.

Posted 4 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Rum tasting in New York City continued with Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva. Very nice and unique bottle and label design. Golden color. Strong oak and plenty of caramel mixed with some spice mixture to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Dry burn at the end. Better mixed than neat sipped.

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Ganz ok, passt aber irgendwie weder zum pur trinken noch für die Mischung.

Posted 4 months ago by AndReginald from Italy with 41 ratings

Not a very special rum, I expected more. It taste like it was diluted. Chocolate is the dominant taste in this rum. No burn. Won't buy the bottle. Not a great finish.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Veľmi pekná farba,tmavá,podporená zaujímavou vôňou. Chuť je dosť ostrá,výrazná,jemne páli. Ťažšia alkoholova dochut a stredne dlhý záver. Rum pre nadšencov, ktorí uz majú sladkých rumov plný krk.

Posted 7 months ago by TY from Austria with 30 ratings

Trocken, etwas alkoholisch in der Nase, Dörraromen, Holznoten, leichte Würze. Etwas pelziger Abgang ohne langen Nachhall.
Anfangs gewöhnungsbedürftig, wenn man ihn mit durchschnittlich süßem Rum vergleicht.

Posted 7 months ago by rkralik89 from Austria with 21 ratings

Sehr stark im Geruch, aber schwach im Geschmack. Zu wenig definiert.

Posted 8 months ago by vkostrom from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

More chocolate and vanilla aroma, was okay to drink

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

It is just caramel-colour dark, simple and sweet, molasses-notes, thin.

Posted about 1 year ago by Ralmeida from Portugal with 10 ratings

Decent rum at a good price point. A day to day rum they can be enjoyed solo or mixed.

Posted over 1 year ago by Will D from United States with 3 ratings

Not bad, but not as good as I'd hoped for the price. Flavor isn't bad, but not much in the way of legs or finish. It'll probably be a good mixer (I had it neat, in a snifter, with a few drops of water). For the price, $33, I feel it should excel on its own.

Posted over 1 year ago by Henderson from United States with 1 rating

Had the same drink made with Bacardi and then with Brugal Extra Viejo, completely different flavor. Brugal was sweeter, richer and smoother. Outstanding rum as a mixer.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert from United States with 8 ratings

Easy to find and not very expensive, yet good to drink on its own. Would not add ice in order to keep the notes and flavors on the forefront.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Alexey from United States with 25 ratings

nothing special better buy usual anejo, like matusalem 5 and 7 to understand similar situation

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Le rhum parfait pour les débutants, pas trop de goût d'alcool. À boire avec du coke!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Angel Sanchez from United States with 12 ratings

Decent sipping rum. I would say very good for the low price.

Posted over 2 years ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 81 ratings

As a mixed rum quite ok,...pure i do not like it too much. The smell is boring and alcoholic and the same feeling is continued while sipped.

I do not get what is so "old" about it,...i prefer the not so old three year old havanna club which is even cheaper :)

I would not buy it again though.

Posted over 2 years ago by Roman Cimbora from Slovakia with 2 ratings

BRUGAL Extra viejo is the best of dominican republic. i lovet.. nice taste. One of the best alcohol what i try in my life. I drink only this now :)

Posted almost 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

Certainly the definition of a fair sipper. Nothing stands out, has very little burn and would be perfect intro to those who would like to start drinking their rum neat or with an ice cube or two.