Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva rum
Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva rum

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva Rum is crafted from a blend of rums aged up to 8 years in former bourbon and whiskey barrels.

This rum is produced by the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic. Founded in 1888, to this day the company is still run by the Brugal family.

6.5/10 (65 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
7
21
19
9
3
1

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


65 Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Bec3fa267d0c5b53a315c1f8950f2e1c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Danzilla78 from Canada with 23 ratings

Smelled bad, tasted bad. Was a gift from someone that went to the Dominican. I tried it again and let it breathe for over an hour, was drinkable with ice after that.

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 8 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

Smooth rum, very little harsh bite. Possibly a hint of spice, but in not overly flavorful. Slightly rubbery and little aftertaste. In general, kind of a boring rum.

B99519d7081c740c7c2641f2ed81d938.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by darrenfitzp from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This is a nice Rum but there are better competitors out there at the same price, like it's little brother it has a bit of a punch but maybe lacks a little smoothness you'd expect.

3952e0444af32cb4575151ea189acb67.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 months ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

The flavor of Brugal has some bite but an still be enjoyed Neat if you like some bite, The alcohol lingers when drinking Neat, its an excellent for mixing, make a good Rum a coke or Rum and Coconut water when hydration is needed.

8899979a0e862c5fc8cb21c797a639dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Fco_ignacio from Mexico with 7 ratings

Un gran ron dominicano, Buena relación calidad-precio. En Boca se detectan sabores a chocolate, cuero, vainilla, no es muy dulce, bueno para tomarse solo. Se siente el golpe del alcohol pero no es excesivo.

0b3eb738cf54231f7e6ab963742fb7f1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I had this bottle in my collection for 6 or so years. I tried it a few weeks ago and I must say its very very good! It has a lot of oak and baking spices and reminds me of an older demerara rum a bit. I would compare this to El dorado 12 year. I would say this expression is nothing like any other expressions brugal has out there. Far different. Why I'm not really sure but its worth trying if you like el dorado rums.

8b61f1fa20de202fcddc7ca80e516bb9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

This rum is definitely a sipper. Tried it neat and is not the best option. Sweet and spicy. No balance.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2590 ratings

Rum tasting in New York City continued with Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva. Very nice and unique bottle and label design. Golden color. Strong oak and plenty of caramel mixed with some spice mixture to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Dry burn at the end. Better mixed than neat sipped.

10b1d2daa594becb397d13f21cd8cbbf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 54 ratings

Ganz ok, passt aber irgendwie weder zum pur trinken noch für die Mischung.

Ebc8a98110a85a80e7bd31ef0aa5d056.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by AndReginald from Italy with 41 ratings

Not a very special rum, I expected more. It taste like it was diluted. Chocolate is the dominant taste in this rum. No burn. Won't buy the bottle. Not a great finish.

Ed4c7a03f1a99ffaae9752821de35ff6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Veľmi pekná farba,tmavá,podporená zaujímavou vôňou. Chuť je dosť ostrá,výrazná,jemne páli. Ťažšia alkoholova dochut a stredne dlhý záver. Rum pre nadšencov, ktorí uz majú sladkých rumov plný krk.