Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva rum

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva Rum is crafted from a blend of rums aged up to 8 years in former bourbon and whiskey barrels.

This rum is produced by the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic. Founded in 1888, to this day the company is still run by the Brugal family.

6.3/10 (70 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
24
19
9
3
1

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

70 Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 456 ratings

I love the extra viejo normal and it's one of my favourites, so to hear brugal do a reserve I expect it to be decent... But it's quite flat compared to the normal one

Small 0

Posted over 8 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 110 ratings

Smooth rum, very little harsh bite. Possibly a hint of spice, but in not overly flavorful. Slightly rubbery and little aftertaste. In general, kind of a boring rum.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted 2 months ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

This rum started out well enough with the familiar vanilla, oak, and caramel that I find common in Dominican runs. However once the initial taste passes there’s a distinct taste of what I call swamp water leading to an unpleasant finish. I am not sure that a mixer such as coke would cover it up. Not a sipping rum and a low end mixer.

Small 20201204 224041

Posted 2 months ago by Eisberg4499 from Germany with 8 ratings

It has a solid rum base but still dry anf smooth !

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 237 ratings

When nothing else available you can count on a Brugal as a decent mixer, or even for a pop or two. Usually I only drink on the out islands where nothing else is available.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by djk373 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Nice rum overall, not particularly sweet with a lighter overall taste going towards a smooth oak aroma. Better sipped straight

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by a.stuber67550 from France with 10 ratings

It was a while ago but I keep a memory of an acceptable sweet rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by darrenfitzp from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

This is a nice Rum but there are better competitors out there at the same price, like it's little brother it has a bit of a punch but maybe lacks a little smoothness you'd expect.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

The flavor of Brugal has some bite but an still be enjoyed Neat if you like some bite, The alcohol lingers when drinking Neat, its an excellent for mixing, make a good Rum a coke or Rum and Coconut water when hydration is needed.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Fco_ignacio from Mexico with 7 ratings

Un gran ron dominicano, Buena relación calidad-precio. En Boca se detectan sabores a chocolate, cuero, vainilla, no es muy dulce, bueno para tomarse solo. Se siente el golpe del alcohol pero no es excesivo.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I had this bottle in my collection for 6 or so years. I tried it a few weeks ago and I must say its very very good! It has a lot of oak and baking spices and reminds me of an older demerara rum a bit. I would compare this to El dorado 12 year. I would say this expression is nothing like any other expressions brugal has out there. Far different. Why I'm not really sure but its worth trying if you like el dorado rums.