Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva rum

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Dominican Republic | Aged

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva Rum is crafted from a blend of rums aged up to 8 years in former bourbon and whiskey barrels.

This rum is produced by the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic. Founded in 1888, to this day the company is still run by the Brugal family.

6.3/10 (70 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
9
24
19
9
3
1

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

70 Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 456 ratings

I love the extra viejo normal and it's one of my favourites, so to hear brugal do a reserve I expect it to be decent... But it's quite flat compared to the normal one

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Will D from United States with 3 ratings

Not bad, but not as good as I'd hoped for the price. Flavor isn't bad, but not much in the way of legs or finish. It'll probably be a good mixer (I had it neat, in a snifter, with a few drops of water). For the price, $33, I feel it should excel on its own.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Henderson from United States with 1 rating

Had the same drink made with Bacardi and then with Brugal Extra Viejo, completely different flavor. Brugal was sweeter, richer and smoother. Outstanding rum as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Robert from United States with 8 ratings

Easy to find and not very expensive, yet good to drink on its own. Would not add ice in order to keep the notes and flavors on the forefront.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Alexey from United States with 25 ratings

nothing special better buy usual anejo, like matusalem 5 and 7 to understand similar situation

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Marc-Andre from Canada with 21 ratings

Le rhum parfait pour les débutants, pas trop de goût d'alcool. À boire avec du coke!!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Angel Sanchez from United States with 12 ratings

Decent sipping rum. I would say very good for the low price.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by xCorporalx from Germany with 88 ratings

As a mixed rum quite ok,...pure i do not like it too much. The smell is boring and alcoholic and the same feeling is continued while sipped.

I do not get what is so "old" about it,...i prefer the not so old three year old havanna club which is even cheaper :)

I would not buy it again though.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Roman Cimbora from Slovakia with 2 ratings

BRUGAL Extra viejo is the best of dominican republic. i lovet.. nice taste. One of the best alcohol what i try in my life. I drink only this now :)

Small screenshot 20201129 112551 gallery

Posted over 3 years ago by Lawson from United States with 64 ratings

Certainly the definition of a fair sipper. Nothing stands out, has very little burn and would be perfect intro to those who would like to start drinking their rum neat or with an ice cube or two.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jake from Canada with 7 ratings

I had the pleasure of sampling this one on a trip to the Dominican Republic.