Posting your rating...
Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva rum

Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva Rum is crafted from a blend of rums aged up to 8 years in former bourbon and whiskey barrels.

This rum is produced by the Brugal distillery in the Dominican Republic. Founded in 1888, to this day the company is still run by the Brugal family.

Rate Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


65 Brugal Extra Viejo Reserva ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Chuťou pripomína fernet. Veľmi málo sladký. Pri pití by som ani nepovedal, že pijem rum

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jake from Canada with 7 ratings

I had the pleasure of sampling this one on a trip to the Dominican Republic.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

The taste is a little off for me with some burn as well. Brugal rums are ok but don't have that "Wow" factor, the extra viejo reserva, included. Somewhat smooth initially then goes down hill from there. For mixing, I would say yes...for enjoying neat I would say you've been cut!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joshua from United States with 29 ratings

It's ok on the rocks the second or third one but the first one bites hard. Enjoyed it very much mixed.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

A rum for cocktails. Good with coke and ice........

Posted about 3 years ago by Kp from Canada with 9 ratings

Nothing special about this rum. Good with coke and ice.

Posted about 3 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

One of the favourite rum to drink on the ice rocks.

Posted about 3 years ago by JoeVs from Portugal with 11 ratings

I really love to use this rum for my summer "Cuba libres".

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicolai Ryberg from Denmark with 31 ratings

Den er ok. Men jeg syns den er lidt meget spritte, og ikke fardi ud vikled.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Netter Mix-Ron auch zum pur geniessen.
Ein etwas Typischer Dom Rep Turi Ron

Nice mix-Ron also to sip too.
A somewhat typical Dom Rep tourists Ron

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

It was an ok rum lacking a lot of the flavors that I would expect. I wish that it had much more to offer. a little bland.

Posted over 3 years ago by Sergey from Russian Federation with 2 ratings

Привезли из Доминиканской республики, очень понравился, жаль что объём был маленький.

Posted over 3 years ago by Danzilla78 from Canada with 23 ratings

Smelled bad, tasted bad. Was a gift from someone that went to the Dominican. I tried it again and let it breathe for over an hour, was drinkable with ice after that.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jethro from Netherlands with 16 ratings

An good Rum from the Dominican Republic. Been there in the Brugal factory a few years ago. The taste was ok

Posted over 3 years ago by Ronald Broers from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Decent rum, but the taste is not really to my liking...

Posted over 3 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Nice bottle of rum to have for when you just want to sip a rum and soda on the veranda. Sweet and smooth, but not something to enjoy straight from a snifter. Will buy it again as a standby for mixed drinks. Not expensive for the quality.

Posted about 4 years ago by TheBoss from United States with 3 ratings

This is what you get when in DR while staying at a resort. Not bad in various mixed drinks.

Posted about 4 years ago by Gondwana from Austria with 7 ratings

I tried this 2 Years ago and it was very disgusting. Just bitter, some kind of burnt caramel, chemical spice?? not even with coke. Yak!

Posted about 4 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

The Brugal Rums habe their place and I'm lucky, that they are more and more available in Germany. But they have their problem in the premium segment. After I tasted most of their brand, I have to say that: As long as Brugal it is a great mixe, but as soon as they try to compete to the more sophisticated Rums they loose. Whatever u take, even the expensive ones.

Posted over 4 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

Not bad, nice presentation but for the price I would choise a flor de caña 7, abuelo 7, habana 7 or bacardi 8. So light in nose and taste, i feel i am missing the rum profile here

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Nice and easy, worth of every penny. Well balanced Rum with strong vanilla taste. Be careful when mixing due to strong taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Although the flavor is a bit sweet initially with definite shades of vanilla and oak it hits you wish a rather brutal Brugal burn. After it fades the vanilla flavor resumes until it fades. Definitely NOT a sipping rum but a useful mixing rum. Perhaps aging it a bit more would take that edge down a notch or two. Or three.

Maybe four.

Posted over 4 years ago by Miguel from Dominican Republic with 14 ratings

I agree with a previous comment: "interesting for its price". It is a rum you find everywhere, and where there is not premium choice, Extra Viejo is my choice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Dave from Belgium with 35 ratings

De eerste keer dat ik dit heb gedronken was 20j geleden heb deze rum altijd in mijn collectie gewoon weg lekker puur of met cola 👍👍👍👍

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

I love the extra viejo normal and it's one of my favourites, so to hear brugal do a reserve I expect it to be decent... But it's quite flat compared to the normal one