Posting your rating...
Malecon 8-Year rum

Malecon 8-Year

Panama | Aged

6.9/10(15 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
11
1

Rate Malecon 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

15 Malecon 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 20210101 wa0019

Posted 2 months ago by Craiglee from Netherlands with 73 ratings

Another really solid mixer at an agreeable price. Essence of rum, unlike most at this price point. Hardly any sugar, brilliant with a smoke.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

The smell and taste is classic Malteco/Malecon - spicy tobacco, wood, bit of vanilla, citrus fruits, too rough to be sipped, but it works very well in mixed drinks as the intense aroma and spicy taste develops. The taste profile is rather dry, I cannot feel any sugar added. If you like Havana Club Especial (or other HC offerings) in mixed drinks, you will like also this one. Perfect strong bodied mixer, good price, no sugar - for me it is 8.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 156 ratings

Aroma: spices, molasses, barrel, Spanish style, sherry.
Taste: sincere and real - fiery, bitter, sweet, all in moderation and long enough.
Effect: a light snack enough to accompany. In general, it is not tough and contributes to the continuation. The disadvantage is that it fools the head with the first glass.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by SkinnyRumPilot from Hungary with 5 ratings

For the record, I'd give a rating of 7.5 for this rum but I don't have a choice. I found this rum being very similar to Havana Club 7 in both tasting notes, smell and price tag. A very nice classic style rum, with no added sugar but plenty of tropical fruits on the nose and in the taste. A definite friend of cigar lovers.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2698 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Rum Malecon 8y in Germany while vacationing with my friends. Marginally worse than 3 times more expensive 15y. There is definitely burn at the end, but then again so does the 15y Malecon.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 63 ratings

Smooth, nothing special rum. Can be sipped neat. Somehow I think I find the taste better than the 15 year old Malecon. I'll compare the 2 next to each other at another time.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis für einen jährigen. Pur okay, klasse für Cuba Libre.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Pavel Cech from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

The standard tasty rum for a very good price. Recommended.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 159 ratings

Just got this bottle with new layout on lable but also bottle.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Remy from Netherlands with 42 ratings

A bit harsh. Not as smooth as Flor de cana 7y, but a good tasting rum none the less. Like it better with coke, but it's also suitable for sipping. I paid €17,- for 70cl.
7/10