Posting your rating...
Malecon 12-Year rum

Malecon 12-Year

Panama | Aged

6.0/10 (61 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
10
28
19
1

Rate Malecon 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


61 Malecon 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Matje from Netherlands with 23 ratings

Geur is geweldig, je ruikt heerlijk gebrand hout van de rijping op bourbon vaten. Maar de smaak komt nooit in de buurt van de geur, blijft vlak en de smaak is snel verdwenen.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Very nice bottle, but the content is bit underperforming the primal charm. The taste is a bit rougher, but it could be fine sipper if you're not very demanding. But using it in short drinks could be a better way to enjoy it. The dilution will help the taste to rise over that rougher side and mellow down that alcohol pinch in its taste, but it will also provide a more complex taste over the rums that are primarily used for drinks and mixers.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

This is what I expect from Panama rums. Vanilla, oak, tobacco, present in nose and taste, none of these scents and flavors is stealing the show, they play nicely together, maybe the oak is a bit more pronounced than the others in the taste. I can sip this one, especially when the bottle is half empty it gets nicely mellow, it makes nice cuba libre too. Pretty versatile and balanced rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 167 ratings

I found this to be very drinkable. Good color. Good nose. Nice vanilla, oak, hints of fruit and spice. It has a nice bite. Moderate sweetness with no artificial taste. Could be balanced a little better, but it is quite smooth. Nice finish. Definitely a sipper for me. Another good Panamanian rum. The astounding thing is how good this is for the price. Better than rums 3 times the price. A keeper!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by krasnal from Poland with 39 ratings

Taki sobie jednym słowem jest spoko ale bez szału..

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by GauchoSVK from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

Nice bottle and overpack, but taste was disappointing, rough. Feel some unidentified fruit and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

It's a good natural rum, maybe too simple for experienced rum drinkers, but it's tasty and affordable.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

..and interesting light taste rum, I taste the molasses, wood. Short, but for me pleasant flavour, something else from traditional rums like El Dorado, Mount Gay, Millonario, Malteco,..

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

taste - 6/10
sweetness - 6/10
price/value rating - 5.5/10

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Denes from Hungary with 15 ratings

Wood, dry, vanilla taste, not a perfect rum, not a sipper, I think it is not good for the price, but for long drinks could be a perfect choice.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 246 ratings

It's a good natural rum, maybe too simple for experienced rum drinkers, but it's tasty and affordable.
The burn is stronger than in the older malecons and it's more spicy because it's the youngest in the line. For 22€ it's a bargain.
You can sip it, you can mix it, you can't go wrong with this one.

Smell: vanilla, banana, caramel
Taste start/middle: vanilla, fruits
Finish: burned suggar, spice, oak

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3/5