Posting your rating...
Malecon 15-Year rum

Malecon 15-Year

Panama | Aged

7.2/10
43 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
18
13
4

Rate Malecon 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

43 Malecon 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 72 ratings

Overpriced for the quality. This is better for mixing than drinking neat. I like sweet rums, but this is not one of them. Alcohol is clearly there. Didn't try it with a cigar. Might be a total different experience.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2841 ratings

Rum Malecon 15y has a pretty standard bottle and label design. Surprisingly light amber color for a 15y old rum indicating very little added ingredients. Nutty and sweet to the nose and palate, but very strong alcohol is clearly present. Super short at the end. Easily forgettable rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 426 ratings

Schönes sattes kupferfarbenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase fruchtig frisch, grüne Früchte wie beim 12 jährigen und karamellisiertes, getoastetes Holz.
Im Gaumen elegant und ausgewogen und doch irgendwie wild und frech. Früchte, Karamell, Gewürze und dezente Holztöne bilden eine perfekte Harmonie.
Im Abgang gesellt sich zu diesem Quintett noch eine leckere Kakaonote dazu.
Ein Rum für Liebhaber des Kubanischen Stil.

Beautiful full coppery amber in glass.
Fruity fresh on the nose, green fruits like the 12 years old and caramelised, toasted wood.
Elegant and balanced on the palate, yet somehow wild and cheeky. Fruit, caramel, spices and subtle oak tones in perfect harmony.
In the finish, a delicious cocoa note is joined to this quintet.
A rum for Cuban style lovers.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 323 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Panama
Aroma: Hodně kůže, skořice, trocha ostrosti, lesní med, kandované ovoce (hlavně asi pomeranče). (86 b)
Chuť: Kožená nasládlost, čokoláda, med, včelí plástve, pikantní kořenitost. V dochuti znát delší vliv dřeva, nasládlost ustupuje. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Pěkný rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by rumtrinker from Germany with 28 ratings

This clearly is a solid rum, even a good rum.

The nose gives nuts, raisins, a hint of smoke, all very nice. Also quite sweet, no alcohol.
Taste reflects that: Quite sweet, quite smooth, nuts (I would say macadamia, if I had to be specific), very slight smoke or possibly very slight funk. But not complex at all. No layers of tastes, but rather all in one well stirred and evenly distributed helping.

Well-made, no problem with this rum at all. Maybe a bit boring. But would not refuse to try it again.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 161 ratings

Fin rom med god smag og lidt spark. Kan findes til 270 kr i Tyskland, det er den i hvert fald værd.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Nielf from Denmark with 162 ratings

En meget fin rom, som dog ikke får mig helt op at ringe.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Robert from Slovakia with 44 ratings

Tasted together with Malecon 25, this 15yo "youngster" is rough with quite some afterburn, smoked Davidoff Dominican Primeros while drinking, it didnt bring up much sweetness, I heard no sugar added in them which might be a goodd thing for whole bottle evening talk with friend compared to overly sweet rums... will give it a try once again some time

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 202 ratings

I like the 12 year old. This has everything the 12 had with better balance. Full bodied. Smooth. Coffee and vanilla notes. Almond and dried fruit. Not to sweet but sweet enough. Good stuff!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 390 ratings

Like all Malecons this rum tastes bright but also a little bit sweet. But they don't add sugar, they use bourbon casks, because of that they should get this sweetness.
We have just 40% abv here, but the taste is not very thin. Yes, it's not as intensive as >50% but I'm ok with that.
In the nose is nothing special. It starts with vanilla, wood and sweetness. I get also some caramel, some white fruits like prune and banana. Not bad, but not very complex, also not intensive.
The taste is almost the same, light and a little bit sweet with a combination of peach and prune.
What I miss is more complexity and more intensive flavors. I would rate it 70 points.

This rum is simpler than malecon 21, the other one has richer smell and taste (more fruits, more balanced spice). 21 is better, but if you are on budget it's still good.

Smell: vanilla, white fruits like prune/banana, oak, some caramel
Taste start/middle: vanilla, caramel, oak, burned sugar, fruits (peach, prune)
Finish (short): spice, oak, some light sweetness, vanilla, some prune
Aftertaste: cherry, vanilla

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Complexity: 2/5
Value (26€): 3/5

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by IBO from Slovakia with 174 ratings

V kategórii do 30EUR často vyhľadávaný pre svoj charakter. Kombinácia ovocných a drevitych rumov zaručuje,že neurazí prívržencov z viacerých táborov. Pochutnal som si napriek tomu,že nie je úplne hladký a cítiť aj alkoholovu dochut.