Posting your rating...
Domaine de Severin XO rum

Domaine de Severin XO

Guadeloupe | Aged

5.5/10 (35 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
9
6
7
9
2
1

Rate Domaine de Severin XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


35 Domaine de Severin XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted over 1 year ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 164 ratings

Just back from this years rumcruise at the Baltic Sea with Birka cruises. Tested this and bought me a bottle to my Guadeloupe collection. It’s a blend of Rhum that’s at least six years old.
I’m a big fan of Guadeloupe Rhum, but I don’t think that this one can compete with best ones. But don’t get me wrong it’s very good and smooth. In nose and in mouth you can recognise vanilla, banana, citrus and wood. It’s having a fresh taste.The afterburn is quite long, dry and spicy.
Picture: My single bottles/Guadeloupe distilleries & My opened bottle.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by RoyalRum from Australia with 11 ratings

I think most of the negative comments I have read about this rum comes from the fact that it is an agricultural rum, which is therefore quite different from what most (=non-French) people call rum. I am not into agricultural rum, but I found this one interesting and refined. The smell and taste are that of sugarcane, which is pretty good. This is to me what most people would refer to as a taste of herbs. Agricultural rums form a category of their own, and I suspect this one to be a very decent one. I would therefore recommend non-French rum afficionados to taste it, if they have a chance, keeping in mind that it will be different from what they know.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by krasnal from Poland with 39 ratings

Czy ja muszę trafiać na takie słabe rumy? Czy to kara jakąś?

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by jancewicz from Poland with 27 ratings

First sip reminds me a whisky, it's a little bit smoky with a hint of sweetness but generally it is a dry rum. Quite complex. Some hogo funk. Drinkable but not the best one.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Rums-of-the-World from United States with 8 ratings

This rum quickly grew on me. At first I wasn't thrilled with the musty, astringent nose, but those characteristics faded, and I was left with a vanilla and oak bomb. Very nice:

Domaine De Séverin XO is distilled in Guadalupe from fresh pressed cane and aged for at least 6 years in ex bourbon barrels. It's then bottled at 45%. In the glass it's light copper, with tones of brown in color, and has thick sticky legs.

The nose starts mildly astringent, which quickly fades, and allows the powerful wood to dominate. As time passes, the scent of vanilla begins to build. There is also a slightly musty smell that lingers on the background.

The palette is warm, dry and creamy. The taste of oak is noticeable on the front of the tongue, while the back of the tongue is hit with mild caramelized bananas.

The finish is medium to long, remains dry and has hints of pepper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Visited Guadeloupe over the Holidays and truly enjoyed a great distillery tour at Domaine de Severin. Bought a bottle of XO from the distillery since they had a very limited tasting bar. Nice and sturdy bottle and label design. Surprisingly dry Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with grass, citrus, floral notes and plenty of oak to your nose and palate. Strong burn at the end being so dry. Rhum Agricole lovers can easily add 2 points to my score.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Railwayman from Poland with 10 ratings

It,s rum? More like avarage quality whisky for me. Smell & taste strong medicaments, hispital... Strongly sensible alcohol.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by g_corner from Germany with 1 rating

Fine Rum with a promising nose, sweet, vanilla...
the taste ist light but spicy and the Rum cant hide his Bourbon casks origin.
Im not into Bourbon but no reason top downvote.
It is special.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by NickW. from Germany with 17 ratings

Strong alcoholic taste and a more of a whisky than rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ievab from Denmark with 6 ratings

Not at all for me. First thought it was whiskey.......:(