Posting your rating...
La Hechicera Extra Anejo rum

La Hechicera Extra Anejo

Colombia | Aged

La Hechicera Extra Anejo rum Is distilled using the solera method and aged between 12 and 21 years in American white oak casks.

La Hechicera rum has been produced by the The Riasco family for the past two decades. They're the only family-run Rum distillery in Colombia. The rum derives its name from the Spanish word “Hechicera” which translates to “enchantress”.

7.6/10
208 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
8
16
53
76
38
13

Rate La Hechicera Extra Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

208 La Hechicera Extra Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 3 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 142 ratings

taste - 6/10
smell - 6.5/10
sweetness - 6.5/10
price/value rating - 6/10

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Rich aroma of dark fruit and some burnt sugar with very little alcohol smell. First sip is very pleasant with a subtle oak and medium sweetness with a dark coffee profile. Slight bite in the throat but a gentle heat in the chest that lingers surprisingly long (might be that Kali Ma ritual from last night). The back end is where the coffee flavor is most noticeable but not overpowering. It makes for some bitterness but in a good way. This rum isn't incredible, but doesn't make many mistakes.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

A very fairly priced solera rum, supposedly additive free. The nose is nice with wooden notes, orangepeel and a bit of toffee. In the mouth the rum behaves smoothly like a solera should, but it's not destractingly sweet like so many other solera. I pick up medium bodied and unmasked notes of wood, sweet tobacco and roasted coffee. It's not very complex and the slightly spicy finish fades fairly quick, but the composition works very well. A fine rum that doesn't demand to much attention, but works perfectly neat alongside a game of cards. It definitely shares some similarities with dictador, another colombian rum, but at this pricerange i prefer la hechicera. Thumbs up.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

a very creamy scent of caramel and some sorts of toffee. in the mouth it is creamy and smooth. harmonic. round. no edges. for some moments to chill. i taste orange and coffee notes. maybe some tobacco. in the base it has to do with dictador rum, but in the end it adds the orange twist to it. very good stuff, i think and of course no added sugar. in the end it lacks one point to ten, because of its harmonic taste without any edge :).

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ross from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

As a rum aficionado this is hands down one of the best rums I have ever tasted. Dry, incredibly smooth and an aroma to die for this is a beautiful tribute to what rum should taste like in its unadulterated form. I came across this on the back of a very much appreciated recommendation, hard to find but worth every effort in tracking down.

Small img 20201109 183045

Posted 9 months ago by Michal Ernest from Czech Republic with 55 ratings

Měl jsem ji vyhlédnutou k ochutnání dosti dlouho. Podle recenzí se jedná o vynikající rum za rozumnou cenu. Dnes jsem ji ochutnal. Po otevření láhve lze cítit nasládlou vůni. Podle vůně jsem čekal rum sladší než je ve skutečnosti. Při prvním doušku, se mi zdálo, že recenze, které jsem četl, před jeho ochutnáním, lhaly. Další doušky mne přesvědčili o jeho jemnosti a pomalém rozplývání na jazyku. Tento rum je opravdu jemný, ale není sladký. Malinko bych jej porovnal s Doorly´s XO, které se jeví malinko více voňavé po vanilce a tropických květech a chuťově je jemnější. Nicméně skvělý rum a podle mne 9.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Really a good discovery during an event in Belgium. Once in the glass, the Hechicera shows its nice light amber color accompanied of small lazy legs.Once you sip it , even with no added sugar, you realise that it is really smooth with a little gentle burn. On the aroma point of view, you will found toffee, tobacco and some fruit.
It is always a pleasure to grab the bottle out of the bar and enjoy a well served glass of this delicious rum :-D

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 81 ratings

Spanish style solera with rums from 12 to 21 years in the mix. For a rum with a minimum age of 12 years there is surprisingly much fruit in the nose; orange (peel) mostly with floral undertones. Also fudge and wood are present and it smells very inviting.

On the palate the age becomes clearer with a lot of spiced/charred woody notes with a bitter (but not too bitter) coffee, more orange (even close to red grapefruit) and a lot of spice (black pepper). Tobacco is also there but in a more floral way.

There is a lot to taste and the rum offers a mouth full of flavours in a very balanced way. Despite not being overly complex it is very entertaining and a real treat. They did a really good job in Colombia with this one!

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: Estimated at 5 GPL. I found this to have a strong alcohol aroma and taste that subsides and gives way to coffee, burnt chocolate and wood. I tried this rum a dozen times before I could decide on what to rate it at and what it's primary tastes were. Overall it's a bit rough but once you get past the unmasked alcohol aroma and taste, it's okay. Not great but okay.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

This turned out to be a nice surprise. I usually rate rums about a point below consensus (as I've tried so many fabulous rums), but I'm rating this one slightly above the current score.

Smells and tastes of caramel, oak, toffee, tobacco, a peppery spice and a touch of cacao. Very nice!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 484 ratings

Delicious this what to expect ffrom a medium to dry rum delicate balance that is awsome