Posting your rating...
La Hechicera Extra Anejo rum

La Hechicera Extra Anejo rum Is distilled using the solera method and aged between 12 and 21 years in American white oak casks.

La Hechicera rum has been produced by the The Riasco family for the past two decades. They're the only family-run Rum distillery in Colombia. The rum derives its name from the Spanish word “Hechicera” which translates to “enchantress”.

Rate La Hechicera Extra Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


165 La Hechicera Extra Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 11 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

First at all, it is very creamy. It is like a Flor de Cana.
The coffee flavor is not so strong. There is a good balance of the flavor of vanilla, barrel and orange peel etc.

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Rich aroma of dark fruit and some burnt sugar with very little alcohol smell. First sip is very pleasant with a subtle oak and medium sweetness with a dark coffee profile. Slight bite in the throat but a gentle heat in the chest that lingers surprisingly long (might be that Kali Ma ritual from last night). The back end is where the coffee flavor is most noticeable but not overpowering. It makes for some bitterness but in a good way. This rum isn't incredible, but doesn't make many mistakes.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

a very creamy scent of caramel and some sorts of toffee. in the mouth it is creamy and smooth. harmonic. round. no edges. for some moments to chill. i taste orange and coffee notes. maybe some tobacco. in the base it has to do with dictador rum, but in the end it adds the orange twist to it. very good stuff, i think and of course no added sugar. in the end it lacks one point to ten, because of its harmonic taste without any edge :).

Posted over 4 years ago by Ross from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

As a rum aficionado this is hands down one of the best rums I have ever tasted. Dry, incredibly smooth and an aroma to die for this is a beautiful tribute to what rum should taste like in its unadulterated form. I came across this on the back of a very much appreciated recommendation, hard to find but worth every effort in tracking down.

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

A very fairly priced solera rum, supposedly additive free. The nose is nice with wooden notes, orangepeel and a bit of toffee. In the mouth the rum behaves smoothly like a solera should, but it's not destractingly sweet like so many other solera. I pick up medium bodied and unmasked notes of wood, sweet tobacco and roasted coffee. It's not very complex and the slightly spicy finish fades fairly quick, but the composition works very well. A fine rum that doesn't demand to much attention, but works perfectly neat alongside a game of cards. It definitely shares some similarities with dictador, another colombian rum, but at this pricerange i prefer la hechicera. Thumbs up.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Really a good discovery during an event in Belgium. Once in the glass, the Hechicera shows its nice light amber color accompanied of small lazy legs.Once you sip it , even with no added sugar, you realise that it is really smooth with a little gentle burn. On the aroma point of view, you will found toffee, tobacco and some fruit.
It is always a pleasure to grab the bottle out of the bar and enjoy a well served glass of this delicious rum :-D

Posted over 1 year ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Smooth, creamy, but also little woody and with the bit of cocoa. Definitely worth the money.

Posted about 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This turned out to be a nice surprise. I usually rate rums about a point below consensus (as I've tried so many fabulous rums), but I'm rating this one slightly above the current score.

Smells and tastes of caramel, oak, toffee, tobacco, a peppery spice and a touch of cacao. Very nice!

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

Boy! This is really good rum. There is a lot going on and a lot of subtlety. The nose is hard to pin down, but molasses, smokeyness, oak and sugar cane come through. Then when you taste it, it starts with much the same flavours as above and then gets a bit sweeter (maybe a touch of toffee and caramel), and then it finishes off quite dry but with a vague touch of a honey flavour on the lips. It seems to do an awful lot at a very good price.

Having read the descriptions here, I thought that this might be a little too dry and a little too oaky and smokey for my tastes, but it isn't - it's really very balanced between slight sweetness and slight dryness - that has to be down to good rum blending. This is definitely a top sipper, especially for the price - roughly 40 quid.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pge from Switzerland with 1 rating

I prefer unsweetened and with no added flavor rums, La Hechicera hits all the starts, it is a dry rum, with coffee, orange and oaky notes that is easy to drink. I prefer it on the rocks, so smooth that I have never had just one.

Posted over 3 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Its very specific in nose as well as in mouth. People who enjoy aromatic rums will love its smoothness and fruity taste. People who look for something more mature and distinguished should look somewhere else.

Posted over 3 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

In the nose there is something special, maybe caramel, maybe toffee. The taste includes many different tones, chocalate, coffee, caramel. Really great.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

Delicious this what to expect ffrom a medium to dry rum delicate balance that is awsome

Posted over 3 years ago by mankri from Hungary with 33 ratings

Found accidently in Bogotá in a Jumbo store. (You cannot really find it even in COL.) The first catchy thing was the appearence of the bottle, and the price also indicated it was something above the others. It has a harmonic taste and aroma, you can clearly feel the caramel, but also a bit of alcoholic burn. A very good rum, much enjoyable, definitely a must-to-try, if you have the possibility.

Posted over 3 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Coffee and cacao in the nose. The same on the tongue, with some hard to identify fruit. Plums? A bit rough though - meaning that the alcoholic burn sets in pretty fast. The finishing then again nice and smooth, a little bitter, coffee again.

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Wow, good discovery.After a long distillery tradition, Riascos family, brother & sister decide to create their own rum. The result is a non extra sugar added very smooth aged in oak barrel. Vanilla is very subtile. Florale & fruity notes. In palate, fruit aromas are growing with apple, orange and other notes I can not identify. Dry and sweet at the same time. The bottle has a subtle design and the wax seal is awesome. This rum is the perfect transition between molasse & agricole. Looking forward to the future creations.

Posted 22 days ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

This is again a very pleasant solera rum with all its features.
Head to head comparison with Plantation XO 20th anniversary this one is less complex and bitter.
I recommend though it is a more daily rum than a festive one.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Tres beau rhum Solera à boire avec avec de bon amis qui apprécie le rhum.

Posted about 2 months ago by Ralf from Germany with 23 ratings

Had high expectations. He didn't dissapoint me.
No aroma-bombs in the smell and a very pure and clean taste. Could have more coffee or espresso flavour but I really really really like that one. In my opinion a true rum.
The moment the bottle is empty, a new one will be orderd :-)

Posted about 2 months ago by Fevrier 20 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Enjoyed this as my birthday treat. Drinkable straight or with a mixer.

Posted 2 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Not a bad rum with common aromas, it has a woody profile like Mount Gay XO. I lack some special aromas or a special character. It's quite spicy. If you like spicy and natural rum go for it.

Smell: oak, caramel, dry fruit, some apricot, vanilla
Taste: wood, caramel, honey, some fruits, vanilla, spice

Sweetness: 1/5
Fruit: 2/5
Spice: 4/5
Mildness: 3/5

From: Columbia
aged from 12-21
solera
Cask: ex-Bourbon

Posted 2 months ago by chriscathcart (PREMIUM) from Canada with 14 ratings

This is a great change. Lots of flavour. Not sweet.be a good cold might sipper.

Posted 3 months ago by Rinushorn (PREMIUM) from France with 60 ratings

Ce rhum hors d'âge untouched solera bénéficie de toute l'attention nécessaire à l'élaboration d'un produit haut de gamme. On retrouve toute l'authenticité du ron colombien du fait aussi qu'il n'ait pas été filtré et auquel il n'y a pas eu d'adjonction de sucre.
Un produit vrai !

Posted 3 months ago by jfmurcia from Jamaica with 55 ratings

You have to try it!
Hints of coffeee. Really good option!

Posted 3 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

Absolutely charming drink.

Pretty dark, 100% smooth, the real alcohol which doesn't hurt.

Almost no touch on the nose, just a bit of nuts or smoke. Genuinely delicate, dry on the palate with a hint of honey or fruits. May be not so complex aroma, but very pleasant and lasting for long while.

Superb!