Posting your rating...
La Hechicera Extra Anejo rum

La Hechicera Extra Anejo

Colombia | Aged

La Hechicera Extra Anejo rum Is distilled using the solera method and aged between 12 and 21 years in American white oak casks.

La Hechicera rum has been produced by the The Riasco family for the past two decades. They're the only family-run Rum distillery in Colombia. The rum derives its name from the Spanish word “Hechicera” which translates to “enchantress”.

7.7/10 (173 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
6
12
44
66
29
13

Rate La Hechicera Extra Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


173 La Hechicera Extra Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F1ea3ace305aed91216dd1f4f67dee9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

A good rum for sipping. Not special for it's price.

Ec1c5f502fd815cf7a03c0a8ac4fd746.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Rich aroma of dark fruit and some burnt sugar with very little alcohol smell. First sip is very pleasant with a subtle oak and medium sweetness with a dark coffee profile. Slight bite in the throat but a gentle heat in the chest that lingers surprisingly long (might be that Kali Ma ritual from last night). The back end is where the coffee flavor is most noticeable but not overpowering. It makes for some bitterness but in a good way. This rum isn't incredible, but doesn't make many mistakes.

748970cca3e0174b64c14b78eadf96bb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

a very creamy scent of caramel and some sorts of toffee. in the mouth it is creamy and smooth. harmonic. round. no edges. for some moments to chill. i taste orange and coffee notes. maybe some tobacco. in the base it has to do with dictador rum, but in the end it adds the orange twist to it. very good stuff, i think and of course no added sugar. in the end it lacks one point to ten, because of its harmonic taste without any edge :).

4d6774ce47af253b673085d07c42b7a7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ross from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

As a rum aficionado this is hands down one of the best rums I have ever tasted. Dry, incredibly smooth and an aroma to die for this is a beautiful tribute to what rum should taste like in its unadulterated form. I came across this on the back of a very much appreciated recommendation, hard to find but worth every effort in tracking down.

0a8cdb4ba2ce47c92a38474130a26026.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 237 ratings

A very fairly priced solera rum, supposedly additive free. The nose is nice with wooden notes, orangepeel and a bit of toffee. In the mouth the rum behaves smoothly like a solera should, but it's not destractingly sweet like so many other solera. I pick up medium bodied and unmasked notes of wood, sweet tobacco and roasted coffee. It's not very complex and the slightly spicy finish fades fairly quick, but the composition works very well. A fine rum that doesn't demand to much attention, but works perfectly neat alongside a game of cards. It definitely shares some similarities with dictador, another colombian rum, but at this pricerange i prefer la hechicera. Thumbs up.

D2b49d7b477d2802b6e9b7c2b513cae4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris from Belgium with 100 ratings

Really a good discovery during an event in Belgium. Once in the glass, the Hechicera shows its nice light amber color accompanied of small lazy legs.Once you sip it , even with no added sugar, you realise that it is really smooth with a little gentle burn. On the aroma point of view, you will found toffee, tobacco and some fruit.
It is always a pleasure to grab the bottle out of the bar and enjoy a well served glass of this delicious rum :-D

9e939b6c477ab6b755659959b931bdce.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Kulda from Czech Republic with 6 ratings

Když někde vidím velkou modrou pečeť, hned bych si dal kafe a hořkou čokoládu a doutník.
Voní čokoládou, vanilkou a kávovým zrnem. Chuť, trochu ostřejší, je po vanilce, skořici, trošce pepře a tabáku.
Když jsem si vyslechl příběh tohoto rumu, musel jsem si ho pořídit a rozhodně patří k mým oblíbeným.

9924f88b00eb14d3783e76e30aff5556.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Smooth, creamy, but also little woody and with the bit of cocoa. Definitely worth the money.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This turned out to be a nice surprise. I usually rate rums about a point below consensus (as I've tried so many fabulous rums), but I'm rating this one slightly above the current score.

Smells and tastes of caramel, oak, toffee, tobacco, a peppery spice and a touch of cacao. Very nice!

033bcee20b6b058cb5be71854cf6e100.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

Boy! This is really good rum. There is a lot going on and a lot of subtlety. The nose is hard to pin down, but molasses, smokeyness, oak and sugar cane come through. Then when you taste it, it starts with much the same flavours as above and then gets a bit sweeter (maybe a touch of toffee and caramel), and then it finishes off quite dry but with a vague touch of a honey flavour on the lips. It seems to do an awful lot at a very good price.

Having read the descriptions here, I thought that this might be a little too dry and a little too oaky and smokey for my tastes, but it isn't - it's really very balanced between slight sweetness and slight dryness - that has to be down to good rum blending. This is definitely a top sipper, especially for the price - roughly 40 quid.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2650 ratings

Had pretty high expectations on the La Hechicera Extra Anejo rum for 2 reasons. First of all it's very hard to find in South Florida and secondly since the Diplomatico family of rums are coming from the same region as the La Hechicera. I was quite surprised about the results though. The rum has very nice semi-dark color, a bit strong on the nose, very quick flavor burst and then nothing. No afterburn, no lingering after taste. La Hechicera is very similar to the Santa Teresa 1796 rum, which I also scored an 8. La Hechicera is a relatively decent rum, but far from being a great rum.