Posting your rating...
Bones Gold rum

Rate Bones Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


12 Bones Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

I came upon this smooth, diverse deceiving dark rum when I went to the island of St. Thomas. When you go to the Bonus Rum store on the island, you'll see lots of merchandise (e.g. T-shirts, hats, cups) with the logo and the slogan "smooth rum for the rough seas".

The reason I say this rum is deceiving is because you see the logo and think pirates, and for me other brands with pirates or similar (e.g. Captain Morgan, Kraken) are not for sipping per se, but for mixing and for the masses.

Bones is for everything and everyone: on the rocks, in a daiquiri, frozen drink, sweet drink, boozy drink, in some dessert, whatever. Just put some Bones in it.

One of the most diverse rums on the market (what Bacardi is to most, and wants to be), everyone should have it in their cabinet, especially since it only costs $20-$22 a bottle, but it's only sold in the U.S. Virgin Islands (maybe even St. Thomas) for now. This is America people, they need to bring this to the mainland.

I take a trip to the island once a year, and like a doofus only buy 2 bottles, I'll buy at least 4 next time. The internet says it doesn't exist anymore, but trust me Bones is still in St. Thomas, I was just there.

Posted over 3 years ago by RumJunkie from United States with 17 ratings

Came across this one at a road side/ Sea side Rum Bar in St. Thomas. Fun bar, pour your own frozen drinks with several bottles of Bones rum to fill your cup as you please (fairly dangerous but super fun) rum itself is fair. Typical gold rum comparable to a Bacardi gold. Sweet aroma hints of brown sugar and molasses. A heavy burn. A cant help myself and I but at least 2 bottles every trip

Posted about 4 years ago by Brad from United States with 25 ratings

I picked this up in St. Thomas and wish I had gotten more! Very, very smooth! Slight alcohol aroma, but it doesn't carry through in the flavor to me. Has a nice slow burn and no harshness or bitterness at all. This rum is so smooth I almost hate the thought of mixing it, but it makes an awesome rum and coke or painkiller. I can guarantee that I will be picking up more when I find it! Might have to book another cruise to St. Thomas soon!

Posted about 4 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

This is a very smooth, light gold rum. It's a little too light to be an amber, but is very nice. An easy sipper, and I'm willing to bet would make an excellent rum and coke. Having said that, I feel like it's somewhat 2 dimensional. Its so smooth, I almost feel l Iike something is missing. Almost hard to believe it's 80 proof it's so smooth, until you sniff it. Highly recommended, especially if you plan to drink a lot. Quite nice for the price.

Posted over 5 years ago by Justin Dunlap from United States with 3 ratings

I just happened to find this rum on a trip to St. Thomas many years ago. They were still in the process of opening the store. I bought 2 bottles and they didn't last very long. On my next trip I bought 4. I still have one that I've yet to open because I fear once it's cracked it will go fast and we don't have another trip planned anytime soon. This is the smoothes rum I've had to date.

Posted over 5 years ago by Rod from United States with 16 ratings

I look forward to my trips to the Virgin Islands for some Bones Rum. It is awesome in Pain Killers and other mixed drinks. Fresh from the store or brought home in a fifth, Bones won't disappoint.

Posted over 4 years ago by RumDeDum from United States with 8 ratings

The other reviewers bought theirs in St. Thomas; I bought mine in St. Croix, still the USVI. In my humble opinion, this is a golden light rum, not truly dark and with much less taste than the finest dark, sipping rums. For sipping I would go with a top end rum like the Zacapa, especially the 23 year old or XO. But in fairness, these rums are 3-5 times as expensive as Bones, so that's apples and oranges. However it also gets blown away by the Flor de Cana, 12 year old, which is only about 10% more than Bones. BUT, Bones is exceptionally smooth, with a slight alcohol nose and finish. That makes it perfect as a mixer with juices or cola. I agree it is a good value. And, it is great fun to find an American rum that is top class. Definitely try it if you're in the USVI!! Would be great to see it State-side.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is one of the better spiced rums I've ever tried. Not quite as good as the Kraken in my opinion, or the Koloa Spiced (my favorite spiced rum), but very good.

Smells and tastes of vanilla, molasses, and spice.

A nice taste, and a great value!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Brantley from United States with 20 ratings

the best rum i have ever tried mixes perfect and so smooth straight gonna have to take a trip to the source

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Bones Rum while visiting Grand Canyon. Spectacular value at $25 per bottle. Nice old school bottle and label design. Vanilla extract, spices, plenty of alcohol and some oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Harsh burn at the end if neat sipped. Better mix this one up.

Posted about 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Picked it up locally based on an employee recommendation and continue to be pleasantly please with the diverse tastes within this dark rum. A good sipper with a burn, the many flavors come out with nut a spice being dominate. This shines as a straight mixer as the tastes become enhanced. A keeper for me.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jack from United States with 10 ratings

Definitely on top of my list, great spiced rum and very smooth drinking well alone or mixed. Nice on the palate....