Posting your rating...
Cubay Reserva Especial rum

Cubay Reserva Especial

Cuba | Aged

Ron Cubay Reserva Especial is made in Santo Dominco, Villa Clara (the centre of Cuba) by Cuba Ron S.A, which also produces Havana Club. The rum is matured 10 years before bottling.

Ron Cubay rum production began in 1964, but it was only released for export in 2010. The rum is aged in North American White Oak Barrels.

6.4/10 (24 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
3
10
3
1

Rate Cubay Reserva Especial

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Cubay Reserva Especial ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

736590314cfb41ca7ad84b543834a1a4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Nice Cuban ron, has the tasting notes one expects. Has a short and slightly bitter aftertaste which prevents it from getting a higher score.

B05135a1cd8457118324e427fd811d4d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Elgrande from Cuba with 56 ratings

Smooth and spicy with a wooden pepper flavour.
Relatively high priced. Ideally for mixing.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kuba
Aroma: Plná, kořenitá vůně, kde ale první housle hraje výrazná kůže. Dále hřebíček a skořice. Stylově se blíží k Barcelo Imperial, tohle já můžu... (86 b)
Chuť: Středně plné tělo, Vánoční koření, v dochuti jemné tabákové tóny. Chuť vyznívá suše a kořenitě, sladkost zde budete hledat marně. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Koupil jsem na blind, o téhle značce jsem nikdy neslyšel. Celkem slušný rum, který nezklame ani neurazí.Fotka trochu zkresluje barvu, ve skutečnosti byl světlejší.

D7a8ec89f008b9baabeeef9a2ce85f34.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 185 ratings

Nose of vanilla and brown sugar. Taste of fudge, vanilla and a bit oak. Expected too much sweetness but it is not the case. Not a long finish, but a decent rum to a fair Price as I got it on sale for around 35$. I would buy it again.

28838fa6968c0b60a29fc5a078ec6834.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Mike (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 128 ratings

Solid rum but price is too high... in this price range is much more better rums like presidente 19y, abuelo 12y and so on...
But it is smooth, not that sweet with aroma of sugar cane and wood: In mouth you can feel caramel, oak and sugar cane. Not bad at all but overpriced.

D75811ab508d09a5c9536970094367a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

Got this as a present. It has got a strong alcohol smell and what a pitty that the taste isn't fantastic either! I just can't rate this one higher than a 5. Not my kind of rum!

09536f4f1867a0f0c7db8b9c9ed6678a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 53 ratings

Ron Cubay rums are reIatively inexpensive. I actually enjoy the younger Rums in the Ron Cubay line better. This offering is good, different than the younger, but not to my preference. I wish we could buy the brand in Canada.

012fd73bc0f92a1a66089b7ae5ec67ec.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by František Pavelka from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Rum má vůni vanilky a karamelu. Je chuťově čistý a bez zbytečných kudrlinek. Je to dobrý rum.

5ee808222d5e82f74944814fc7ba2b35.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

This is a nice introduction to Cuban rums. It has a nice nice that brings up both fruit and some wood. The initial taste is slightly sweet but then you also taste the wood and slight hints of tobacco. Overall a very nice sipping rum.

0ef91b87e1b6809a711c7b29cb563032.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chriswx from Greece with 22 ratings

Ron Cubay Reserva Especial is made in Santo Dominco, Villa Clara (the centre of Cuba) by Cuba Ron S.A, which also produces Havana Club. The rum is matured 10 years before bottling.

45d2fa389d8976e6cec15315ed3d77c2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chris from Netherlands with 60 ratings

I've had worse but woukd not recoment! Chemicalish sweet, smells like no and also tastes like it. Do-able with cola.. but let's be honest, all rum is oke with cola 😁