Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Añejo

Dominican Republic | Gold

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

5.5/10(232 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
11
22
61
65
43
11
6
2

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

232 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Matt from United States with 10 ratings

This is a great rum for mixed drinks . Not bad on it own

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This is a solid rum, preferably for drinks that require a dynamite rum that can "show through". This rum gives you the sense of a fine Caribbean rum, but doesn't quite have the age required to bring it to the levels of the island sippers.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Dumle2000 from Sweden with 26 ratings

Not much to say really. I could be biased from drinking this rum in cold rum n'cokes in late night merengue clubs over in DR but then I could also have an incredible taste ;-)

Sip it with a little ice and a splash of water. Add honey if you want.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Beneluxor from Belgium with 15 ratings

Brugal Añejo rum from the Dominican Republic - in the perhaps updated version, with the more-blue label appearing as in photos from other commenters - is to my taste very pleasant, smooth, drinkable, a bit towards the elegantly dry side as Brugal suggests, without harshness as is sometimes found in rums of this modest price level. Not as distinguished in flavouring as others, but to me very drinkable on its own without mixing. Not sure about the fishnet on the bottle LOL

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

For the money not to shabby and not overly sweet. Neat it's slightly neutral with clean light oak supplemented by subtle vanilla and caramel without being edgy, but it's obviously meant for mixing. Makes for a good cheap cocktail base.

Ffffff

Posted 25 days ago by Attila0811 from Hungary with 3 ratings

I tasted only a sip of it.
It was too... nothing for me.
It would make a great mixing rum, maybe I’ll try it later some other time but right now I only give it a 5, but I hope I can update it for a better review. :)

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Cpt.J from United States with 14 ratings

If you know, you know. This isn’t my standard mixer. I’ll still sip it if it comes down to it but I’ll just stick to using it for some mixology.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Dino from Canada with 2 ratings

Used to live in DR and after many bottles of this I resorted to calling it Brutal... It was on sale today for 21$cdn and figured I'd give it another shot... horrible at best..mad I even bought it after already knowing why I would always spend the extra dollar to drink Ron Barcelo when I lived there...buyer beware

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This was harsh...so a harsh score. Not smooth at all but I suppose I like sipping rums which this isn't. Quite a thin mouthfeel with no subtlety at all.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Patrick Schommer from United States with 13 ratings

Based on other reviews, I thought I would try it as a mixer - my usual is a Diet Coke with Lime. My expectations were low and this delivered. Plenty of rum in the drink but so little flavor. Not offensive in any way, just an alcohol filler. Glad I tried it. Unique netting around the bottle. Maybe it will improve the second or third time around.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

i tried this one, but i found a very stinky old Barrel taste.