Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Añejo

Dominican Republic | Gold

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

5.5/10
283 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
10
12
28
71
80
52
18
6
2

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

283 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This was harsh...so a harsh score. Not smooth at all but I suppose I like sipping rums which this isn't. Quite a thin mouthfeel with no subtlety at all.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This is a solid rum, preferably for drinks that require a dynamite rum that can "show through". This rum gives you the sense of a fine Caribbean rum, but doesn't quite have the age required to bring it to the levels of the island sippers.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dumle2000 from Sweden with 26 ratings

Not much to say really. I could be biased from drinking this rum in cold rum n'cokes in late night merengue clubs over in DR but then I could also have an incredible taste ;-)

Sip it with a little ice and a splash of water. Add honey if you want.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beneluxor from Belgium with 15 ratings

Brugal Añejo rum from the Dominican Republic - in the perhaps updated version, with the more-blue label appearing as in photos from other commenters - is to my taste very pleasant, smooth, drinkable, a bit towards the elegantly dry side as Brugal suggests, without harshness as is sometimes found in rums of this modest price level. Not as distinguished in flavouring as others, but to me very drinkable on its own without mixing. Not sure about the fishnet on the bottle LOL

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 249 ratings

For the money not to shabby and not overly sweet. Neat it's slightly neutral with clean light oak supplemented by subtle vanilla and caramel without being edgy, but it's obviously meant for mixing. Makes for a good cheap cocktail base.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Appie from Netherlands with 1 rating

I'm a rum newbie, usually a whisky lover. My friend told me rum's can be also very good. I remember Rum's I drank back in the day in Venezuela, those were very nice. One of them I remember finished regurarely as one of the best Rum's in the world, something they were very proud of. And deservedly so.

So I decided to buy a few reasonably priced Rum's with good ratings, looking at the ratings here I should have known better, but this is just not that great. Initially It's nice, raisins, caramel and vanilla with some mild oakiness, but men ... that finish is just like any cheap liquor. A waste of money, spend 20% more on a whisky and you'll have a completely different experience.that's actually worth drinking.

Anyway, this is not the one that convinced me. Also not better in my coke than a cheaper Vieux.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by alseick from Poland with 7 ratings

Sipping: low flavour, watery, whisky wood, a little bit alcoholic, but not in a bad way, smooth.

Mix: whisky woody notes. IMO it has a taste of rum and whisky mix.
Alternatives if you like woody rums:
Dictador 12(old wood french polish smell), Flor De Cana 12(more fresh, sweeter, a little bit more taste, rum-like wood notes), for me - only this one had this typical whisky wood smell.

Considering the price, it is a bargain for mixing if you like such notes. I do.

Notes: Scotch whisky wood, alcoholic, watery
Wood: Scotch whisky wood
Fruits: none
Sweet: almost none
Kick: medium-high
Salty: none
Flavour: low
Aftertaste: low-medium(wood)
Wine: none
Funk: none

Small img 20190805 wa0000

Posted 6 months ago by Rinushorn from France with 98 ratings

Pas très original mais caractéristique d'un rhum dominicain

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Mchess1 from United States with 1 rating

For the price, it’s not a bad everyday rum with some coke and a squeeze of lime.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Leo K from Canada with 59 ratings

Unfortunately in Ontario our government sanctioned liquor monopoly (LCBO) does not carry much of a rum selection and even fewer Cuban-Dominican offerings.
This is one is regular stock and l'm not sure why.
Initial taste is pleasant but is almost immediately overtaken by alchohol burn. Bad stuff , wouldn't even use as a mixer.
Havana Club Anejo is much better for a lower tier rum.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Lucas1997 from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Super cheap, and definitely not bad. Suitable to drink on a casual night, or when partying.