Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Añejo

Dominican Republic | Gold

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

5.5/10 (226 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
8
10
22
58
64
43
11
6
2

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


226 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Bit disappointed really after I'd read up on the Brugal brand.. A little harsh but it's a little immature too. Probably not the best Brugal offering but as a mixer on a night out it is recommended. Easy to live with on a night away from home. Not so sweet or strong so lasts the night out without getting you hammered. I won't search this variety again but equally if poured my way I'm happy to accept.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This is a solid rum, preferably for drinks that require a dynamite rum that can "show through". This rum gives you the sense of a fine Caribbean rum, but doesn't quite have the age required to bring it to the levels of the island sippers.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dumle2000 from Sweden with 26 ratings

Not much to say really. I could be biased from drinking this rum in cold rum n'cokes in late night merengue clubs over in DR but then I could also have an incredible taste ;-)

Sip it with a little ice and a splash of water. Add honey if you want.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Beneluxor from Belgium with 15 ratings

Brugal Añejo rum from the Dominican Republic - in the perhaps updated version, with the more-blue label appearing as in photos from other commenters - is to my taste very pleasant, smooth, drinkable, a bit towards the elegantly dry side as Brugal suggests, without harshness as is sometimes found in rums of this modest price level. Not as distinguished in flavouring as others, but to me very drinkable on its own without mixing. Not sure about the fishnet on the bottle LOL

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

For the money not to shabby and not overly sweet. Neat it's slightly neutral with clean light oak supplemented by subtle vanilla and caramel without being edgy, but it's obviously meant for mixing. Makes for a good cheap cocktail base.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Cpt.J from United States with 9 ratings

If you know, you know. This isn’t my standard mixer. I’ll still sip it if it comes down to it but I’ll just stick to using it for some mixology.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dino from Canada with 2 ratings

Used to live in DR and after many bottles of this I resorted to calling it Brutal... It was on sale today for 21$cdn and figured I'd give it another shot... horrible at best..mad I even bought it after already knowing why I would always spend the extra dollar to drink Ron Barcelo when I lived there...buyer beware

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

This was harsh...so a harsh score. Not smooth at all but I suppose I like sipping rums which this isn't. Quite a thin mouthfeel with no subtlety at all.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Patrick Schommer from United States with 13 ratings

Based on other reviews, I thought I would try it as a mixer - my usual is a Diet Coke with Lime. My expectations were low and this delivered. Plenty of rum in the drink but so little flavor. Not offensive in any way, just an alcohol filler. Glad I tried it. Unique netting around the bottle. Maybe it will improve the second or third time around.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

i tried this one, but i found a very stinky old Barrel taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Carsten from Germany with 12 ratings

Mein 6. Rating:
Es wurde mal wieder Zeit einen etwas preisgünstigeren Rum zu testen. Bei der Recherche stieß ich immer wieder auf den Brugal Anejo Superior. Dieser hat relativ gute Kritiken erhalten und gibt es im Supermarkt zu kaufen.

Preis: ca. 14-16€

Geruch:
Irgendwie würzig und vanillig-süß, aber auch etwas sprittig.

Geschmack pur (Note 5):
Zuerst kommt diese Würze im Mund an. Schmeckt irgendwie etwas "faulig". Danach breitet sich der Alkohol aus, um einer leichten Süße zu weichen. Schmeckt komisch und dabei noch langanhaltend im Nachklang.

Geschmack in Cola (Note 4):
Hier geht alles unter, nur dieser faulige Geschmack bleibt.
Könnte vergammelte Kokosnuss sein? Süße, vergammelte Kokosnuss!
Schmeckt irgendwie komisch, aber nun auch nicht soo schlecht.

Fazit:
Der Brugal schafft es nicht an dem 3-jährigen Havana Club vorbei. Er ist zwar süßer und geschmacklicher, aber der Geschmack ist so eigenwillig und komisch, dass dies nicht unbedingt ein Pluspunkt darstellt. Da gefällt mir der Plantation original dark besser.