Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


217 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This is a solid rum, preferably for drinks that require a dynamite rum that can "show through". This rum gives you the sense of a fine Caribbean rum, but doesn't quite have the age required to bring it to the levels of the island sippers.

Posted about 3 years ago by Dumle2000 from Sweden with 26 ratings

Not much to say really. I could be biased from drinking this rum in cold rum n'cokes in late night merengue clubs over in DR but then I could also have an incredible taste ;-)

Sip it with a little ice and a splash of water. Add honey if you want.

Posted about 3 years ago by Beneluxor from Belgium with 15 ratings

Brugal Añejo rum from the Dominican Republic - in the perhaps updated version, with the more-blue label appearing as in photos from other commenters - is to my taste very pleasant, smooth, drinkable, a bit towards the elegantly dry side as Brugal suggests, without harshness as is sometimes found in rums of this modest price level. Not as distinguished in flavouring as others, but to me very drinkable on its own without mixing. Not sure about the fishnet on the bottle LOL

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

For the money not to shabby and not overly sweet. Neat it's slightly neutral with clean light oak supplemented by subtle vanilla and caramel without being edgy, but it's obviously meant for mixing. Makes for a good cheap cocktail base.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dino from Canada with 2 ratings

Used to live in DR and after many bottles of this I resorted to calling it Brutal... It was on sale today for 21$cdn and figured I'd give it another shot... horrible at best..mad I even bought it after already knowing why I would always spend the extra dollar to drink Ron Barcelo when I lived there...buyer beware

Posted over 2 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

This was harsh...so a harsh score. Not smooth at all but I suppose I like sipping rums which this isn't. Quite a thin mouthfeel with no subtlety at all.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Patrick Schommer from United States with 13 ratings

Based on other reviews, I thought I would try it as a mixer - my usual is a Diet Coke with Lime. My expectations were low and this delivered. Plenty of rum in the drink but so little flavor. Not offensive in any way, just an alcohol filler. Glad I tried it. Unique netting around the bottle. Maybe it will improve the second or third time around.

Posted about 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

i tried this one, but i found a very stinky old Barrel taste.

Posted about 3 years ago by Carsten from Germany with 12 ratings

Mein 6. Rating:
Es wurde mal wieder Zeit einen etwas preisgünstigeren Rum zu testen. Bei der Recherche stieß ich immer wieder auf den Brugal Anejo Superior. Dieser hat relativ gute Kritiken erhalten und gibt es im Supermarkt zu kaufen.

Preis: ca. 14-16€

Geruch:
Irgendwie würzig und vanillig-süß, aber auch etwas sprittig.

Geschmack pur (Note 5):
Zuerst kommt diese Würze im Mund an. Schmeckt irgendwie etwas "faulig". Danach breitet sich der Alkohol aus, um einer leichten Süße zu weichen. Schmeckt komisch und dabei noch langanhaltend im Nachklang.

Geschmack in Cola (Note 4):
Hier geht alles unter, nur dieser faulige Geschmack bleibt.
Könnte vergammelte Kokosnuss sein? Süße, vergammelte Kokosnuss!
Schmeckt irgendwie komisch, aber nun auch nicht soo schlecht.

Fazit:
Der Brugal schafft es nicht an dem 3-jährigen Havana Club vorbei. Er ist zwar süßer und geschmacklicher, aber der Geschmack ist so eigenwillig und komisch, dass dies nicht unbedingt ein Pluspunkt darstellt. Da gefällt mir der Plantation original dark besser.

Posted about 3 years ago by eulalio torices from Spain with 23 ratings

No me gusta el sabor, no me gusta el estilo y no me dice nada

Posted over 3 years ago by Enzio from Spain with 16 ratings

Never liked this rum, not even for mixing. It's harsh and lacks flavor. Will not buy it again (life's too short to drink bad rum...)

Posted over 3 years ago by JF Simoneau from Montserrat with 6 ratings

Rien de remarquable. Pas complètement dégueulasse, mais mieux vaut l'éviter. La meilleure utilisation que je lui ai trouvé fut de cuisiner avec.

Nothing remarkable. Not completely disgusting, but better to avoid it. The best use I found was to cook with.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

I really expected more from this rum, the taste is fade and there is not a real follow up in the aftertaste, it lacks fullness and persistance.

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

A Dominican Republic. Not because is Brugal or from Dominican Republic has to be good. it need a lot of mix or coke before you can have a nice drink. I would not buy this rum ever again .

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Very classic Caribbean rum with the usual flavours

Posted over 4 years ago by Remy from Netherlands with 42 ratings

Gives me headaches, maybe the artificial flavouring? I even like the white Brugal better. Don't like it with coke.

Posted over 4 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

I'd never buy a bottle of this, but sometimes at a club when the alternatives are even worse you always know it is drinkable standart. Far not as smooth as better Brugals like Brugal XV.

Posted over 4 years ago by Mathieu from Canada with 51 ratings

Although very light, taste like newspapers with some caramel. Strong ethanol push. Very young

Posted about 5 years ago by Erik from Norway with 17 ratings

I do not like this rum. It has a strange aftertaste, even with cola. Had a hard time drinking this rum. Do not buy it!!

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

and insipid tastes of nothing really

http://thefatrumpirate.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/thefatrumpirate

Posted about 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I highly recommend this bottle. For straight shots its great, also its amazing with coke if straight up is not your thing. All around one of my favorites always have a few bottles on deck. Can't beat the price point for the quality around here.

Posted 11 days ago by darrenfitzp from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This is a straight down the middle Rum, a sort of Does as it says on the tin. Had good nights on Brugal and is good value for mixing with that little extra punch.

Posted 24 days ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

Gas - For mixing only specifically in fruity or frozen drinks.

Posted 26 days ago by jrobj from United States with 4 ratings

not for me. extreme alcohol taste, overpowers everything else