Posting your rating...
Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Añejo

Dominican Republic | Gold

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

5.5/10 (228 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
8
10
22
59
64
43
11
6
2

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

228 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Tastes of strong Oak (which I really like!) extremely good in diet coke, very woodsy.
A step up from appleton estate v/x rum and around similar prices so get this one! Smells very similar to Ron Abuelo Anejo. I enjoy this one.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Nathan from Canada with 1 rating

Beautiful rum for cuba libre... Tried many rums: flor de cana, El dorado, zacapa, Ron barcelo (I think), Bacardi gold and 8, cruzan gold and single barrel. Real smooth and full of flavor, not to mention a great price

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 11 ratings

Definate mixer. Tried to sip this one and ended up almost sick half way thru the bottle. Still kicks Bacardi butt

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by belgiumtom from Belgium with 9 ratings

The rum is OK but i don't like the chemical after-taste

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum has a decent light caramel scent, although there was also a faint chemically smell to it as well. It has a gorgeous golden colour with a nice red tinge... Sipping it revealed a harsh chemical burn, absent of flavour... I tried it with coconut water... It had a slight nutty/woody taste. OK to drink once I added Coke Life to the mix, but over all was very disappointing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Alejandro from Spain with 22 ratings

Correct rum, not to much sweet or Tasty. Good for mixing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 357 ratings

This is without question the absolute worst rum that I have ever tried. It smells like rubbing alcohol mixed with caramel and tastes even worse. Nothing can be done to improve it. I guess that I will keep the rest of the bottle handy for neighbors who like to mooch booze from me every now and then. What they don't know won't hurt me. I would not even use this crap as cleaning fluid.

Update two weeks later: I gave the entire bottle to my most mooching neighbor and even warned her about the smell and taste. When I told her that I paid about $22 with tax, she looked at the fancy bottle and thought that I was being extremely generous. A week later, I asked how she liked it and she said that it took her five days to finish off the bottle with coke and ice. She only drinks to calm her nerves. She noted no foul smell and tastes at all. I feel so very fortunate to have been born with finely tuned taste buds unlike hers. I then asked about side effects. What she described best fits the name of a drink that another friend who knows all about fine spirits came up with: the Colonic Tonic!

This rum by far is the absolute worst that I have ever had, maybe even making anything made by Bacardi or Captain Morgan as something to be savored. Maybe I got a very bad bottle, but never again for Brugal and I.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Rachel from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Great mixer rum. Not one for sipping. Faint vanilla taste which works well with coke and in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Louis M from United States with 16 ratings

The fewer words the better . This Rum reminds me of petroleum. I drank it neat with a splash and I almost gave up drinking rum. I place this and Bacardi on the very bottom of my list. No more please!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Pokud se na tento rum podíváme za jakou cenu se dá pořídit. Musím uznat, ze se dá pít. Spíše bych ho viděl jako výrazný doplněk míchaného drinku. Každý levnejší rum se potřebuje po otevření vydýchat. Když to vydržíte, pijete ho na víc krát zjemní, ale pálené dubové sudy zůstanou.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

I bought the half gallon (1.75ml) for $22.99 last week because why not. This is a product that has been on my to drink list for some time now and at that deal I thought what the heck. I wouldn't bother sipping this one because it doesn't have much to offer and is very very very simple. For this price and quality you should throw it in a cocktail that dosn't hold a lot of added flavor and let this drink just come to life. Something like a Brugal martini, or with some club soda.